We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Check Into Extraordinary. Whatever your heart desires, let it sing at QT.
Expedia.com
$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/28/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
FindHotel
$118
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Traveluro$146
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (752)
Room & Suite (365)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 07/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from QT Canberra
Updated 07/05/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#32 of 68 in Canberra
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.1
Value
3.9
Luxury exerts a power all of its own at QT Canberra. Designer chic surroundings meet an elegant portfolio of detail to delight every sense. This is a forum where work and play find perfect accord, and even our most seasoned guest can be genuinely surprised. Whether it’s an afternoon antipasto or a fresh grilled steak, Capitol Bar & Grill is modern cuisine in a modern setting – Italian inspired with a wine list to match. Lucky's Speakeasy offers a secluded getaway to end the day or our invitation-only members lounge is the spot for contemporary business with an Old Fashioned in hand. Join us at QT Canberra for a glamorous hotel, restaurant and nightlife experience that still gets up bright and early.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking on-site
Parking garage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Iron
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:20% Off Autumn Sale Now On
2237Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 722
  • 887
  • 392
  • 150
  • 86
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Julie1958594 wrote a review May 9
Sydney, Australia325 contributions201 helpful votes
We always stay here when we come to Canberra. The rooms and public spaces are nice and there is an on site restaurant and bar. The staff are friendly and efficient and if you join the QT Club you get a discounted room rate. Location is also good you can actually walk to a few nearby places ( including a couple of quite good breakfast places).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Frank wrote a review Jan 2022
Shellharbour, Australia3 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
Great service, friendly staff and excellent accommodation. Pre dinner cocktails were excellent as was breakfast. A lovely hotel in a great location. This is our go to hotel in Canberra and we will continue to stay at QT whenever we are visiting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded Feb 7, 2022
Hello fspitt, Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back! Warmest Regards, Cameron
Read more
Giovanna L wrote a review May 4
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
I stayed at QT Canberra for three nights this week whilst in the region for work. The staff were friendly, helpful (especially with all my printing and request for some fresh milk for my room)! I ate at the Capitol Bar and Grill on two of the nights I stayed. The first night i was on my own I exhausted from my day at work but friendly but not intrusive service and a delicious and quick meal meant I could get to my room for the night and have a good night's sleep. To my delight, when I returned the next night with my colleagues and saw the same watier who immediately recognised me and made a connection to the night before. He was quiet, unassuming but friendly with a big smile (a smile makes the person). We got chatting and I asked him his name - Nirvana. We all enjoyed his genuinity, service and sense of humour. I know it is hard to find staff in hospitality right now so I think it is important to stop and acknowledge how hard everyone is working in this industry and that everyone is doing their best. And when their best is done with a warm smile and efficiency, it's important to stop and recognise this. Thanks QT Canberra and all the staff that are working as hard as they can to deliver the best service and experience possible as we recover post COVID and I urge any traveller in general to be a kinder to hospitality staff, they are doing the best (and give them a warm smile too)! Until next time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
AHur wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Very sweet and friendly receptionists. Some useful suggestions- sweeteners/Stevia should be available for guests. A complimentary water should also be provided. My balcony door did not open but I smelt cigarette smoke coming in from another balcony. Room 1211
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello AHurw, Thank you for staying at QT Canberra! I have shared your feedback with the team and I am sorry that there was a cigarette smoke coming from the other balcony. We are definitely a non smoking hotel and I will be following up with the other guests who stayed near you during that time. Warmest Regards, Cameron
Read more
KarenHoward123 wrote a review Mar 2022
Newcastle13 contributions8 helpful votes
What is going wrong with this place. QT’s are usually so predictably excellent. So disappointing when there are so many accomm options here that they’ve really dropped the ball in the restaurant area. Shocking restaurant service and despite the busi-ness no table service after 9pm on what would be considered to be their busiest night of the year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Don’t eat here.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded Mar 31, 2022
Hi KarenHoward123, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Firstly, please accept my deepest apologies – We are currently following up with the Food & Beverage team. From my understanding, we were unable to accommodate a restaurant reservation close to 10PM and you were asked to dine at the Bar. Again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience. I’m very disappointing to hear about the level of service and would like to hear from you if you have time. Please feel free to contact me directly (Cameron_thorpe@evt.com) Regards Cameron
Read more
amsam wrote a review Mar 2022
Sydney, Australia296 contributions118 helpful votes
This is a tough one, the QT is a good hotel at a good location with a great bar and Restaurant but the rooms are average. The rooms are clean and it is obvious housekeeping is of a high standard but the rooms are showing their age. We had a Superior King Room with views of Black Mountain and the lake. The bed and pillows were excellent with plush pillows. There is a small balcony and you just can't take advantage of the view. It was a pleasant night and the room just did not have the right furniture that lent itself to just sit and look out. The bathroom was below expectation, small but effectively laid out. The bathroom fan was useless and there was mould forming on the ceiling. The worse thing was when you were in the bathroom it was like a megaphone for the whole hotel. Noise from other rooms traveled through the air vent shaft. Another odd factor was the hallway light that emitted under the hotel room door, It is as if the door was cut too short on the bottom and the light just illuminated through. Our room was close to the elevator shaft, and the elevator noise was notable. I want to rate this room higher but it just doesn't get there, if the room rate is low it is a great hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded Mar 29, 2022
Hi Amsam, I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Your feedback regarding the room layout and furniture has been shared with the team and there are developing plans which will resolve this. Amsam thank you again - feedback is very important so it is much appreciated. When planning a return trip, do reach out and we will ensure you are not located any room near an elevator. Warmest Regards, Cameron - Front Office Manager
Read more
Cate C wrote a review Mar 2022
Canberra, Australia1 contribution
Amazingly hip hotel with a very cool vibe which is within walking distance to Canberra City and New Acton. Our staycation was cut short due to Covid related issues back home, but we thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent here and look forward to heading back to make up for the missed cocktails, dinner and sleep in! Parking is easy and QT Staff are approachable and friendly, and do all that they can to make your stay a 10/10. Book here. You wont be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Room Tip: Level 7 corner suite was nice!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Hi Cate, So glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! Myself and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back. Warmest Regards, Cameron
Read more
Hayley O wrote a review Mar 2022
11 contributions10 helpful votes
It was ok. I was excited to stay here as I know the reputation of other QT hotels being quirky cool and luxe. Outside of the main lobby, bar and restaurant this is not that. Don’t get me wrong the rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. They have a great tv with chrome cast, you tube and normal free to air the mini bar is well stocked and the bathroom amenities are lovely. However for us we had what I assume was no working air conditioner, thankfully the temperature outside dropped our second night so we could open the balcony door and let air in, I didn’t complain and that’s on me. The air con system is original from the original build. The bed was comfy. The lamps were almost hanging off the wall it just didn’t live up to my expectations of a QT Hotel. That’s on me I should have gone with lower expectations but at $200+ per night I just expected more. The staff were lovely at every interaction.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Park across the road as it’s free hotel parking $20 per night and seems to be extremely limited.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Hi Hayleos, Feedback is so important and we appreciate your review from a brand loyal customer like yourself. I would be very appreciative if you could reach out directly so that I can have our team address your concerns in the room. Warmest Regards, Cameron
Read more
_Michelle_B_AU wrote a review Feb 2022
Adelaide, Australia236 contributions36 helpful votes
+1
Whilst the timing of this stay was unfortunate the hotel’s attempts at complying with local covid protocols were just ok At another time our stay might have been better Unfortunate issue with extra charge to credit card days after our departure which was unexpected, unexplained and took several attempts to reverse
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded Mar 3, 2022
Hello Michelle, Thank you for reaching out and I would love to get some more information here. Please reach out to me directly. Warmest Regards, Cameron | Front Office Manager
Read more
Grant W wrote a review Feb 2022
Brisbane, Australia30 contributions46 helpful votes
Please seperate the Capitol Bar & Grill from this review which is outstanding. The hotel was a massive let down. I was so looking forward to the experience of staying at another QT hotel when I was let down in almost every aspect. The rooms are old with bad air conditioning, edgy/cool yet completely useless furniture, crappy TV directory, an uneven desk (made difficult to adjust), broken fixtures, incorrect appliance fittings (so they don't work) and I had to re scan my room key every day - strange arrangement but very annoying to make the return trip in the lift each time. I asked for a bowl and spoon and they took it away every day I was there when the room was cleaned - no cereal for you! Cannot fault the staff except there was one frustration to print and scan a two page document that could not be done....there is no business centre at the hotel despite having dedicate conference halls. Overall a disappointing few days at the hotel who should be spending more on fixing the basics than on updating funky politician portraits with face masks.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Cameron Thorpe , Guest Services / Front Office at QT Canberra
Responded Feb 25, 2022
Hello Grant, Although it is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your QT Canberra say, I appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Rest assured much of what you have shared is being addressed in the coming months. Whilst we don't have a dedicated Business Centre at the hotel our team are always happy to assist with any administrative requests such as printing or scanning. I am glad you enjoyed Capitol Bar & Grill. Warmest Regards, Cameron - QT Crew
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rydges lakeside canberra hotel canberra, rydges lakeside hotel canberra, canberra rydges lakeside hotel
LOCATION
AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryCanberra
NUMBER OF ROOMS
205
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about QT Canberra
Which popular attractions are close to QT Canberra?
Nearby attractions include Palace Electric Cinema (0.2 miles), National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (NFSA) (0.2 miles), and Australian Academy of Science (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at QT Canberra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at QT Canberra?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at QT Canberra?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at QT Canberra?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to QT Canberra?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cupping Room, Mocan & Green Grout, and Capitol Bar and Grill.
Is QT Canberra located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Canberra.
Does QT Canberra offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to QT Canberra?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Calthorpes' House (2.9 miles), Mugga-Mugga Cottage (4.8 miles), and Albert Hall (1.0 miles).
Does QT Canberra have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is QT Canberra accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.