We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Alton Brook House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alton Brook House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 226: English reviews
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Lovely place in a quiet location, but not off the beaten track. Literally 15 mins from Alton Towers, with accommodation geared up to served families. Useful for us since we have 3 children, the guesthouse accommodates larger families. Breakfast was 10/10, and the service all round was friendly and very helpful. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Every room was fly infested, we was even moved to 3 different rooms that was just as bad as the first room, breakfast was undercooked which resulted in the children having a bad belly all day, no apologies and no offer or a discount or refund......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gemma M
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

Me and my partner were going to Alton Towers and stayed here after. We were impressed with the location, nice and quite. Lovely spacious room with comfortable beds, bathroom a little small but it didn't bother us. The room was clean and tidy and lovely and warm. The staff couldn't be nicer and more attentive. The breakfast was amazing we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErinVanburen01
Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

We found this establishments on booking dot com. On arriving at 15:55 check in is at 16:00, we were greeted by a gentleman who i would say, has little customer service training, as he seemed a little put out to be serving us. Once he had found our reservation, not by name but who we booked with, we were taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin w
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2016 via mobile

I must admit, I was really anxious about staying here as I'd read some of the reviews. We had a bit of a mix up with our booking but a quick phonecall and wiggle of rooms sorted that very quickly. We stayed in the 'annex' which consisted one 1 room with a king and single (and a cot) and 1...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laurageary
Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Well it just goes to show that sometimes going with your instinct is the right thing to do. When I heard we had been allocated the 'flat' I read the review from 'John R' but decided to chance it. How wrong was he! This place is lovely, now don't get me wrong - if you want corporate laminated furnishings that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sussexsassenach
United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

I'm afraid we didn't complain in person as I didn't want the confrontation plus once you gave us the keys you disappeared and I had to ring 3 phone numbers to finally get hold of you to return said keys. By that point I just felt awkward so confess I simply told you our plans had changed. We did pay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glittery_Girl
Honiton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 12, 2016

We have just stayed in what they refer to as a flat or attached annexe. The bed was the most uncomfortable ;ow, soft and very old. The plumbing in the basin was loose, the plastic toilet lid was loose and dangerous because there the wall of the room is so close to the toilet you cannot sit on it straight....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John R
cor a, Manager at Alton Brook House, responded to this review

we don't have a annex????

Lancaster
Reviewed September 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful find! We were given a very warm welcome and our lovely hostess took us round the back of the house to our enormous beautifully decorated room, we couldn't believe the size! It would accommodate a family of four with a baby as there was a travel cot stored in the wardrobe. It was a light airy room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately due to having an accident I was unable to travel so contacted Alton Brook House to ask if I could alter our booking. I was spoken to by a very rude and unhelpful proprietor who casually dismissed my predicament. Running my own business I always put customer service first and after the way I was treated by Alton Brook...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank David J
cor a, Manager at Alton Brook House, responded to this review

you did not stay at our hotel because you did not come. and wanted your money back when you book a hotel room you are liable to pay the hotel has to supply a room if you don't show you have broken your end of the agreement but still have to pay to leave a review like this shows watt...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combridge
4.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
15.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
670 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bank House
Bank House
#2 of 13 in Alton
517 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 13 in Alton
262 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lanes Guest House
Lanes Guest House
#1 of 10 in Uttoxeter
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 2.6 miles from Alton Towers, Alton Brook House, a large six bed-roomed detached country house, makes the perfect place for a relaxing family holiday with Dogs and Horses. Encircled on three sides by its own five acres of countryside with a pretty bubbling brook (complete with fishing rights) adjacent. The original part of this country house is believed to date back to 1850 and has been thoughtfully extended over the years to substantially enlarge and enhance the house. Many original features have been retained, including beams and open fires. The gardens wrap around all four sides with lawns and terraces, all completely fenced in, and visited by a large variety of birds. Alton Brook House provides the perfect family base to explore all that beautiful Derbyshire/Staffordshire has to offer. There is excellent riding, cycling and walking to be found locally. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alton Brook House

Address: Combridge ST145BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Combridge
Price Range: $81 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Alton Brook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Alton Brook House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Alton Brook House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“If you want a great room try somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles johnrM6180PQ, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“Don't use Booking.com! Book direct either by email or phone.”
 of 5 bubbles Noddinggoth, Jul 23, 2016 | Read review
“A converted house so I imagine all rooms are different , a quiet comfy spot overall.”
 of 5 bubbles RogerI178, Jul 18, 2016 | Read review
“Its an old building so not sure if there is one”
  • This is our wardrobe ( on the back of the door )
  • The tiny bathroom with mini shower
 of 5 bubbles MarkF849, Jul 15, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 3&4 do not have ensuite but a bathroom along the corridor”
 of 5 bubbles suffolksamaritan, Aug 23, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay