We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Alton Brook House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Alton Brook House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

221 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 219: English reviews
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just stayed in what they refer to as a flat or attached annexe. The bed was the most uncomfortable ;ow, soft and very old. The plumbing in the basin was loose, the plastic toilet lid was loose and dangerous because there the wall of the room is so close to the toilet you cannot sit on it straight.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
cor a, Manager at Alton Brook House, responded to this review

we don't have a annex???? More 

Lancaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely wonderful find! We were given a very warm welcome and our lovely hostess took us round the back of the house to our enormous beautifully decorated room, we couldn't believe the size! It would accommodate a family of four with a baby as there was a travel cot stored in the wardrobe. It was a light airy room with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately due to having an accident I was unable to travel so contacted Alton Brook House to ask if I could alter our booking. I was spoken to by a very rude and unhelpful proprietor who casually dismissed my predicament. Running my own business I always put customer service first and after the way I was treated by Alton Brook... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank David J
cor a, Manager at Alton Brook House, responded to this review

you did not stay at our hotel because you did not come. and wanted your money back when you book a hotel room you are liable to pay the hotel has to supply a room if you don't show you have broken your end of the agreement but still have to pay to leave a review like this shows watt... More 

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the mobile home. (2 adults and 4 kids between 7 and 14). We stayed the night before a trip to Alton towers. Mobile home was really nicely furnished and surprisingly comfortable for us all. Grounds beautiful. Staff v helpful and breakfast (which was brought to the home in a basket) was delicious. 20 mins from Alton towers... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElecRex
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a last minute trip.The staff were friendly and couldn't help us enough.We stayed in the Shepards Folly as we didn't arrive till late at night.It was cozy,lovely and clean and had everything we needed.Will stay there again next time we go Alton Towers

Helpful?
Thank LReynolds11
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Clean and nice scenic views. Quiet for a night before the thrills at alton towers theme park. Not too far to travel there. Definitely would go again. Good variety at breakfast time too.

Helpful?
Thank Ash B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

All in all the hotel is clean,tidy and pleasant. Upon arrival it does look abit unsightly with carvans dotted around and broken fences with holes. The path to the house it's self is small and some of the paving slabs move when you step on them. We stayed in room 5 which is the only room on the ground floor... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainebird1987
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016 via mobile

The location was perfect after our visit to Alton Towers. Just a 10 minute drive away. It was a little tricky to find, but a quick call to the owner sorted me out. We got a lovely welcome and we immediately made to feel at home. The rooms were very spacious, and the facilities were above what I expected. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

If I could rate this is a zero I would. I didn't even get to stay here as the man who is in charge cancelled my booking the day before I was supposed to go as he did not give me a chance to get back to him with my new card details. He literally rang me once and when... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank eleasha182
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

I wrote a review for Alton Brook House a couple of days ago, admittedly before I’d actually stayed there, but chiefly because we were informed at very short notice that we had been double booked. I wanted to edit the review once we’d stayed, but Trip Advisor doesn’t currently have this facility. So, I’m writing my new review here, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noddinggoth
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (72)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combridge
4.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
3.3 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Three Horseshoes Country Inn & Spa
15.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent City Centre Moat House
3.3 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#4 of 13 in Alton
5.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 2.6 miles from Alton Towers, Alton Brook House, a large six bed-roomed detached country house, makes the perfect place for a relaxing family holiday with Dogs and Horses. Encircled on three sides by its own five acres of countryside with a pretty bubbling brook (complete with fishing rights) adjacent. The original part of this country house is believed to date back to 1850 and has been thoughtfully extended over the years to substantially enlarge and enhance the house. Many original features have been retained, including beams and open fires. The gardens wrap around all four sides with lawns and terraces, all completely fenced in, and visited by a large variety of birds. Alton Brook House provides the perfect family base to explore all that beautiful Derbyshire/Staffordshire has to offer. There is excellent riding, cycling and walking to be found locally. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alton Brook House

Address: Combridge ST145BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Combridge
Price Range: $87 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Alton Brook House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay