The Barefoot Eco Hotel

The Barefoot Eco Hotel

Traveler (2016)
Panorama of the Beach Front Room at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
360
Panoramas (30)
Beach
Pool & Beach (562)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 4 left at
$122
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 4 left at
$122
Fully refundable before Tue, May 28
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Only 4 left at
$60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 special resort in Hanimaadhoo
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.7
Value
4.5
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
40 high standard and fully furnished rooms in two story blocks of 4 rooms each: 20 Beach Front - on the ground floor, with direct access to the white beach. 20 Ocean View - on the upper floor with a spectacular sea view. 12 Seaside Rooms facing a sandy courtyard and 12 beachside rooms close to the endless beach and with lateral sea view.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Wifi
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Snorkeling
Windsurfing
Bicycle tours
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian

Location

N 6 46 – E 73 11, Hanimaadhoo
771Reviews212Q+A74Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 583
  • 134
  • 37
  • 8
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barry wrote a review Jan 2020
13 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time in the Maldives and I must admit that the barefoot eco hotel totally lived up to our expectations. First of all, we were looking for a place that's authentic, a place where there are Maldivians and not just tourists.
Secondly, we wanted a place where we could chill out if we wanted or choose to go on some excursions...if WE wanted.
There are just 100 beds here and during the day it often felt as though there was nobody except us!
The food was pretty good considering the location just make sure you got either half or full board as the other 'restaurants' on the island aren't recommendable.
The rooms are acceptable but if you can, go for the sea or ocean view option...it's worth it!
Lovely staff, not in any way intrusive and the ambient is very international.
Massimo, the marine biologist is so dynamic and environmentally conscious that he will make you want to pick up every bit of plastic on beach (which is very clean in the resort but not elsewhere).
If you're looking for an Ibiza style holiday, this one is not for you!
If you are looking for a beautiful, quiet location in the Maldives, don't hesitate to try out The Barefoot eco hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella C, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Jan 6, 2020
Dear BarryWilmot, warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel and thank you for spending your precious time to share your experiences with us and the entire community. We are grateful that you have chosen our little paradise as your holiday destination in the Maldives. Your satisfaction is the best reward and will certainly be an encouragement to all of us in continuously striving to meet all the needs and expectations of our valued guests like you. We are all looking forward for your next return! Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon and Jeni wrote a review Nov 2022
Frimley Green, United Kingdom223 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a really lovely hotel, it is an eco hotel on an inhabited island, if you are coming to the Maldives for beautiful beaches and fantastic diving with some insight into real Maldivian life it is a great place to stay. If you are coming for 5star luxury then it is probably not the one for you.

The staff at Barefoot we incredibly friendly, we got a very warm welcome on arrival at the hotel. The staff around the hotel and waiters are all very friendly and helpful.

The room was very nice and spacious, we had a beachfront room, you can’t see the sea because of the bushes but it’s literally 10m to the beach.

The food at the hotel was a little disappointing. Breakfast selection was the same everyday. Great omelettes in the morning though. The evening food was ok (not amazing but just ok) but was always only lukewarm, the hot food dishes don’t have heaters underneath them so everything goes cold quickly. Dinner isn’t until 8pm so there was a mad rush to the buffet at 8pm every night which made it quite busy. None of the dishes were labelled so it was a bit difficult to guess what some things were, there were always staff around the ask but when it was busy that was sometimes harder. Ice cream was very nice and different every night. The food in the snack bar was very good though, all freshly cooked to order and much more reasonably priced than the lunch buffet.

The gym was bad! Only one treadmill that works, the others didn’t, the bikes didn’t work and the cross trainer didn’t work. A few rusty weights and a chin up bar

The dive centre at the hotel was really the shining star. The staff were very friendly and professional. They made our diving experience so amazing and were great at pointing out lots of different things. We saw turtles, shark and manta rays. Highly recommend the diving here.

A couple of things to be aware of that we didn’t know before booking. This is a dry island and a dry hotel. There is an offshore boat bar that you can go to but the only way to get there is by boat, you arrive at 6pm and then get collect again at 8pm. It is illegal to take alcohol onto the island to drink in your room, they do scan your bags at the airport.

As the hotel is in the most northern atol you have to get a flight there which is approximately 40-50mins with a few stops at other islands. We had a 4hr wait at Male before the next flight to the island. A hotel rep should meet you at Male to check you onto the flight, but you might have to hunt for them as they were not there when we arrived.

Make sure you put mosquito spray on when at the beach. We didn’t have any problems in the evening but got bitten a lot when sunbathing.

The eco initiatives at the hotel are really great, they are really trying to make a difference with lots of small things like glass water bottles, using a heat exchanger on the air conditioning to heat the water and sourcing local ingredients.

We would recommend to stay here as we had a really lovely time, the beach is stunning and it has a very relaxing feel about the whole hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Nov 25, 2022
Dear Simon and Jeni, Warm greetings from the Maldives! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and recommending to stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel to other travelers. It is great to know that the beauty of our four star resort captured your eyes. It is also a pleasure to read your positive remark in regards to the great, friendly staff and the amazing, professional diving team. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our eco initiatives, as well. Among them a new pesticide-free mosquito management is on place. This program is part of our sustainability commitment since we strive to find alternative eco-friendly solutions to preserve the environment and zero-usage of chemicals that is destructive to our ozone atmosphere. Thank you for sharing your concerns as well. This gives us an opportunity to re-look at our highly maintained standards. Regarding our food offering: kindly note that our Kitchen Team gives their outmost best to offer freshly cooked food. The pastry chefs hand make pastries, cookies, bread every day. We do not label the dishes as it would be better for our international guest having our cooks personally giving a good description rather than reading it foreign from their mother-tongue. Our repeating guests highly values also our multilingual cooks presence at the buffet in order to offer a customized service and give more attention to all guests needs. We are sad to read your negative comments about the gym as we recently added new equipment which is maintained daily. During your stay we had some redundant machines that was unplugged to conserve energy. Just to clarify, our Gym has three treadmills, three bicycle machines, one exercise machine, two adjustable bench press, swat/power rack, 4 barbells and more than enough of weights. If by any chance that any single equipment did not work, for sure our team could have checked and solved promptly the issue. We are sorry if you were not aware that the alcohol can’t be served in local islands, as per the Maldivian law. Since the hotel opening time (2014), we are not allowed to provide alcohol to our guests because we are located on an inhabited island. That's why we can only serve cocktails, wine, beer on the boat bar, which is the best place to enjoy the sunset or stargaze after dinner. The only way to reach Hanimaadhoo Island is by domestic flights operated by the national government carrier Maldivian Aero. Usually there are 5 domestic flights daily connecting Male international airport to Hanimaadhoo. As in our exchange of correspondence for your specific holiday booking, we offer as an extra mile to assist you even to catch a local flight to Hanimaadhoo island by having an hotel counter just in front of the international arrivals gate where our airport representative greet and meet our guests for additional assistance. Once again, thank you for sharing your opinions and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Barefoot Eco Hotel. Best regards, Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EleChri wrote a review Apr 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark49 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful stay!
We immersed ourselves between the blue of the ocean and the green of tropical garden and spent a relaxing and enriching vacation.
The rooms are spacious, cleaned, comfortable and with a great sea view: the beauty of waking up in front of a turquoise sea is reinvigorating.
The hotel is mainly done in wood and natural materials, with open space for dining and relaxing, admiring the nature and breathing the sea breeze.
All staff ( all of them!) is very friendly and approachable: smiling and genuinely kind people.
The atmosphere is chilled and relaxed.
Very interesting excursions to explore the sea.
The food was delicious, with great variety and genuine ingredients.
Our family ( 2 adults and 2 kids) had a really great vacation and we hope to come back one day.
This place has our warmest reccomendation and a big shout out to the owner and all the staff for the intelligent approach and offering for rendering this place so welcoming and “different” from the mainstream touristic ones.
Very good job! And we hope to be back one day soon.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Apr 9, 2023
Dear Mrs EleChri, Thank you on behalf of the whole team for having trusted The Barefoot Eco Hotel for your vacation and for taking the time to post such a lovely review, which is highly appreciated. We are so pleased that your stay was made special by our team and we hope that the little touches made a difference. Glad you appreciated the tropical garden, our spacious rooms, the excursions to explore the sea. We would love to welcome you and your family back soon for another wonderful holiday among us. Kind regards, Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marlene wrote a review Mar 2021
Zurich, Switzerland5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's been a day that I'm back to Europe and I'm already thinking to plan my next trip to the Barefoot... This place brings you to an authentic paradise, which combines a perfect beach, and an excellent food (passion fruit the home made ice cream will remain a while in my mind), to an extraordinary marine wild life (I saw once dolphins at the sunset from the jetty!).
The diving center offers you plenty of excursions, and great diving experiences (from beginners to experience). The team over there is passionate and patient, and I can't thank enough Sara and Llyod for sharing their knowledge about the marine life.
I think that what makes overall this place unforgettable also is the staff. All of them truly care for your well- being, and you, as a guest, truly care for them as well.
The clientele is open-minded, friendly, and you end up thatching at night about your water excursions of the day with other guests.
To wrap this up, vacations at the barefoot is more than vacation, it is an experience that will leave you with memories for life.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Mar 22, 2021
Dear Marlene, Warm and sunny greetings from The Maldives and thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a huge pleasure to welcome you to our tiny slice of paradise. It is so lovely to hear that you had such a great stay with us here at The Barefoot Eco Hotel. We especially, truly appreciate your kind words for our team, who are indeed, highly passionate and dedicated to delivering the most memorable visits for our all our valued guests, such as you. We agree that Lloyd and Sara are two shining stars here at The Barefoot. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel soon, on your next visit! Best regards Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ferry wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're looking for a nice place to dive in the Maldives this is not the place to be. That the corals are unfortunately dead the dive center can't help but there are a few more points. First they only do two dives in the morning because they need the boat for the snorkelers in the afternoon ("We only have one boat"). Second they do a surface interval of only 45 minutes. Why? We told the manager that we don't have to be back for lunch even a lady who had booked full board told him. His answer was "But I do". Who is paying for this holiday?! Third: When wanted to pay the bill the prices were 5 dollar more per dive as they were on the price list that send us before. His comment: "I haven't raised the prices since 2015" and came up with a different price list. And be aware, that they add 10% service tax on the prices of the pricelist. Ups, have you ever had a service charge for your tank been brought on boat? They charge for it.

Our impression is that the current Italian dive center manager doesn't like his job. Hope that it will turn better when he leaves, cause the local dive guide really does a good job and the trainee instructor is interested in the customers too.

All in all: if you're an experienced diver you will be disappointed, not only by the dive spots but most by the dive center.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Jan 2, 2023
Dear Ferry, Warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel. Firstly, thank you very much for taking your valuable time to share your concerns and frustrations regarding our diving center. The team and I feel very sorry to read your thoughts in regards to your diving holiday, something that we have never experienced before from our guests. Our diving center Team welcome divers of all levels and do their best to satisfy every request and needed. The safety is our priority and the choice of dive sites depends on the weather and sea conditions then a designated diving boat is arranged accordingly. A detailed section dedicated to our diving center is available on our website. There are useful information and an interactive map showing the innumerable dive sites with description and high quality videos. This is what you can expect by visiting us. There are several spots with vibrant reefs, very healthy population of marine life all around our atoll. It is true that reefs suffer due to the climate change and the high sea water temperature (causes coral bleaching). Unfortunately the same happens worldwide. To be frank, on 25th November our multilingual base leader has replied to your email by sending you the price list. We charged you the same prices which, as clearly mentioned on the same list, include the government tax and exclude the service charge which is mandated by the local rules. As per our records, you did almost every time 70 minutes dive and 45 minutes surface interval is enough between the two dives in order to avoid decompression issues. We are truly sorry if you found our experienced and skilled base leader not helpful enough and did not live up to your expectations. We also thank you for the nice comments concerning the Italian diving instructor and the Maldivian dive master. We do hope that you will come back to the Maldives which is still a paradise on earth. Best regards, Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Алёна Т wrote a review Mar 2024
57 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel exceeded all my expectations! Their dedication to eco-friendly practices are truly impressive. The rooms exuded natural harmony, creating a unique atmosphere of serenity and relaxation.

I must highlight their cuisine – made from fresh, natural ingredients, we are focusing on healthy eating and found a lot of options for us. I thoroughly enjoyed every treat and was impressed by the variety of vegetarian and vegan options.

In summary, The Barefoot Eco Hotel is a true haven for those who appreciate nature, comfort, and wellness. I highly recommend it to anyone dreaming of a unique and environmentally conscious retreat in the Maldives!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Mar 20, 2024
Dear Алёна Т, Warm greetings from The Barefoot Eco Hotel. Thank you immensely for your glowing review of your recent stay at our stunning resort. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a delightful experience beyond your expectations! Your satisfaction is truly the highest praise we could receive. We do appreciate your compliments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for another amazing holiday. Best regards, Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Masha G wrote a review Feb 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have choosen the accomodation of Barefoot hotel as two friends have been here before. We have chosen to say here for 9 nights in a sea view room but ended up staying in the ocean view room which is worth every extra penny. The view is stunning and you start your morning in the best possible way and Victor ( from reception) is always helping with anything for the accommodation to deliver every single moment.
On top I have choosen to dive with Bella, and was absolutely amazing. Bella is such an excellent professional with extremely high standards in his area of expertise. He is the same above water as underwater as well where he will always indicate all the marvels of the underwater world, having a very focused and agile eye for anything in sight from a significant distance that can make a difference for you to purely enjoy some proper moments with a turtle, a manta or if you have the guts with a babyshark. All my dives have been extremely enojoyable and was able to see more than i have seen in Egypt or Thailand( from all varieties of fishes, to numerous turtles, mantas of different sizes and sharks)
I first intended to go for only 2 dives, but the experience made me hungry for much more. So book in the first days as you will want more and more. And if you are good you might attract some dolphins both while driving and on the way back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2023
Dear Masha G, how lovely to read your kind words. Thank you for posting such a fantastic review on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to learn that you spent a wonderful diving holiday at The Barefoot Eco Hotel. I’m so pleased to read that you appreciated Victor and Bela professionalism. We always ensure every guest feels welcomed and receives friendly, attentive and timely service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy more dives with us! Best regards, Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anique I wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely quiet calm place to stay and relax.
The rooms were very nice. Basic and comfortable. Bed was a bit solid though. They got cleaned once a day and linnen got changed whenever you wanted them to do so.
Reception was very helpful and really helped fixing issues if there were any.
The restaurant was lovely. One of the waiters was a bit annoying and almost begging for tips. He kept letting us know how busy he was. The others were very nice though. Chefs were always smiling and very happy to help. Food was very tasty!
In rainy season there is no nice snorkeling to be done on the beach. However, we are divers so done loads of dives at the diving school at the resort.
And that was amazing!!! The guide /instructor Luca was really nice. A young, but very knowledgeable and very enthusiastic person who did what he could to make the divers happy. And he just oozed loving what he does. Really nice. And that's not that common in instructors /guides.
We can definitely advise guests to use this diving school. We had a great time under water and on the Dhoni (boat)!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Oct 25, 2023
Dear Aniquei, Sunny greetings from the Maldives and thanks for posting such a good review on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to dive with you. The opportunity to share our passion for the ocean makes Luca, Muhusin and dhoni crew’s job even more rewarding! Scuba dive here is an amazing experience: sea temperature 29oC, visibility 20+m and plenty of dive sites within 20-30mins boat ride. We would be delighted to welcome you back to The Barefoot Eco Hotel! Best regards, Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave wrote a review May 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The barefoot is a gem to treasure. The gorgeous sea and landscape, welcoming and kind staff, and the flair of a delicate simplicity of nature. I received room upgrade so there’s a positive bias there. However, I hardly spent time in the room at all when there’s so much to do, to view and to savor. Lloyd at the dive shop is a consummate professional who will get you to the bottom of the ocean and back! He will meet you where you are and go over the diving skills and knowledge in a systematic crawl walk run fashion. Even when I generously donated my breakfast and dinner to the fishes, he worked with me, built my confidence, and instilled proficiency. So much so that my sac rate was 12.7 at the end of the course! He will point out to you moray, turtle, shark, and all kinds of marine life during the dive excursions. In fact, if you are patient and has a good eye you can see rays, octopus, etc just by the hotel ocean front!
Sarah did excellent snorkelling excursion and significantly upgraded my Marine life and eco system conservation knowledge. The daily Italian cuisines are splendid unless you are into very spicy meals. I wish there is fish too for breakfast! Pro tip: let Diksan at the hotel take care your flight from and to Male. I used travel agent and regretted it . Also have generous time table for everything especially the covid test
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella Colleoni, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded May 7, 2021
Dear Dave, thank you very much for posting such a great review of your recent stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel. It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday with us. Thanks for recommending Lloyd, the base leader of our diving center and Sara our skilled marine biologist who showed you the marine life and explained our eco concept. Diksan takes care of the domestic transfers and much more to let our guests enjoy a relaxing and safe journey. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Sunny regards from the Maldives, Raffaella
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Radovic family wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were with the kids at the Barefoot Eco Hotel on full board basis, swimming all day in the warm ocean, enjoying white sand walks, visiting the locals, we went for afternoon trips (swimming with turtles and colorful fish), having wonderful staff especially young and discerning Sozib who did his best to make our stay enjoyable, we drank fruit cocktails and watched the sunset. All in all, we are left with several hundred photos and wonderful acquaintances to remind us of this holiday... Kind regards to all staff and management from Radovic familly!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Raffaella C, General Manager at The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Dear Vuk-Radovic, Sunny greetings from the Maldives and thanks for posting such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Barefoot Eco Hotel. We were delighted to read that you had a brilliant holiday with us. I will thank Sozib for his personalized service. We look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ClumsyBird wrote a tip Feb 2024
8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better take cash in dollars with you. There’s an ATM on island but you’ll be able to withdraw only MVR."
Read full review
Alexandra L wrote a tip Jan 2024
30 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try the Hunihakuru, an amazing local dessert they serve here 🤤"
Read full review
Татьяна В wrote a tip Oct 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fantastic stay at The Barefoot Eco Hotel"
Read full review
Alexandra A wrote a tip Sep 2023
Tenterden, United Kingdom37 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be mindfull when organising flights. Although the flight from the island is only 45min, there are no late afternoon flights. "
Read full review
AOL wrote a tip Nov 2022
Pijnacker98 contributions38 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top flat for a view"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hanimaadhoo area.
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MaldivesHaa Dhaalu AtollHanimaadhoo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BAREFOOT ECO HOTEL - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Barefoot Eco Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Starting Point (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Break Time Cafe’ & Restaurent, Youth Cafe, and Chill garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center, a pool with a view, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does The Barefoot Eco Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Barefoot Eco Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Barefoot Eco Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Barefoot Eco Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Barefoot Eco Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Hanimaadhoo.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Barefoot Eco Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Italian.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars