We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilmot House

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Wilmot House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

I've stayed at Wilmot house numerous times over the past two years and it really is a great friendly place to stay . The house is old and has been tastefully modernised without losing any of its character a beamed ceiling in the dining room all adding to the old world charm of the the place . The hosts ,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
Reading, Berks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

Would highly.recommend this b&b. Sue is fabulous, she was always on hand if we needed anything and the children liked her. She went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. The room was lovely, very cosy with lovely beams. Breakfast was delicious. We will be back when we're next in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Skerby25
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Wilmot House on our way up north. The room was lovely and clean. The breakfast was superb and Susan and her husband were very welcoming. Her husband even helped me park my very large trailer in their car park. I will certainly use Wilmot House again when in that area. I cannot understand the recent negative comments,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Harry S
rochdale,lancs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Susan a wonderful attentive helpful host.cooked breakfast was good. Was a little odd to have to pick up key from pub. Found the place to be rather dirty in places long term grime in bathroom and dust throughout

Helpful?
1 Thank batley65
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Stayed here one night at on our way over to Norfolk. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. We were offered as pot of tea as we were a little early and told about the pub down the road were we could get food. Our two dogs were made very welcome . the room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank mig2k_uk
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

We had a very good stay at this B & B on the Nottingham/Lincolnshire border. The location was handy for Lincoln and Nottingham's attraction including Sherwood Forest. The hosts could not have been more helpful. The Breakfast was well cooked with endless plunger coffee available. The bed was comfortable, and the facilities good for a House of this vintage.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Booked a room at Wilmot house but due to unforeseen circumstances I couldn't make it. Had a very rude and offensive phone call from the hoteliers. I would've been happy to pay for my room but after being told "to go f*** myself" well they certainly can.

Helpful?
Thank V6Hughes
susandossor, Owner at Wilmot House, responded to this review

I apologise for my uncharacteristic outburst. However, we had been advised that arrival would be around 9- 10 pm and we waited up until midnight. No call was received the following day with any explanation or apology and I was unable to take payment under my cancellation policy as the card was not validated at the time of reservation. More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

On the surface this establishment looked clean and welcoming. After having the misfortune to spend one night in this BB we realised how very unclean it actually was. There was dust that you could happily write your name in on a multitude of surfaces and cobwebs that reached from ceiling to floor. The shower was extremely unsanitary and toilet basin... More 

Helpful?
Thank john f
susandossor, Owner at Wilmot House, responded to this review

I was very upset to read your review after your recent stay at our Bed & Breakfast. As explained on your arrival we were undertaking major alterations for the comfort of future guests. Despite our very best attempts, it as difficult to control the amount of dust and dirt generated by this work. On reflection it would maybe have been... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Room clean, a warm welcome awaited us but felt that they rushed our breakfast as they wanted to go shopping. A good overnight stay if going further south. Room on front of house so was disturbed by traffic noise,

Helpful?
Thank Allison D
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This place is an absolute gem Set in the middle of a quiet village The rooms are lovely and the beds are very comfortable Breakfast there was lots of choice and the hosts were very friendly. The place was spotless and unbelievably quiet being so close to a through road Brilliant place to stay would go back again without hesitation

Helpful?
1 Thank MARILYNbowerbank
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newark-on-Trent
11.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 384 reviews
13.0 mi away
Millgate House Hotel
Millgate House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
13.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
BEST WESTERN Deincourt Hotel
#6 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
3.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Maypole at Wellow
The Maypole at Wellow
#15 of 38 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
13.5 mi away
Willow Tree Cottages
Willow Tree Cottages
#14 of 38 in Newark-on-Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Georgian Grade II house of immense period character in central village location. Ample private car parking. Home made preserves and cakes, locally sourced produce for breakfast, fresh fruit always available along with unlimited tea & coffee. Egyptian cotton, cosy blankets, bathrobes & soft towels in rooms. Freeview TV, DVD & WiFi in all rooms. Good location for Lincoln, Newark & Retford. Good food within walking distance. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilmot House

Address: Church Walk | Dunham on Trent, Newark-on-Trent NG22 0TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Price Range: $74 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilmot House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Wilmot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay