We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Cridford Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Cridford Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 126: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for two nights in the middle of September and what a lovely stay ! The building oozes character and has a very friendly atmosphere. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings of our stay and both occasions the food was excellent. The bar has a couple of real ales on hand pump, a selection of whisky... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meanwood03
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here Saturday night as a stopover to plymouth and glad i did. The Cridford Inn is as you'd expect from the photos, Quaint. A small bar with a very good selection of spirts. Some local ales and very friendly service. The food was really good, a varied selection from fish to steak to lasagne. We stayed in "the nest"... More 

Helpful?
Thank mark p
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Mark P, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review - really pleased that you enjoyed the food and the cottage - it is quite a jaunt isn't it!! Look forward to welcoming you again soon George N More 

Essex
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this place by accident while looking for nearby Canonteign Falls waterfall (also worth a visit). On the day we were there they were doing Pie and a Pint for £10.... delicious home made food! My wife had Paella which was also delicious. They have great real ales and a large selection off Gins, Vodkas and single malt Whisky.... More 

Helpful?
Thank EssexJohn
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon EssexJohn, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Indeed we do have quite the selection of spirits - now totalling over 100 gins! So pleased you found us by accident and took the time to leave us a review - hopefully you will be able to find us again in the future! Kind regards... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here in April 2015 after a wedding at the Great Barn near by. Lovely room and ensuite, very cosy and quaint. It is a bit out of the way, nothing much around it, but was perfect for us. The lady on reception/bar was very friendly. We had full english breakfast which was delicious. Would definitely come back here.

Helpful?
Thank Rach20EB
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Rachel B, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and think of us from your stay back in April. I'm afraid we cannot take credit for this as it was under the previous ownership, however, we hope to have maintained the quality that you experienced. Many thanks George N More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for a family birthday and it was wonderful. Not an easy place to find so allow plenty time! the food is nice, the beers are good and so are the staff. I'd love to go back sometime in the not too distant future.

Helpful?
Thank TartanWanderer
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Hi TartanWanderer, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm really pleased that the party you attended went well and look forward to welcoming you back in the future when you should find some more interesting changes to the inn. George N More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We attended the Cridford Inn for my mothers surprise 70th birthday with a group of about 36 ranging in age from 2 to 80. I'm led to believe the new owners have only been there for about 8 weeks. The building is very olde worlde with low beams and dark stained wood. There is ample car parking out the front.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spooky388
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Spoky388, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure working in secret to plan the evening and I am so pleased that it went so well!! Many thanks George N More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have just had a overnight stay in this wonderful Inn. I had booked a surprise meal for my husband and extended it to an overnight stay he loves old and quirky places and he was not disappointed the food was excellent and we were greeted by friendly and happy staff who made our stay special the room was clean full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean C
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Afternoon Jean C, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm so pleased that your husband's meal was everything that you wanted it to be - the inn dates back to 825AD so if you can't find character here then you won't find it anywhere!! Look froward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon,... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were booked to stay for two nights but due to a family emergency we had to check out after a one night stay. We explained the situation and requested a refund for the second night. We were told that they will speak to the owner and someone will call us back.To this day no one has returned my calls... More 

Helpful?
Thank kindness1975
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the cridford for lunch on tues had liver and bacon witch was very tasty well presented and all in all a very good dining experience . However we were a bit surprised that no vegetables were included in the meal and we had to buy them seperatley a bit naughty especially when liver is the cheapest meat... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Hello Keith H, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies that you felt that vegetables should have come with the dish, I don't believe that the menu stated that it did that month and indeed we hope that the portion was of the correct size when it came out - I would like to know... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went to the Cridford Inn yesterday for the first time and what a beautiful Devonshire country pub it is! It was really busy and we hadn't made a booking but they fitted us in. Service was surprisingly swift bearing in mind how busy they were and the food was excellent. Reasonable prices and a great range of drinks too!

Helpful?
1 Thank ALB0502
George N, General Manager at The Cridford Inn, responded to this review

Hello ALB0502, Many thanks for taking the time to review us. The food coming out of the kitchen has already got the attention of some national press so you've been at the early stages of this process of making one of the oldest pubs in the country also one of the best! Many thanks George N More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trusham
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
5.0 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Cockhaven Arms
Cockhaven Arms
#1 of 1 in Bishopsteignton
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Cridford is set in the idyllic village of Trusham in the heart of the Teign valley.We have no street lights and it is very quiet.We do have WIFI access.All rooms are ensuite and all have tea/coffee making facilities and televisions.Teign room has a double bed and a day bed so it can sleep a family of three. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Cridford Inn

Address: Broadway Street | Newton Abbot, Trusham, Newton Abbot TQ13 0NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot > Trusham
Price Range: $85 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cridford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay