We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Laugar

Traveler (12)
Dining (13)
Room & Suite (6)
Hotel Laugar has been under new management since June 2017, it‘s a summer hotel located in the tranquillity of northeast Iceland. It’s open from 1st of June until 20th of August each year. Laugar is the gateway to some of Icelands most spectacular natural attractions, such as Lake Mývatn, Ásbyrgi Canyon and the waterfalls, Goðafoss and Dettifoss. Hotel Laugar is in the peaceful rural surroundings of the Reykjadalur valley at the crossroads of northeast Iceland. The hotel is only a short drive away from Akureyri (60 km), Husavik (40 km) and Lake Myvatn (30 km). The hotel has a cosy restaurant where meals are served daily from 6pm to 10pm, a full breakfast buffet is also served each morning from 7am to 10am. Happy hour each day in our comfortable lounge area between 4pm and 6pm. Hotel Laugar offers its guests free parking and free high speed WiFi. An outdoor geothermal swimming pool and golf course is a minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel is ideal for guests with a car rental and group visitors who use us as a base due to our close proximity to major attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
Full view
Austurhildarvegur Austurhlidarvegur, Laugar 650 Iceland
Getting there
Akureyri Airport21 mi
See all nearby hotels
Reviews & more
0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 8
  • 3
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The grounds of this school turned Summer Hotel are pleasant and tranquil. The hotel itself is the school dormitory repurposed for Summers, and the Restaurant is located in a large schoolroom, but it is staffed with a talented and friendly group of foreign visitors, who happened
Read more
Response from Astrid h, Manager at Hotel Laugar
Responded Aug 9, 2018
Dear Guest, thank you very much for that lovely review! We try our best to convert this school into a pleasant hotel over the summer, but obviously we can't hide the fact that it is a school! We wish you a sunny summer and sending you smiley greetings from Laugar! Astrid*
Read more
This is a school dorm converted (for the summer?) into a hotel. No TV, no telephone (between rooms), no elevators, rooms far from the main building, no reading lights next to beds, no stands for luggage, no night stands next to beds. Clean, 2 desks in the room.
Read more
Response from Astrid h, Manager at Hotel Laugar
Responded Jul 25, 2018
Goðan daginn dear David, thank you for your review! It is actually true: Hotel Laugar is a school, which is just in the three months of the summer holidays of the students converted into a Hotel. Due to the fact, that the students are note allowed to have TVs, nor does the Hotel have them and this is also why we offer a free movie in our Hotel cinema every night. Also the WIFI is for free and open, so that our dear guests can use all their devices. We do have several buildings, from which two are about a three minutes walk away from the main building with the reception and the restaurant and another building, which is just side by side to the main building. Usually all our rooms are equipped with night stands and bed lamps and we will immediately verify, why this hasn't been so in your room. We do absolutely apologize for this fact! We will take your feedback very serious and will do everything necessary to improve! Thanks a lot again and have still a wonderful summer!
Read more
Hotel Laugar was by far the worst hotel we stayed on a recent group tour to Iceland. We stayed at about eight different hotels. My room was not very clean I will attach one picture. It is a boarding school most of the year and a ridiculously priced hotel in summer. We were
Read more
Response from Astrid h, Manager at Hotel Laugar
Responded Jul 25, 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry to hear that you were so unsatisfied with your stay.! As a matter of fact it is true, that our Hotel is a boarding school through out the year and that our buildings have a small walking distance between them. Unfortunately we don't get the information of the tour operators, who know our location, that it is an elderly group requesting a building with an elevator, this is why we couldn't switch the groups. We are already working on that for the future, so that the tour operators will contact us in advance in case of any special requirements for the groups. We apologize for the inconvenience and wish you still a splendid summer! Thank you and have a good day!
Read more
I am sorry to write that this hotel was one of the most uncomfortable hotels I stayed in ever. The room was very small since there were two large writing desks ( the hotel is a boarding school during the school year. The room was on the second floor without an elevator . The
Read more
Response from Astrid h, Manager at Hotel Laugar
Responded Jul 25, 2018
Dear Customer! We are very sorry, that you were not happy with your stay with us! It is true, that Hotel Laugar during the year is a boarding school, and it is also true, that the buildings are a little bit apart and some of them where built earlier, but we try our best to have the same standard in all the rooms. Thanks again for your review and will still try to improve our standard with every of your comments! Have still a marvelous summer! All the best!
Read more
I stayed two nights. It is a modern hotel with interesting places to walk in the area with a river at bottom of hill. The room on the second floor had walk through access to the restaurant and there was an elevator in the 3 floor building. There were many electrical outlets. Two
Read more
Responded Jun 9, 2018
Hello and goðan daginn, thank you for your nice review. We always appreciate frank and open comments and compliments and we will try to work on the water pressure - promise :) I hope you are either still having a good time in Iceland or already arrived at home safe and sound! Sunshiny greetings from Laugar, Astrid*
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravelerDining Room & SuitePool & BeachBusiness Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementHotel Laugar
Photo provided by managementHotel Laugar
Photo provided by managementHotel Laugar
Double or twin room
Photo provided by managementHotel Laugar
Double or twin room
$245 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Fosshotel Laugar
IcelandNortheast RegionLaugar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing