We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Commercial

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Commercial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The commercial may not look much from the outside but couldn't fault once through the front door. We didn't eat in the restaurant as were dining with a friend who lives in St Just. Our twin room was a good size and breakfast the following morning excellent. Proper butchers sausages, well cooked bacon and lovely malted brown bread amongst other... More 

Helpful?
Thank K H
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review of our inn. We are lucky enough to have great butchers in our town and fantastic local produce right on our doorstep so we try to give our guests a great start to their day with our breakfasts. St Just is the perfect spot to stay if your wishing to explore the coastal... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Commercial is a friendly hotel, well placed for coastal walks situated in the small town of St just. The owner is very knowledgable regarding the local area, the staff friendly and efficient. The room was great, comfortable bed, good linen, good towels, spotless bathroom and a great generous breakfast. Car parking available on market square opposite or on large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulously encouraging review of our inn. Everyone will be delighted to read such great feedback since they all work so hard all of the time. Thanks again. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night, tacked onto a trip to the Scillies ..I arrived at about 9pm, but was able to get a good meal, and noticed the bar and restaurant were full. There was lots of fresh fish on the menu, including lobster and crab. My room was spotlessly clean and altho' the shower was on the small... More 

Helpful?
Thank pen p
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive and comprehensive review of your overnight stay with us. It is great that you enjoyed your meal with us and were made to feel welcome. We are delighted that we lived up to your expectations and are particularly happy that the staff were friendly and helpful. More 

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first night of the trip and the staff were very good towards myself. Room was small but then I was alone so no problem. Had a very good nights sleep and breakfast in the morning was very good to. The girls working there were very helpful and attended to all my needs. Great start to what would... More 

Helpful?
Thank acepower84
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review. It was good of you to take the time to leave us your very encouraging thoughts. Many congratulations on your cycle trip; Land's End to John O'Groats is no mean achievement! More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife was hunting for somewhere to stay when we visited the Minack Theatre with family. This placed proved to be superb. Simple, clean and smart rooms. Really friendly staff, who organised the taxi too and from the Minack for us. But for me it was the food lunch and breakfast. Lunch was excellent quality and great value for money.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ivorinusa
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review of our inn. We are delighted to have made your short overnight stay with us such a special one. Thanks again. More 

Devon, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

The staff were particularly 'stand out' at The Commercial. Everyone was so nice and friendly, and the food was just fantastic. The trio of fish was so fresh and juicy and cooked to perfection; I would thoroughly recommend it. The breakfasts were really nice as well; lots of options and very prompt. It is really convenient for Lands End as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

I booked for my girlfriend and I to stay in The Commercial, as we were watching A Midsummer Night's Dream at the Minack theatre for her Birthday, and St Just is only a few miles from The Minack. Now before I state my feelings about our stay, i can honestly say that the four star rating of the hotel had... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Alex K
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

I will approach this review in the order in which it has been laid out: Fact The guest made a booking error reserving a room for single occupancy at the single rate but wanted double occupancy of the room for the same rate. Having been shown our copy of the booking form the guest still disputed he had made an... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2016

My sources promised a large, airy room, and maybe some of the rooms are large and airy. Mine was stuffy and tiny. The window barely opened. the bed was a twin (not full sized) and it took up about 3/4 of the room. The shower and towels were very good, Single travelors often get the worst rooms. I think this... More 

Helpful?
Thank MVKH
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your thoughts. On the positve side we were able to provide a very good shower and towels and now to your negatives. I am not sure who your "sources" were but they were obviously not anyone who works here at our inn. If you HAD been in contact with us you would have been told... More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with our stay. Our room was very small and the window opened onto the street in the middle of town, This meant it was too noisy to have the window opening over night (due to pubs, people and traffic) which meant it was quite hot in the room. However it was very clean and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank May2121
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. The Commercial is a former 19th Century coaching inn situated in the main square to St Just. We are rated as a 4 star inn under the VisitBritain accreditation system and so we are confident that we offer much more than "basic" facilities. However, we respect that everyone has... More 

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from our stay in this 'hotel'. Never in all my life have I wanted to get up in the middle of the night and leave...until last night! It was dreadful. Entering the hotel you are greeted by unpleasant smell throughout. Embarrassing check in (reception located midst eating area!) with mix up with our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tania T
CommercialStJust, Owner at The Commercial, responded to this review

Firstly, I would very much like to point out to these guests that we are NOT a hotel but an inn, and a very busy one at that. Our reception desk is to be found in the corner of our Lounge dining room and these guests checked in during the early evening dinner service. They had incorrectly booked our small... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Just
3.3 mi away
Old Success Inn
Old Success Inn
#1 of 1 in Sennen Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
4.3 mi away
Land's End Hotel
Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#8 of 9 in St Just
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
5.2 mi away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#6 of 88 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Commercial is a former coaching inn and has been run by the same family for over 100 years. We offer 4 star VisitBritain accredited inn accommodation and pride ourselves on the warm Cornish welcome we extend to all guests and customers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Commercial

Address: 13 Market Square, St Just TR19 7HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Just
Price Range: $80 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Commercial 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Commercial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay