We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort

Save
Share
Avenida Dona Inês de Castro, 1 Vale de Janelas, Amoreira, Obidos 2510-451 Portugal
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Marriott Hotels$182
Tripadvisor$182
Booking.com
Hotels.com$182
Travelocity$182
Priceline$182
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1548)
Room & Suite (353)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 09/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Updated 09/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Amoreira
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
After undergoing a property-wide renovation, the hotel introduces new and renewed spaces that enhance every aspect of the chic coastal charmer. All 177 guestrooms and suites have private terraces or balconies offering unique views of either the Atlantic Ocean or the beautiful 18 holes championship golf course and gardens. Tempera is an all-day restaurant offering daily thematic buffets. Emprata presents a contemporary and creative approach to portuguese cuisine in a sophisticated environment with personalized service. Light meals can be enjoyed together with beautiful views at Contato Lobby Bar. Cuisine is taken very seriously and our Chefs take great pride and pleasure in their creations. A state of the art fitness center is available for your workout, including an indoor heated pool, outdoor pool, Jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Also available is the Kalyan SPA, where you can choose a relaxing or invigorating massage or several beauty treatments. Kids will love the Kids Club with indoor and outdoor activities that will make this an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Indoor pool
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Golf course
Hiking
Tennis court offsite
Children's television networks
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
1659Reviews77Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 921
  • 529
  • 138
  • 40
  • 31
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Agnes2golf wrote a review Sep 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom128 contributions43 helpful votes
The Beach Apartment were very isolated and although pretty empty still managed to have unsavoury characters who made much noise after 11.00pm. Although having a good shuttle service, the supermarket along with the worker supplied nothing ….. no ice, no salad ingredients basically nothing with a surly attendant.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay in the hotel, although the size of our apartment was good we did not get the sun at all on...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Agnes2golf, We have received your comment regarding your stay at an apartment and we regret for the experience. Even though we are at the same complex – Praia d’El Rey – the apartments are not managed by Marriott and it is not regulated with the same Standards and this is the Marriott Hotel TripAdvisor page. However, I am more than pleased to share your comments with the Resort Management. Best Regards, Inês Gil - Assistant Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sjtam wrote a review Aug 2022
silver spring577 contributions240 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed at this Marriott resort for three nights, in a seaside view/garden room on the first level. Our room was spacious, and perfectly quiet and comfortable, with excellent bedding. Outdoors was a small private patio with two chaise lounges, and just a short stroll to the windswept cliff walk along the ocean. The private beach area is down a few levels of steep stairs along the cliffs. We enjoyed the beautiful and huge heated swimming pool, indoor and outdoor bar service and dinners in both of the restaurants. The location itself is a bit remote but the spectacularly beautiful beach, ocean and multi colored sandstone cliffs more than make up for this. While staying there, we toured Peniche, Obidos, Fatima and Batalha monastery. Despite its remoteness, the Marriott offered us a convenient and comfortable base from which to day trip and see the sights of this region of Portugal. The staff was uniformly excellent and went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of during our stay. They also gave us regional liqueurs and cookies as parting gifts. Excellent stay!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LAW64 wrote a review Sep 2022
Tonbridge, United Kingdom1494 contributions685 helpful votes
We always have at least one visit to the lobby restaurant at this well located hotel. The service was very friendly and helpful and the view of the sunset and the beach is beautiful. The menu is very varied and is excellent for a light meal. Also a good selection of drinks including non-alcoholic cocktails.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Paul B wrote a review Aug 2022
Bermuda3 contributions3 helpful votes
Staying at the hotel now. It's mostly OK but far from perfect. What really gets me however is the totally unacceptable level of noise in our room from another room. Not sure which other room but the noise is intolerable. I will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Responded Aug 20, 2022
Dear paulbA3510XG, Thank you so much for your time leaving us this review on this platform. Our guest experience feedback is very important to us. We do everything to anticipate our guests needs and provide them a memorable stay. We regret you are experiencing noise issues at our property and since you are still here we kindly ask you to pass by the front desk so we may address this directly. We hope to hear from you soon and we are at your entire disposal if you wish further clarifications. Kind Regards, Mara Patrão _ Front Office Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dana B wrote a review Aug 2022
4 contributions
Great property! Beach is beautiful but be careful tides are extremely strong, great they have lifeguards. I give it four stars based on the food at resort. The Emprata, more sophisticated dining experience, blue room, the food was gross. Service was great, but it was all for show because the food was not good. We had the seafood carbonara, we literally spit it out it was a seaweed, seafood mess. We had several other things which were not great. I expected better food. Rooms were great, staff was friendly, and the pool was amazing! Definitely should work on the food. It’s garbage, and dosent reflect well on the beauty/level of the resort.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Josh Y wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My experience with the Beachfront has been an abysmal one since arriving here (still unfortunately here for another 5 days). The only way I can describe this place is that it is as if they built it and left it. Within our villa there was a broken picture frame, broken oven door, cracked glass on the railing outside, a dangerously wobbly bannister, the most uncomfortable beds and pillows you've ever slept on and an LG TV with brightness set do dark you wish they didn't limit the use of the menu on the TV. The facilities here are extremely basic. The gym has a few machines and free weights which is okay until you realise maintenance don't care at all about the place when you go to sit down on one of them to find that the seat has split down the middle, leaving you to rest on bare metal. The pools are... alright? Completely baltic but I guess that is expected sometimes, but one of the pools walls is just pealing off and its clear no one is making an effort to amend this. The singular mini market is alright if you go in the morning, but leave it past 2 o clock and you will be limited as to what you can buy as they don't appear to restock throughout the day? The outdoor activities are another story. The beachfront appears to get old hand me down surfboards from hotels and surf places further up the beach whenever they don't need them, making it almost impossible to hire a surfboard. When we couldn't hire surfboards we thought about tennis, only to find out its €6.30 per person to use the court for just an hour and another €7 for a racket and 3 balls. I understand that this is a Marriott but this is just pathetic for a 5 star resort. We tried making the most out of other places within the resort such as the club house as there is absolutely nothing to do here when the weather is dull, which was a mixed experience. The food and drinks are fantastic (overpriced but fantastic) however, one member of staff did pour me a Coca Cola, spill a quarter of it on herself and in my menu and proceeded to pretend it didn't happen. They also don't seem to have anything in place (such as zappers) to sort the fly situation. Most of my meals either outside or inside were spent fighting off flies that kept landing on the table. The shuttle buses are hit or miss. Some drivers are great and some speed off without you even closing the door or sitting down properly. Some even take you to the Marriott hotel even when they double checked with you that you wanted to go to the Clubhouse. On top of all this, our hot water was broken from the moment we got here. We all probably used the remainder of it on the first night. After calling reception to ask someone to fix it, we were sent a technician to fix the boiler who discovered that the electrical plate was completely broken and our hot water wasn't working. After driving back and forth from the boiler outside about 3 times, he didn't even let us know if the problem had been resolved, but I guess we're just going to read his mind and assume it is after he stopped driving back to our villa. Ready to move on.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Responded Aug 7, 2022
Dear joshy877, Thank you for your time. We regret your experience. Unfortunately this review does not belong to Marriott Hotel. Praia D'el Rey is a resort with several companies. Since you mention being BeachFront Apartments, this comments are not regarding our hotel rooms or even property. Kind Regards, Inês Gil - Assistent Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
poroelasticity wrote a review Jul 2022
9 contributions
The hotel is located in a small town at a long beach with fine sands and interesting rock formation. You may take a nice, relaxing long walk, rest on the sands, and enjoy watching big waves, but do not expect to swim there unless you like to play with the waves. The resort was very quiet with no light from most of the homes, probably because the owners only use them for their vacation homes. The hotel seems to be luxury. They seem to welcome elite members! We got a sizable suite with partial ocean view as a free upgrade, a free treat to Bonvoy elite members. The buffet breakfasts at the hotel are probably the best one can ever have. You may find everything you can imagine for breakfasts! The room rates were reasonable for June. The down side is no public transportation from Lisbon airport or Obidos, which is inconvenient for people like us who do not dare to drive in Lisbon and Obidos. Fortunately, the taxis there is affordable
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eitan M wrote a review Jul 2022
Kadima, Israel41 contributions17 helpful votes
Worst VFM. We spent 3 nights at the hotel. We booked a room with view to the gardens and the sea and the only view we had was the roof of the building. The service was terrible. Each request, for example a bottle of water, was accepted only after 3-4 inquiries. Rooms were not cleaned or tidied until late in the afternoon For our stay we got 2 Capsules of coffee and they charge 2 euros for each additional capsule. The hotel has 3 restaurant of which were closed due to birthday parties. For a fee of 420 euros per night the value is very disappointing
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Responded Jul 24, 2022
Dear Eitan M., Thank you so much for your time leaving us this review on this platform. Our guest opinion is very important to us. We do everything to anticipate our guests needs and provide them a memorable stay. We regret we did not meet your expectations on some points. Our services such us mini bar and housekeeping during stay have normal schedules. If a guest requested earlier we are happy to adjust and adapt. Our hotel and resort have several options for meals. When we have events, we always try to use spaces in order to not affect the guest in house experience, so there are always restaurant option in the hotel and in the resort (with free transportation) for our guests to choose. We appreciate your comments and will pass it to our teams. We hope to receive you again and we are at your entire disposal if you wish further clarifications. Kind Regards, Inês Gil - Assistant Quality Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Faaaamily wrote a review Jul 2022
Dubai, United Arab Emirates254 contributions113 helpful votes
It will probably become a good location eventually but it really is quite remote and unkempt at present. Nice beach area - very fresh and natural. Hotel staff were very good. Hotel was clean and comfortable. It really is in the middle of nowhere however
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Vacay lover wrote a review Jul 2022
Newmarket, Canada31 contributions55 helpful votes
We were greeted by two staff members before even checking in. Very welcoming, friendly, professional and accommodating. They ticked all the boxes on my chick list when staying in a hotel. Great service and beautiful clean grounds with a nice view of the ocean. Quick room service. Had a very relaxing stay. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
praia d`el rey marriott golf & beach hotel obidos, praia d`el rey marriott golf and beach resort, marriott obidos, obidos marriott
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLeiria DistrictObidosAmoreira
NUMBER OF ROOMS
177
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include WATERLOST (4.9 miles), Baleal Beach (3.0 miles), and Foz do Arelho Beach (4.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include MOO Bar & Grill, Taberna Do Ganhao, and Cantina de Ferrel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Praia D'el Rey Marriott Golf & Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Capela De São Martinho (7.3 miles).