We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
192 Careys Rd, West Kentish, Sheffield, Tasmania 7306 Australia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (407)
Room & Suite (82)
Dining (22)

About

Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
Discover a luxury getaway in Tasmania, Australia, for a special occasion, honeymoon, or simply to escape the hectic pace of the city. You'll enjoy spa experiences, stunning views, exquisitely appointed accommodation and the ultimate experience. Eagles Nest Retreat has 4 unique properties, Nest I, Nest II or Nest III and The Loft, which are all close to Cradle Mountain and exclusively yours to enjoy alone, with your special someone or with a group of friends and family.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Spa
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Massage
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
253Reviews0Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 228
  • 13
  • 5
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Erica C wrote a review Jun 2022
Hobart, Australia31 contributions25 helpful votes
Was okay. Probably a bit pricey compared to what we expected. Beds a bit hard and unfortunately the "milk vat spa" was not what we were expecting so we didn't use it. It's not a spa or bath but like a sheep dip. But limited accommodation elsewhere at the time we visited. View of mountain was spectacular.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Del678 wrote a review Oct 2021
Brisbane, Australia202 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
Nest III: Great size for family of 4 with two young children. Setting is gorgeous, even thr night sly blows you away. Loads if space to explore, visit chickens and see cows. Warm fireplace with endless supply of firewood. Proper kitchen and laundry. Restaurants and supermarket in Sheffield a 5 min drive away. Beds are really comfortable and showers are hot. Location good for day trips to Cradle Mountain, Launceston, Cataract Gorge, Devonport, Tasmazia and various food/farm stops. Note there is no wi-fi.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Des Brown, Owner at Eagles Nest Retreat
Responded Nov 11, 2021
Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. Nest III is designed with families in mind because everyone deserves a luxury stay that keeps the kids entertained and the parents can enjoy the views and spa in peace! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Tasmania, we have just welcomed some lambs to the farm and we are busy taming them for guests to enjoy!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shannon T wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions
We have just got home from spending two nights in Nest 1. We loved the view, the location and the warmth of the place, heat pump was already warming the Nest, everything needed to start a fire was ready. Every turn you take and look outside you are taken back with a beautiful view. Outdoor spa was amazing to sit at night, enjoy a drink and view the stars, and this was our favourite moment. Inside the Nest you felt a little lost, the decor was very outdated, all the furniture felt just put there to fill a spot. Starting in the kitchen and you are greeted with a few complimentary snacks, it could of used a bottle of wine from a local vineyard though. Oven was very dirty, clean tinfoil place on a horrible tray. Breakfast items in the fridge were very nice but other items like sauces looked like left overs from the last guests. Coffee and Tea provided but the instant coffee was a mixture of 2 brands. Odd numbers of cups and crockery, yes we understand breakages happen but wouldn’t you buy spares to replace them? Not other random ones that don’t suit? Down stairs bedroom looks like everyone’s grandmas room, a mixture of timber furniture and a random chair plonked at the window. Master bedroom was very underwhelming, no where to place your suitcase, so that goes on the ground and not even a random chair in the room like grandma had. No side table with bed so your things just go on the floor. The Master bed was incredibly lacking and I found uncomfortable ( slept on the couch the second night). The master bed needs to be something that you want to stay in and enjoy that view you have from it. Ensuite looks like a hotel from Las Vegas, sparkly blue vanity, blue glass brick, blue tiles, blue towels, blue robes( sounds like a song I know) Double shower was nice but lacked water pressure and wasn’t very hot. The light switches were very random, one of us would flick a switch while the other person looked for it, that game was fun. I really feel Nest one needs a major overhaul and the owner needs to look at what’s on AirB&B around the state for a much lower price. $600p/n is way to high. I don’t think I’d stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheree Kent, Agency / Consultant at Eagles Nest Retreat
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of removing the downstairs bedroom and remodelling it into a wellness massage room to enhance the luxury offerings in Nest I. We appreciate the feedback of all our guests which helps us to improve our service and offerings. While the overwhelming majority of our guests love Nest I, we always appreciate alternative points of view and follow up concerns with our staff where warrented. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Natalia Macedo wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
We stayed at the loft and the views were absolutely breathtaking, the outdoor bath is absolutely beautiful. However, be prepared to cop a cold shower if you want to enjoy a warm bath. Wifi was requested however not provided. Overall a good experience but not sure if we would come back after the cold shower.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Des Brown, Owner at Eagles Nest Retreat
Responded Jul 16, 2021
Thank you for your review and feedback. It is unfortunate that you didn't call us on the property managers number as provided as we could have assisted you. The Loft is fitted with gas hot water which is fully adequate and a spare botle on site for extensive showering and spa bathing. We would have let you know that you do need to wait for the cold water to run out of the pipes, particularly in winter as there is a 10 meter distance for the water to travel. We will be sure to install a sign for the wifi password for all future guests and apologies that this was not on display as you are one of the first in the premises which has been running only a few days.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amelia wrote a review Jun 2021
Perth, Australia68 contributions67 helpful votes
We stayed at eagles 3 and planned our trip around this stay because of the positive reviews . Firstly , the views did not disappoint . It’s important however to note that in our view , the house was by no means luxurious for the price tag. Beds were not the best and overall the furnishings were far from luxurious , tired and need replacing . There were also a few interesting choices made with the layout and furnishings which travelers should be aware of before booking . Master room with en-suite has no blinds/curtains ( it’s odd as the second room has both and no issues with the view ) , so don’t expect a sleep in or if you have privacy issues . The second room has a queen bed and a bunk bed and no en-suite and barn doors that don’t exactly close that well for the bathroom and laundry/toilet . Only two towels were given per bathroom and no heated towel rack which required us to use the dryer each time . No hanging space whatsoever. In the bedrooms , no side table in the second room. The second bathroom has blinds for only one window … the other was exposed . Seemed like it was missed by the tradesman at build ? Shower was spraying everywhere and had calcium build up . Also had a cage lamp that my husband kept hitting his head on . Dining table we could not use as was Japanese style and required sitting down on the floor … we had elderly parents with us … so we ended up using the kitchen bench and bar stools for meals . Fire place was lovely though , couch showed years of use and was dirty . It needs replacing immediately . Place was relatively clean but washing machine / dryer required a wipe down and lint catcher emptied . The fridge did come stocked with bacon , eggs , bread etc and the owners also provided a box of Cadbury chocolates , crisps etc . For the luxury price tag , we have stayed in many like holiday homes and come to expect something local and gourmet quality rather than local IGA sourced . So it was a little disappointing . We also like to relax and read and found the lighting to be poor in the second bedroom and lounge . There is also no wifi . Still , the visitors book was dotted with all very positive reviews .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sheree Kent, Agency / Consultant at Eagles Nest Retreat
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Thank you for your feedback and as you stated the overwhelming majority of folks love Nest III, however, we appreciate all feedback as it provides us an opportunity to continue to improve our offerings. We had for some time been thinking our offering of Nest III needed to be more specific to how it was designed and your feedback highlights this to us again. As such we are decreasing the capacity in Nest III and would encourage it to be used by families with kids or just a couple. We have also taken on board your other feedback and where appropriate we speak to our staff. We will continue to highlight the unique aspects of Nest III so guests can decide if it is suitable for their needs. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Colin K wrote a review May 2021
Launceston, Australia3 contributions4 helpful votes
Having booked and stayed in Nest 1 on Saturday the 8th of May for 1 night, would recommend for the views and tranquility. Awesome spot looking straight at Mount Roland.The outdoor spa was awesome, Very disappointed with all the cobwebs on the ceiling and the vertical drapes frames on top were extremely dusty and dirty. Having payed $570 for the night, Was extremely happy with the views and quietness but not worth the price payed.Need a good clean inside even the top of the air con was dusty and dirty, had not been cleaned in a while.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JackieH wrote a review Mar 2021
Australia145 contributions27 helpful votes
I feel very sad to have to write this review about our recent stay at Eagles Nest 1.   We organised our holiday to culminate with 4 nights at Eagles Nest as it had been recommended to us by friends in Launceston. After looking at the website we were happy to book and pay the amount of just over $500 a night for the luxury accommodation.   On arrival at the Nest we were blown away by the absolutely beautiful views of Mount Rolland and the surrounding farm land, there was no doubt that views were simply lovely. We also loved having the spa bath outside.   However when we entered into the nest we were shocked and extremely disappointed with the standard of the accommodation. To be totally honest the whole place looks like it could do with a good clean. I have read that they repainted during COVID but we really couldn’t see this.   We were unable to cook in the oven as it was absolutely filthy. We were unable to sit out on the veranda upstairs for 2 reasons, firstly the inside of the door was covered in cobwebs and spiders, and secondly the outside furniture was also covered in cobwebs. We were shocked at the tea towel that was left for us, we would only have used that as a car rag in our household. We had to wash some glasses before we used them and simply would not use the dirty frying pan and melted tongs The showerheads and the plug hole in the sink upstairs in the bedroom look like they could do with a good clean. As we stayed we noticed that there was significant cobwebs across the Nest and there was a major issue with moths. On our final night we also found a cockroach on the bed upstairs.   I have sent an email and some photos of the things we found to the manager/owner, who said he would forward to his cleaner and get back to us. This was 3 weeks ago, and even with a follow up we have not had a responce.   I know that COVID has been very hard on the hospitality industry as a whole, and we wanted to anything that could support our local community, but they need to do something to clean and update Eagles Nest 1, and we do not believe that the accommodation can possibly be called luxury.  
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Christina S wrote a review Aug 2020
Devonport, Australia274 contributions202 helpful votes
My husband was given a voucher package for two nights with the chef and massages. The owners made it extremely difficult to redeem the voucher which took over 12 months, although admittedly there was a little hiatus because of Covid. We tried to book several times and they were pretty unresponsive and unhelpful. We were told we couldn’t book more than 25 days out from our stay, I guess they wanted to make sure they could get others to stay! I guess they already have the money so don’t care. When we did finally manage to get some “left over” dates (not really what suited us but we basically had to take what was offered), we then had to organise the massages and chef ourselves. Given the amount paid for this package, this should be organised for you. We were advised we would be met by “Des” when we got there, but he didn’t show up. The nest we stayed in (2) was extremely tired and in need of an update. Overall pretty clean but given the views you would expect the windows to be clean. The towels we were given I wouldn’t even wash my dogs in! They left minimal firewood, and the pieces they had were so small it burnt really quickly. Fortunately we found the fire pile outside, but not very relaxing when you have to keep getting new supplies to keep the place warm. We closed the other end of the nest off to try and keep the area we were using warm. We stayed in the African room, which was ok. The bed was comfortable. The bedside light was broken so you risk tripping over in the night. Views were awesome, I’ll grant it that. It’s a bit freaky not having any curtains on the windows. Apart from the lack of privacy, you are woken as soon as the sun comes up. Certainly would be a challenge if you were staying with others. The massages and Chef were awesome, and absolutely worth doing. Overall the whole process of using this gift voucher left a sour taste in our mouths. We were at the point of making a formal complaint before they agreed to some dates for us, still on their terms not ours. I given the amount they charge for a nights accommodation, they seriously need to improve their customer service and amenities. Sorry to go on about the towels, but luxury accommodation should have luxury towels, OMG they were bad!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Des Brown, Owner at Eagles Nest Retreat
Responded Sep 12, 2020
Unfortunately, the Voucher was purchased on terms of a Last-Minute 20 day out booking only. This was the first and last time we will do such a voucher deal as it was not favourable for the user or for us to help them book it. Nest II has been completely repainted and renovated within post-COVID-19 closures.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan L wrote a review Feb 2020
Mount Gambier, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
My fiancé and I stayed at Eagle's Nest I as our final destination for our R&R holiday in Tasmania. Maybe we had too high expectations of what our almost-$500 a night was getting us in terms of the accommodation itself, but while the views were absolutely breathtaking, there was also a pervading sense that Nest I is showing its age. The dual-shower heads in the upstairs bathroom were exceptionally dirty, the paintwork was patchy, several of the lights weren't working and there were cobwebs left undusted. The revolving couch was a quirky feature but upon doing a "test revolution" it was clear that underneath the couch hadn't been cleaned properly with a little pile of dust and dead flies awaiting. We headed upstairs to inspect the hot tub that we had been waiting for (it was most of the reason why we had chosen Nest I) and...we were greeted with a handwritten note saying that the motor had seized. Obviously it can't be helped if that's what happened however, the lack of communication regarding this item is, frankly, poor form - upon calling the caretaker Des, we were told simply that the website had been updated to remove the mention of the upstairs hot tub, and they were in the process of removing it in order to create an upstairs entertainment space - great. Could we have gotten that information via email, perhaps? A phone call? SMS? Just some notification before we were due to arrive would have been fantastic, if we had known about it beforehand without having to keep tabs on the website I would have made contact to make alternative arrangements. As it stands though, while we enjoyed Mt Roland and the surrounding tranquility, the experience at Eagle's Nest I was unfortunately a bit of a sour taste and not the sort of experience we were expecting for the hero piece of our trip to Tasmania.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Des Brown, Owner at Eagles Nest Retreat
Responded Sep 12, 2020
Since this review and the closures of COVID-19 Nest I has been completely repainted inside and a new outdoor Jacuzzi has been installed by the rock gardens.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review Feb 2020
Hobart, Australia6 contributions
+1
Outstanding place to stay. Truly spectacular views, immaculately clean, absolute tranquillity and privacy, simply stunning!! Have never stayed at a more perfect place, and it's unlikely we could top our long weekend away at Eagles Nest II
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaSheffieldWest Kentish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eagles Nest Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Eagles Nest Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Tasmania’s Town of Murals (3.6 miles), Tasmazia & The Village of Lower Crackpot (3.4 miles), and World Of Marbles (3.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Eagles Nest Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Eagles Nest Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Eagles Nest Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Eagles Nest Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Eagles Nest Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blacksmith Gallery Cafe, Mountain Mumma, and Bossimi's Bakehouse & Cafe.
Is Eagles Nest Retreat located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of West Kentish.
Are any cleaning services offered at Eagles Nest Retreat?
Yes, a clothes dryer and a washing machine are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Eagles Nest Retreat?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Wilmot War Memorial (5.0 miles).
Does Eagles Nest Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Eagles Nest Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.