We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Road C15 Mata Mata, Karasburg 9000 Namibia
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (171)
Room & Suite (36)
Dining (7)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Karasburg
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
Travelers' Choice
Eight luxury chalets which are comfortably furnished with a private patio overlooking the Auob Riverbed and the red dunes beyond. Rooms were designed to maximize airflow allowing for natural circulation of air to maintain comfortable temperatures during the hot summers and a well-lighted atmosphere. Each room has en-suite bathroom facilities with a small kitchenette and a share campfire pit between two chalets under the stars.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Mosquito net
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans

Location

Full view
Contact
Road C15 Mata Mata, Karasburg 9000 Namibia
See all nearby hotels
332Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 232
  • 83
  • 12
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ajordaan2022 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
the best service in namibia,on trip back my trailer broke down we call Kalahari game lodge and they came and fix my trailer . the service at lodge and camp side is the best ,the lion drive is a must do and the self drive in game camp is the best . I will go back in the summer with my friends .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Jun 6, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that we were able to assist you with your brake down and look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
S M wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Kalahari Game lodge is situated in the south west, a less visited part of Namibia. It is reached after a long drive through fascinating landscapes and is worth the journey. On arrival you are greeted by friendly staff and welcomed to a well equipped, clean room with sumptuous views, where you can see and soak up the sounds and smells of nature. Springboks and other antelopes graze in front of your patio as the sun sets. Guided drives including to the see the rare desert lions, self guided drives and unlimited walks where you will encounter not only antelopes but many bird species, meerkats and ground squirrels are all available. You can unwind in your room, in the lodge or in/by the swimming pool. A 3 course dinner of delicious, creative food is available and the chefs expertly catered for my food allergies and being vegetarian. Unlike in many establishments, including in Europe, they went out of their way to not only keep me safe but provide exciting, tasty food. Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful weekend.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded May 24, 2022
Dear Guest, On behalf of all the staff members at Kalahari Game Lodge we would like to thank you so very much for this wonderful review. It is words like these that inspires us in our profession. Hope you can visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
walterberndoerfler wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
The campsites are very spacious and clean. They have very nice views. The nearby lodge offers dinner and breakfast and has a nice bar. The staff is very friendly and efficient. I can highly recommend the place.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded May 3, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review of your camping stay experience at Kalahari Game Lodge. We appreciate your positive feedback very much. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
festerelkeundkalle wrote a review Apr 2022
Spring Lake, Michigan1 contribution
Accomodation is very comfortable, staff is helpful, professional and friendly, food is delicious, atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. A place to relax and re charge. We will definitely go back to this beautiful Lodge!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review Your description makes everything sound very enticing - thank you very much for that. We look forward to having you back at the lodge to relax and re-charge again. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
JensWindhoek wrote a review Apr 2022
Windhoek, Namibia110 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed 3 nights on the campsite Luiperd and enjoyed the days with self-guided scenic/gamedrives (and saw a lot including a Cape Cobra and Bat Eared Foxes!) and one morning the lion tracking which was amazing, in my opinion a little bit to close to the lions (to disturb them less) but we saw both prides and they are so majestic animals. The pool was clean, it was quiet and very relaxing. Due to the good rains (we also had the first camping night with rain) there was an awesome contrast with the red dunes, high green gras and the cloudy sky, just perfect!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Apr 26, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and letting us know you enjoyed your stay in our campsite and the use of our facilities and all the great sightings you had. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
cjfernandez55 wrote a review Apr 2022
Murcia, Spain9 contributions
We were a family of four and had an excellent experience, we did the lion tracking, the self drive and stayed at the camping site and chalets. The staff is very friendly and caring. When the Mata Mata border post will be open, it will be even more interesting being able to go to the transnational park for a day trip
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you had an overall enjoyable experience at the lodge. The closure and continuous closure of the Mata Mata border is very unfortunate and we also hope that they will open soon. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
edek0ck wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Excellent camping site and would luv to stay anothrmer night. But fully booked. Will definately visit again. Friendly staff and very helpfull to assist in getting accommodation for next night. Maybe build some more campsites😆
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We would also have loved to have you stay another night - just thankful the campsite is so busy that it was actually filled to capacity. Will think about your suggestion of more campsites ;) Hope you can visit us again soon. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
Afrika200 wrote a review Apr 2022
München, Deutschland103 contributions59 helpful votes
We enjoyed the stay a lot. The camp site was great (solar power would be even better than a donkey). The Lion Tracking was quite focussed. We drove in my opinion too close to the animals. They felt uneasy with the close approach. Food was really nice.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Apr 21, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. At our campsites we did have solar geysers placed at each campsite but in the Kalahari winter and during the rainy season when there is some days without sun they turned out not to be effective at all. We then placed the donkeys boilers as an addition so that these can be used in during the months the solar was not up to the task. Unfortunately our guests could not resist tampering with the setup which split these two unit's waterflow and we had so many complaints of hot water not being available at the campsite that the solar geysers were removed and the donkeys kept as they can at least be used all year round. We would also have preferred to rather use the solar option. On our lion tracking we use one specific game viewer each time and the lions have become so used to this vehicle that it is no longer a distraction for them. As soon as another vehicle is used they become agitated and does the driver not go too close to them. We do respect their space and take their temperament into consideration when doing our lion tracking activity. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
Kuwinamab wrote a review Apr 2022
Windhoek3 contributions
We had a wonderful stay at Kalahari Game Lodge and were welcomed by friendly and helpful personnel! This was definitely one of the most memorable and beautiful lodges we've been to. A beautiful setting on the Auob river. We particularly enjoyed the dinners at night under the clear skies! Lovely wheather! Not cold or too hot. The food and service was outstanding and we really were spoilt! We'll be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Apr 4, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your absolutely wonderful review, we really appreciate all your comments. Hope we can welcome you back to the lodge very soon. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
dso2022 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Unfortunately we could only spend 2 wonderful nights. The lodge is located in a sensational landscape. Directly from the bungalow the animals can be observed. A Lion Tracking Tour is highly recommended (absolutely professional guide - wonderful animals!) The staff was very accommodating and well trained. The food was excellent. We can highly recommend the lodge! Thank you very much for the good time - we will come again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KalahariGameLodge Management, General Manager at Kalahari Game Lodge
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your absolutely wonderful review. We are so happy to be able to provide our services to our guests and when we get results like this it just makes everything worthwhile. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaKaras RegionKarasburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kalahari Game Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Kalahari Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kalahari Game Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a mosquito net.
What food & drink options are available at Kalahari Game Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kalahari Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kalahari Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kalahari Game Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.