We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Brooks Country House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brooks Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent two thoroughly enjoyable nights at this very attractive hotel. We had the last room available and whilst the smallest room it was extremely comfortable and did all we wanted it to. The views from the hotel are superb and the internal areas are extremely attractive too. The dining room/library being a particular treat. However, as elegant as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry R
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here on a Groupon deal for 2 nights on weekend of 19th and 20th August. The view of the hotel up the windy drive is impressive - it's a beautiful house with amazing views. We stayed in Room 2 which was beautiful. A 4 poster bed, view of the garden and a lovely bathroom (such a comfortable bed... More 

Helpful?
Thank sian c
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review so glad you liked your weekend and hope to see you again . Sorry the breakfast was slow we cook everything from scratch rather than a breakfast buffet it means its 100% fresh but sorry you had to wait . Glad you liked the four poster bed and decor and the grounds . Hope you... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After 4 nights camping at the Wilderness Festival, Room 10 was a disappointment. Smaller than expected, as was the bathroom with a cramped shower and no bath. The view was also compromised and I would suggest a netting cover to the bin area to disguise it. That said, I am sure other rooms enjoy better facilities and views. Liked the... More 

Helpful?
Thank yorkshiremade
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Country House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments glad you liked breakfast and most of your dinner . Bigger rooms are available a four poster is £20 extra so if you would like a big space next time we have different options which we highlight on our website with pictures. Sorry it rained when you were there, this week we... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. The food was great, both for Sunday lunch and breakfast with loads of lush local produce. Our room was upgraded to a four poster suite with beautiful views. There is a lovely outdoor pool which was great as it was really hot. Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Katharine C
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came here to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary whilst we were visiting the UK for a funeral. Using a groupon voucher on our last night before flying back to Spain. Our stay included dinner for 2 but we had to have Sunday lunch as there was no evening meal available, which was a shame for us as an evening... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bamford67
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The title of my review really says it all. There has been a lot of investment in this hotel and we were very impressed with the fixtures and fittings which made the venue quite eye catching. The views are beautiful and there is even a nice warm outdoor pool. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is well cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank 216BigAl1958
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked using a Groupon voucher. I'm not proud to hide it either. Booking the room was easy and Callum was very helpful. Our arrival in the sunniest day was delightful. We were shown to our 4 poster room and the views were amazing. The girl on reception ( don't know her name) was really helpful and gave us pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliemd33
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited for an overnight break utilising a groupon voucher. The hotel is quaint, quiet and well set out with everything you could need. I appreciate that it has been recently taken over so 'teething' problems are inevitable. Upon arrival the room was not ready, not a major problem but the staff could have signposted facilities available. I felt the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pjr2200
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for my husbands birthday treat staff were friendly and helpful and the location is lovely close to Hereford and Ross on Wye I can see there have been lots of improvements made, the swimming pool area was lovely although the "small gym" only contained 2 pieces of equipment What was as shame was the lack of attention to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray S
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is set in a beautiful rural location not far from Ross on Wye and within easy travelling distance of Hereford. We found it to be ideal for a few days away from it all. Our room (with a four poster bed) was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was included every morning in the dining room (cereals and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marguerite773
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Country House, responded to this review

thank you for the lovely review hope to see you again soon we also have town house sister properties Brooks Bath Brooks Bristol & Brooks Edinburgh should you fancy a city break instead of a country break next time . Thank you again for choosing us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sellack
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#6 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
3.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Brooks Country House

Address: Pengethley Park, Sellack, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6LL, England (Formerly Pengethley Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye > Sellack
Price Range: $82 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Brooks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ross-On-Wye
Ross-On-Wye Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay