We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel el Moro

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel el Moro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel el Moro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 226: English reviews
Waltham, Massachusetts
Reviewed April 30, 2016

I love this place and come back every time I am in the Yucatan!!! The Taco place (Tacos.com) a few doors down has the best freshest tacos around! Coffee shop in the center of town is fabulous and the small town feel makes you want to stay!!! Rooms are great ~ staff are accommodating and the community is perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnC1969
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed April 22, 2016

the staff and manager were very helpful and accomodating/ The room was exactly as advertised. the garden and pool area was very well maintained. the roof deck was very comfortable and a great place to sit and view the ocean and town. we will make this hotel a part of our plans every year on our way to or from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anne272727
Blowing Rock, North Carolina
Reviewed April 7, 2016 via mobile

This was a brief stay for one night before the fly out from Cancun. This is a darling boutique hotel with full or continental breakfast, pool and great internal garden in the midst of all Puerto Morelos has to offer. We booked on line on the company website to secure the reservation. Only to find that if you walked in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blooms4you
Plymouth
Reviewed April 3, 2016

We've just returned from a two week stay at this lovely hotel, perfectly located for the town and beach, and a few minutes walk from a great selection of good restaurants, all with different attractions. It was recommended to us and booked by our dive centre (Wet Set) and lived up to all our expectations. The gardens and pool area...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank je9341
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed March 27, 2016

The internet booking site didn’t work properly, but we managed to book via email. When we arrived they didn’t find our booking, but it ended up with us being upgraded from a Single Deluxe (which is a double room) to a Junior Suite (which is a double room too). The room was lovely. So was the rest of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EOEST
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear EOEST: I was glad to hear that the reservation problem was solved and that there was a happy end to your experience. We are growing and catching up in technology. We recently installed an online reservation system in our web page and there were some problems that we have solved. Unfortunately, your reservation may have been in that period...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed March 16, 2016

We figure the hotel look good and the room are nice, as soon as we pay the stuff ignore us and did nothing regarding the none working A/C. The mosquito bypass the broken net and gave us full attention. Shower and toilet smell like sewage. For 1200 $MX /night you can get much better that. Breakfast *** WIFI / Internet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank I M
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear I M: Your observations make us review our service procedures and maintenance schedule so that this bad experience do not happen again. We are proud of our friendly, respectful and prompt service to our clients. But it seems that we fail this time. All air conditioned equipment is continuously maintain because we live in a very hot humid environment....

Reviewed March 14, 2016

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is great. The breakfast in the morning is also very nice. The staff was very helpful. I wish we had stayed longer. We plan on going back next year and staying for one week. The garden is also very pretty. We were on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FlowersBoston_MA
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear FlowersBoston_MA: We all at Hotel El Moro are thankful for your review and time to write it. We are happy that our service and rooms were attractive, clean and nice so that you consider to visit us again next year. Indeed Puerto Morelos is growing in services and becoming a unique tourist attraction. Our visitors as you do, appreciate...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Our first stay at the Hotel el Moro and hopefully not the last. When we drove up to the hotel I was pleasantly surprised by the welcoming covered dining area by the entrance. A small bar and kitchen serve drinks and food which was very much appreciated after a morning of travel. Check in was easy and we were surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary8202016
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear mary8202016: Thanks for your time to write a review of our services. We are happy when we meet and/or surpass our guests expectations. We thanks also for your preference and as you suggested, become part of the "Amigos del Moro Club" that unofficially our guests have formed. Indeed and thanks to our friends that visit us every year, it...

New York
Reviewed February 14, 2016

Our room on the 3rd floor was huge, clean, well appointed, and had a water view from our balcony. Israel, one of the owners, is beyond nice and helpful. Having lived in Texas, his English is perfect. There's a lovely thatch covered roof deck with comfortable chairs and ocean views. Wish we could have stayed longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbgNewYork
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear dbgNewYork: We are happy that we exceeded your expectations. From our perspective, there is nothing better than a clean room, a comfortable bed and nice, friendly ambiance for our well deserved vacations. We are glad that you found that place in Hotel El Moro. We hope that you have in the near future some extra time or your visit...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed January 15, 2016

Comfortable room with everything we needed. We got a suite with a kitchen and cooked a few meals easily. It was cleaned spotless each day and the staff were wonderful. Grounds were terrific - with garden sitting area, pool and rooftop. It is one block from a great public beach and they have a beach club. There is an american...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kindkitchen
PomoElmoro, Owner at Hotel el Moro, responded to this review

Dear kindkitchen: Thanks for your review and time to write it. We are happy when our guests find our service up to their expectations. We wait for your next visit when we hope that you can also take advantage of our transportation and tour services to plan and enjoy your vacation in the Riviera Maya. Again, thanks for your time...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (210)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#16 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#18 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
100 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
7,420 reviews
1.9 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
10,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charming hotel with a very laid-back atmosphere, excellent personalized service, comfortable and clean installations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel el Moro

Address: Av. Javier Rojo Gomez | SM-2, M-5, L-17, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico (Formerly Posada el Moro)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $59 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel el Moro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel el Moro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada El Moro Hotel Puerto Morelos
Posada El Moro Puerto Morelos
Hotel El Moro Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel el Moro staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel el Moro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“no elevator so third floor is a good hike up”
 of 5 bubbles annesophie001, 5 days ago | Read review
“No elevator and lots of stairs unless you are on the ground floor, but very doable. Rooms not directly on the street would be a bit quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles BarbNGaryP, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“Master suites face the road, sun comes in early but you have ocean views, better views in third floor master suites.”
  • Sea view from room 14 balcony
  • Room 14
  • Room 14 view master suite top floor
  • Top floor master suite view
  • Room 14, kitchen.
 of 5 bubbles 19Keys, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“The second floor facing the main street was great.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbB1848KJ, Sep 10, 2016 | Read review
“Book early...this is a popular boutique hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Denis-in-Sarnia-Ont, Jul 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay