We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3600 Village Harbor Drive, Bay Harbor, Petoskey, MI 49770
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Lol.travel
Expedia.com
Autograph
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (486)
Room & Suite (251)
Dining (39)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 08/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Updated 08/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Bay Harbor
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.0
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Game room
Golf course
Patio
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
697Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 434
  • 143
  • 66
  • 35
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Travel friendly wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in a two bedroom suite right over the restaurant/wedding area with our son. We paid over $1400 a night for the room with a view of the resort and lake and a separate space for our son. A tent was set up for a Saturday night wedding on Friday which blocked half of our view. The wedding was from approximately 5pm until 11:15 pm. on Saturday. During that time, music blared throughout the resort - blaringly loud. And not any music you’ve heard but rather some unfamiliar music in a foreign language. It was blaring when we were at the pool, blaring while we tried to enjoy dinner at the chophouse and blaring in our room which was right above the wedding. Our room was shaking. We couldn’t sit on our balcony because we couldn’t hear ourselves think and we couldn’t relax on our room. You can’t charge full price for rooms in prime season and then let a wedding basically ruin the experience for everyone else at the hotel. Honestly I was appalled. I asked at the front desk and they said there is a wedding every Saturday night in the summer! The resort is not big enough to hold weddings without disturbing the rest of the resort guests. There should be notice and a significant discount to the exorbitant rates if a wedding is going to ruin the tranquil experience for the rest of the guests. We were extremely disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Schwalm, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Dear Traveler407710000000, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize that this experience was not the relaxing stay you had hoped for. We do have a number of weddings throughout the year but especially during the summer wedding season. We do not tend to get comments or complaints about the noise level of the weddings taking place so again I apologize that this one affected yours. We do have policies in place regarding the level of noise and times when the reception ends. I will share your feedback with our events team to ensure that these policies are monitored more closely. We also do try to place those that are attending the wedding in the areas that are the most affected by them. Unfortunately we aren't always able to do this. We hope that you return in the future. If you do please do not hesitate to reach out to us and we will work on making sure that your reservation placement is away from any possible wedding/reception that may take place during your stay. Again thank you for the feed back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ddan7777 wrote a review Jul 2022
Raleigh, North Carolina1107 contributions388 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favorite
We wanted to stay at a Marriott property for the 4th of July weekend (we are Ambassador level with Marriott), so we tried this "Autograph Collection" resort. We were there for six days. We had a Master Suite, which has a king-sized bed in the bedroom, a couple of hidden beds in the living room (one of which was a Murphy bed), a kitchen, and a balcony. We were originally booked into a room facing the parking lot, but were fortunate enough to get a room facing Little Traverse Bay due to a cancellation. The view of the water makes all the difference, particularly if you are paying a premium price for the room. The hotel is big relative to its surroundings. It looks particularly impressive when you see it from the parking lot. It has a nautical motif, with a big sail-like pole with flags flying from it located in the garden in front of the main entranceway. The interior hotel hallways are wide, well-lit, and clean. While we were there, there was only one customer elevator working, a bit of a challenge for such a big hotel with 5 floors of guests. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful. Annette, one of the cleaning staff, was particularly helpful. We met 2 of the concierges who were able to provide lots of useful information. One of the staff confided that many of the staff work at the hotel seasonally under a program affiliated with the Catholic Church. We met the hotel's Manager, who was both attentive and responsive to our concerns. We did have an issue with guests smoking at the fire pit while children were toasting s'mores. When we asked the front desk to help out, they were less than helpful, but we eventually spoke with the Manager, who promised to address this concern. There is plenty to do. There are hammocks, a fire pit (they offer s'mores at around 5 PM), a swimming pool, lawn games, some nice chairs overlooking the bay, a spa, and a gym. There is also a business center as well as a laundry room in which you do not pay for use of the machines or the laundry soap. When I first arrived, both of the computers in the business center were not working, which I reported to the front desk and which the staff did fix. They offer both self-parking and valet parking. We chose the self-parking. I note that they do not allow you to use the luggage carts to carry your own luggage to your rooms, a porter has to come with you with the carts. Breakfast is included in the room rate. They offered a large selection of cold and hot foods, including an excellent assortment of fresh fruit (e.g., blueberries, raspberries, melon, grapes). Despite offering plentiful fresh fruit, they do not have fresh-squeezed orange juice. Another omission was plant-based protein, such as Beyond Meat products; we asked our waitress about this and she said she would ask the cooks, but we never heard back. We were (pleasantly) surprised to see so many small children at breakfast. Some other guests told us that “kids eat free” (we had a six-year-old in our party, but he was already included because of our Ambassador status). There is a restaurant, The Vintage, in the hotel. We got an order to go for one night, but never ate inside The Vintage. The price for the hotel is relatively high. As the 4th of July is considered peak season, the price per night actually more than doubled from the rate for our first night, June 30. There is, in addition, a resort fee which averaged out to roughly $100/night. While you do get breakfast included with your room rate, which helps, we were a bit surprised that several things at the resort were not included in the rates. For instance, they served hot cookies in the lobby one day but charged $5 for each cookie and none of the spa's services are included. Overall, a physically beautiful hotel with friendly staff and a nice view of the water.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: definitely want to get a room facing the water (Little Traverse Bay)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Young, Marketing at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Hello and thank you for your feedback! We appreciate the detailed account of your stay, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, as well as the beauty and many activities on property! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KokomoTravels wrote a review Aug 2022
Oklahoma96 contributions118 helpful votes
This property gives you a true Florida/Caribbean vibe while also offering 5-star service. As a Marriott Ambassador who typically stays at branded resorts, I was a bit unsure what to expect going into this trip to northern Michigan. Upon arrival, I was blown away by the friendliness of the staff, well-manicured grounds, spacious clean rooms, and amazing sunset views over Little Traverse Bay! The onsite Tesla destination chargers topped it off making this the perfect getaway. Payje at the front desk deserves special recognition as she assisted with my booking and made sure everything for my stay was in order. Tips: - Make reservations and eat at the onsite restaurant “Vintage Chophouse” for dinner. Great steaks with views over the bay. - Book a lake view room. You will not regret it! - Make sure to get the cookies on Friday and Saturday afternoons (4:00 P.M.) at the front desk - Take a walk down the beach and into Bay Harbor (10 minute walk). Nice little shopping/dining area along with many boats.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Lake view 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mom to many wrote a review Jul 2022
Toronto, Canada96 contributions69 helpful votes
From the moment we checked in and throughout our 4 days here, we were beyond impressed! The service was outstanding- friendly, organized, customer focused . . . Truly amazing! The room was gorgeous, spotless and well stocked with towels, robes, wine glasses etc. Super comfy bed and great pillows. The breakfast - OMG unbelievable. Fresh fruits, omelette station, huge variety of delicious breakfast foods, great coffee, and so many friendly servers. Beach is lovely. Grounds are stunning. Clean public areas, bathrooms and hallways. Exceptionally clean. Honestly a great place highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Young, Marketing at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful staff. We appreciate you sharing all the great aspects of your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again next time you're in the area!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MillenniumFlyer wrote a review Jul 2022
New York6 contributions7 helpful votes
I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Inn at Bay Harbor to celebrate an anniversary with my girlfriend. To say that our trip was incredible would be an understatement. From the moment we arrived, we were blown away by the unspeakable beauty of this resort, and well as the gorgeous rooms and impeccable service. As a Bonvoy Titanium Elite member, I was fortunate enough to be upgraded to a room facing the lake. The views were simply majestic, and we spent a great deal of time on the rocking chairs on our balcony enjoying the magnificent vistas of Lake Michigan. The breakfast buffet was in a class of its own, and the many games and activities, including roasting s'mores over the fire pit, made for an experience my girlfriend and I will never forget. In an area filled largely with independent hotels, this Autograph Collection property was perfect for a Marriott loyalist like me. I'd like to extend a special thanks to GM/President Mike Costello and Assistant Front Office Manager Daniel Kim, who ensured that our stay was everything we dreamed of. The Inn at Bay Harbor is undoubtedly a property to which I will soon be returning. It is truly one of the most memorable hotels I've stayed at, and unequivocally receives five stars.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Young, Marketing at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Responded Aug 4, 2022
Wow, thank you so much for for extremely kind words, and for sharing your experience with us! We're honored that you chose us for your celebration, and we're thrilled to hear that you and your girlfriend had a wonderful time together. We will be sure to share with our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark K wrote a review Jun 2022
Geneva, Illinois56 contributions20 helpful votes
This property is spectacular but outdone by one of the staff, Payje Tanner. Sometimes, okay, maybe often, frequent travelers like me expect too much. But this was truly a special occasion and Payje made the stay at the Inn truly special! Now for the details. Rooms are spacious and appointed with comfy beds and furniture. If you have a lake view, which I suggest, you will be mesmerized by the beautiful lake. It’s worth the extra dollars, trust me. The grounds are immaculate. The pool is clean and hopping with activity. The restaurant was very good too, although our experience was limited to breakfast. Overall, I highly recommend. And if you are lucky enough to interact with Payje, she will make your day!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebecca Young, Marketing at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Responded Jul 6, 2022
Mark, we're so sorry for the delay, but so thrilled to hear your kind words! We'll definitely be sure to pass your comments on to our team, we love having Payje here with us! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to serving you again next time you're in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chiili wrote a review Jun 2022
Davis, California575 contributions308 helpful votes
Staff is great and the view from the rooms is fantastic. We had a king suite but furniture is old and carpet is old. The baseboard on the bed is dangerous as both my husband and I have bruises on our legs from always hitting them on the corners. We had to out a pillow on the corners to prevent from get bruised. The little kitchen is nice. However, do not order room service, the breakfast was horrible. A total waste of money. The potatoes are deep fried and have way to much salt and something to make them red. The bacon was probably cooked two hours before and the scrambled eggs were cold. Now that Marriott has purchased this hotel, I hope they can upgrade this beautiful old hotel and make it wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Schwalm, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Thank you Chiili for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. All of our guest rooms have been renovated within the last 5 years. I apologize that the room you were in appeared old/worn. If you would like to share with us which room you were in I'd be happy to have this inspected to make sure we take care of any issues that were present. You can reach out to me directly here at the Inn. I also apologize that room service was not as good as you were expecting. We traditionally don't hear comments like this regarding breakfast or our room service. I have shared the comments with our director of food and beverage, as well as, our executive chef so that they may investigate the issue. They did share with me that the potatoes have an herb blend that includes paprika on them which may have made them the red color. We have been part of the Marriott family for about 20 years and we work with them continuously to improve our product for our guests. Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff and the views.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Idi0tsAbr0ad wrote a review Jun 2022
Bargoed, United Kingdom140 contributions70 helpful votes
We were treated to a 2 night stay at this hotel and its very impressive. The staff are courteous and helpful especially the valet and concierge staff. Beautiful rooms with great views over the harbour where you can watch an uninterrupted setting of the sun each night, which is spectacular. Located near to Petowsky, golf courses and other shops, it's a great location. Rooms were very big and had everything you need. We used the Vintage restaurant on one evening, the staff were nice although one server was a bit over the top with the pleasantries which became a bit annoying. I would recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bakingqueen01 wrote a review May 2022
10 contributions2 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I wanted to get away before the summer season started and when we got there a wedding party was setting up. They took over the grounds and no matter where you went you were looked at like “why are you here” no fire pits to sit at they took those over, the outside food area was taken over and the worst part was music played till almost 11:30! Not sure how anyone else would feel but the least they can do is tell people when they get a reservation “a wedding will be here and you will be treated like a second class citizen”!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alison Schwalm, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Responded May 19, 2022
We appreciate the feedback regarding your weekend stay with us. The wedding event took place on Saturday. They held the reception in a space dedicated to events. the outdoor dining patio for our restaurant has not opened for the season yet. Reservations were available in Vintage which was not part of the event space. We apologize for any disturbance due to the entertainment at the event. The DJ for this group was done playing music at around 11pm (which is the time all events are to conclude here at the Inn) and was gone from the facility by 11:30. The group themselves left the hotel just after 11pm for another event they were holding off property. The outdoor fire pit is available for any and all guests of the hotel on a first come basis. We're please our front desk team provided consideration to you for Saturday evening of the event.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
doug2110 wrote a review Apr 2022
Kenosha, Wisconsin81 contributions42 helpful votes
The nicest hotel I have stayed at in a decade. Beautiful views of Lake Michigan. Great food great staff. Staff went out of there way to make my wife a salmon pouched omelette. Close to harbor springs close to charlevoix. Some much to do can’t wait to go back and be spolied
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All of the restaurants are filled at 7. Make reservations
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$264 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at bay harbor - a renaissance golf hotel petoskey, hotel at bay harbor, resort at bay harbor, renaissance petoskey, petoskey renaissance
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Inn at Bay Harbor - A Renaissance Golf Resort
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganEmmet CountyPetoskeyBay Harbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
107
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Harbor Springs Lyric Theatre (4.5 miles), Little Traverse Wheelway (2.9 miles), and Historic Gaslight District (2.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tom's Mom's Cookies, Julienne Tomatoes, and POUR Kitchen & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Bay Harbor.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Inn at Bay Harbor, Autograph Collection have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.