We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mabula Game Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mabula Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mabula Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 330: English reviews
Waterberg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

Overall we love Mabula and have been going there for years. Accomodation is clean and spacious, many game drives are offered with knowledgeable guides, the service is excellent. The pool and setting are so relaxing. Good Value for the range of services you get. We gave them one or two suggestions to improve the meat selection at dinner but otherwise... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janineg598
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear janineg598 - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit. Thank you also for the constructive feedback about your dining experience - much appreciated. More 

Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

The 'safari' game drives were excellent with a drinks/coffee break a welcome surprise. Our accommodation was also very good. We had a double room on the outskirts of the lodge with a view into the bush which afforded privacy. Mention must also be made of the staff - both the staff in the dining area who were readily available to... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JeanneB44
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear JeanneB44 – Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We’re very glad to hear that you loved your game drives, but we wanted to apologise for your disappointment when it came to the dining experience. Your constructive feedback will be used immediately as part of our ongoing training programmes to ensure that the chefs and kitchen team... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

Our game ranger, Sam, was excellent, but otherwise everything about Mabula was very disappointing. This lodge does not operate according to the 4 star grading. Like many of the reviewers before me, I too found the food to be of poor quality, catering for bus loads of foreign tourists - you had to push your way to get something, whatever... More 

Helpful?
Thank RCrwg
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear RCrwg – Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Mabula Game Lodge. While we’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your game drives, we are disappointed that several other aspects of your Mabula experience did not live up to your expectations. Our chefs aim each day to create a wide selection... More 

Waterberg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

We stayed in the Family unit, and had a wonderful stay. Two game drives per day, as well as all the meals were included. All the staff were friendly and the food was good, with something for everyone. The room was clean on arrival, and kept clean by the staff during our stay. The game drives were very good with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 8guesth
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear 8guesth - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, including all the different activities on offer, and we very much hope you will return soon. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2016

Apart from the game drives, our Mabula experience was a disappointment. The whole impression is one of a commercialised sausage machine. Our room, although comfortable, was much smaller than those pictured on the website, had no furniture on the small patio which also had no outlook to speak of. There was also loud music blaring for hours each evening. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Quiddity
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Quiddity – Thank you for taking the time to review your Mabula Game Lodge experience on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that in some aspects your stay did not live up to your expectations, and we would like to sincerely apologise for that. We are also urgently reviewing our marketing materials to make sure that they give an... More 

Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2016

We had a lot of fun at the Mabula Private Game Reserve. The rangers were friendly and very knowledgeable. Our ranger, Francis, shared his extensive knowledge of how the animals behaved and also his great sense of humor. We had a nice room close to the main lodge with a thatched roof but a clean well maintained room inside. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank CapeCarl
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear CapeCarl - Thank you for taking the time to share your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, especially the accommodation and game drives. Thank you also for your feedback on the food offering. Our aim is to provide a wide range of choices to suit all tastes and we're sorry... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

Fantastic bush experience! Very friendly staff Stunning buffets,all meals Value for money Neat,tidy Great game drives,personalized room reminders! Great spa,treatments,swimming pools Good housekeeping,BBQ opportunities

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travelfoxx2016
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Travelfoxx2016 - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

My husband and I wanted a romantic weekend break in a luxury lodge to celebrate our birthdays. We were sadly disappointed. Our room was nicely furnished, but without the patio to relax on that was mentioned on the website. The shower tap was out of order and the rooms are so close together that you can hear your neighbour snoring.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette B
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lynette B – Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are naturally disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience, and we would like to apologise for your weekend not being what you had hoped it would be. With regards to the meals, our chefs prepare a range of dishes... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

I arrived today at Mabula game lodge. A place that we visited frequently while the children were still at school. It has always been a special place for us, but this visit started in a very unpleasant way. I reserved a six sleeper unit thus being entitled to have 4 guests together with my wife and I. However, we decided... More 

Helpful?
Thank Japie V
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Japie V - Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. While we are naturally disappointed that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay, it seems that you stayed at Mabula as a Timeshare guest and as this TripAdvisor page is for Mabula Game Lodge only, unfortunately we are not able to comment.... More 

Waterberg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016

Great weekend away with the family, really good with the kids. Food was good, rangers were very informative, and took time with the young kids. only 2,5 hours drive from JHB, so not too long a drive for the kids.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brett_corlett
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Mabula Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear brett_corlett - Thank you for sharing your Mabula Game Lodge experience. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your family break away from Johannesburg and we hope you will visit again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

411 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (399)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (212)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabula Private Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
856.8 mi away
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
Kwafubesi Tented Safari Camp
#3 of 5 in Mabula Private Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
16.3 mi away
Ditholo Game Lodge
Ditholo Game Lodge
#8 of 42 in Bela Bela
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
Zebula Golf Estate & Spa
#7 of 42 in Bela Bela
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
10.2 mi away
Itaga Luxury Private Game Lodge
65.7 mi away
Black Rhino Game Lodge
Black Rhino Game Lodge
#3 of 13 in Pilanesberg National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set against a backdrop of lush green mountainous vegetation, Mabula Game Lodge is set in one of South Africa's finest private game reserves. Only two hours north of Johannesburg, this 12000ha reserve is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife, including the "Big 5." All 47 rooms are air-conditioned, contain LCD flat-screen television, en-suite bathroom, telephone, hair dryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Dining venues, outdoor cocktail and whiskey bar, swimming pools, tennis court, children's programme, safaris in open 4x4 vehicles, horseback safaris, archery, paintball, star gazing, eco adventure safaris, guided bush walks, crocodile feeding demonstrations, snake demonstrations and the Ground Hornbill Project and reptile centre. Mabula can assist with all conference requirements, including venues, informal breakaway rooms, private dining facilities and team building activities. Children 0-5 stay complimentary when sharing with parent; 6-11 years pay 50% of the adult sharing rate. 12 years and older pay full adult rate and occupy their own rooms. The lodge is situated in a malaria-free area. Gate entry fees are applicable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mabula Game Lodge

Address: Rhenosterhoek Spruit Road, Mabula Private Game Reserve 0480, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Mabula Private Game Reserve
Price Range: $170 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mabula Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mabula Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabula Game Hotel Mabula Private Game Reserve
Mabula Game Lodge Mabula Private Game Reserve, Limpopo, South Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay