We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
Alcester Rd Stratford Upon Avon, Billesley, Alcester B49 6NF England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tripadvisor$99
Hotels.com
Priceline
Travelocity$109
ZenHotels.com$125
Agoda.com$99
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (467)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (52)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 06/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Updated 06/21/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Travelers' Choice
Newly refurbished to a very high standard , Billesley Manor is set in 11 acres of stunning parkland and manicured gardens, Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa is a stunning 16th century Elizabethan manor house. Located just 3 miles from Shakespeare’s Stratford-upon-Avon, this historic property is steeped in history and charm. Once referenced in the Domesday Book, the grounds feature an 11th century church and an ornate topiary garden, which was planted 125 years ago to replicate a chess board. Bedrooms combine traditional character with 21st century luxuries, options include a variety within the manor house or Cedar barns. The Stuart Restaurants and Great Hall offer the perfect backdrop for dinner with oak panelling, original fireplaces, first class food and attentive service. The Spa has everything you need to unwind and keep fit, relax in the beauty rooms and take advantage of the extensive range of Decleor therapy. When you spend the night at Billesley, you are sleeping where several, significant historical events occurred. It was here that Shakespeare put ink to paper and wrote sonnet ‘As You Like It’ and his granddaughter wed and it is reputed that he did too when he married Anne Hathaway. Enjoy all that Billesley Manor has to offer in this stunning setting.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Badminton
Tennis court
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hungarian, Italian and 3 more
861Reviews33Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 552
  • 171
  • 81
  • 34
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Daphne H wrote a review Sep 22
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Very impressive. Welcoming and efficient staff. Very spacious and comfortable room, well appointed. Nice big towels in bathroom. Good section of toiletries. Bar staff helpful and knowledgeable. Dinner menu not extensive but with interesting selection of dishes. Presentation and flavour very good. Extensive grounds with some interesting features. Plenty of comfortable seating areas both inside and out. Definitely a place I would like to re-visit and I would also recommend to others. Very quiet and tucked away but within easy reach of Stratford-upon-Avon and other places of interest.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Overlooking topiary garden
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guests, Thank you for submitting this fantasic review. We are delighted to read such lovely feedback The team here will all be thrilled when I share this feedback with them shortly. We all hope to see you again very soon and thank you again. Kindest Regards, Stephen and the team at Billesley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amanda M wrote a review Sep 22
1 contribution
It is disappointing to leave an unfavourable review on such a beautiful building. We have just returned from a two night stay in a very small cobwebby room, very noisy, with a view of industrial equipment, even the robes were tatty and worn! Unfortunately we used a Virgin experience gift to stay here, at no time were we offered an upgrade for which we would have paid extra. We only ate in the restaurant on one evening but even though that wasn’t included and we were paying extra, our meals were disappointing and undercooked. Not all menu choices were available. Our overall recent experience would not encourage us to ‘upgrade’ and stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Amanda, Thank you for this very constructive feedback which is gratefully received but very sorry you had need to share it with me, rest assured action is being taken as a result of your findings - I am so sorry! I will be discussing your findings with the housekeeping manager as cobwebs and poor quality robes is not acceptable, We are working hard to improve all our touch points but really dissapointed that some areas were not hitting the mark, Sincere apologies again for the issues that arose, Sincerely, Stephen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicky wrote a review Sep 21
Monmouth, United Kingdom46 contributions45 helpful votes
Loved our stay , luxury superior double bedroom was worth every penny . Very comfy bed, and pleased to have an expresso machine and a fridge in room. Breakfast and dinner food was exceptional. Hotel staff in dining room and the Concierge were very efficient and we complimented them as food after ordering was well managed considering how busy the hotel was on 16 th September. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular. We didnt use the Spa facilities but will do this next time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests , Thank you for submitting this fantastic 5 star review. We are delighted to read such lovely feedback. The team will all be very happy when I share this feedback with them shortly. We all hope to see you again very soon and thank you again. Kindest Regards, Stephen and the team at Billesley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alt2007 wrote a review Sep 21
Taunton, United Kingdom51 contributions13 helpful votes
My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at this hotel. The building and grounds are stunning with many period features. There are outside activities you can do as well. Inside the building has been decorated very well, with a really warming and welcoming feel to it. There are plenty of different areas to sit down to relax, read a book or to have a drink. Our room overlooked the gardens which was just lovely. The beds were really comfortable and a good decent sized room. The staff are all really lovely and friendly and always smiling and happy to help! We saw a lot of them at least twice during our visit and they remembered us which was lovely. The main chap in the bar was brilliant! The food in the restaurant although small, was lovely - quality over quantity for sure and all homemade. We looked at the spa, which we found the treatment prices to be quite expensive, so we didn't have a treatment. We used the sauna which was saying 25 degrees so wasnt as hot as we would have expected it to be; the steam room was broken which we were told about and the swimming pool, well that was freezing cold compared to what a spa swimming pool should be. The swimming pool appeared dirty with what looked like blocked filters and dirt in the corner. Spas should feel warm, however this spa environment was colder than outside, so we only spent about 15 mins in total in the spa area. Putting the spa aside, this hotel is a beautiful place to just relax and chill out, with Stratford Town centre around 15 minutes away.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests, Thank you for submitting this super 5 star review. We are delighted to read such constructive positivity which will be actioned with the teams. We all hope to see you again very soon and thank you again. Kindest Regards, Stephen and the team at Billesley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
thegrumpys wrote a review Sep 20
Nottingham, United Kingdom78 contributions68 helpful votes
The hotel hit all the right notes facility wise. The outstanding element was the staff. At all levels they were unfailingly pleasant and engaging. In many cases, staff are perfunctory and stick to a script. Definitely not the case here. They are a credit to the hotel and engaging with people as well as listening and helping makes the biggest difference to enhancing your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Guests Thank you for submitting this fabulous review. The whole team will be thrilled when I share this feedback with them shortly, I totally agree that our team really are outstanding, We all hope to see you again very soon and thank you again. Kindest Regards, Stephen and the team at Billesley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilary R wrote a review Sep 20
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellent service and very friendly staff in hotel and spa areas. Enjoyed experience of the historic rooms and gardens. Tried the pool/ sauna and steam room , all good - both of us had an excellent massage. Room a little tired and needs a lick of paint in parts but beds really comfortable and all clean.Thumbs up for the stay here, very relaxed visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Hilary , Thank you for submitting this super 5 star review. We are thrilled to read such great feedback. Team Billesley Manor will all be extreemly happy when I share this feedback with them shortly. We all hope to see you again very soon and thank you again. Kindest Regards, Stephen and the team at Billesley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pulley2018 wrote a review Sep 20
Coleshill, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
The hotel was beautiful, full of character. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food was very good, especially breakfast. The gardens are lovely, well maintained, the topiary was interesting. We got lost in the hotel a few times, despite being given a map (which we'd left in our room!) and managed to find three different ways back to reception. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if there are any mobility problems as there are lots of stairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guests, Thank you for submitting this stunning 5 star review. We are delighted to read such wonderful feedback, The whole team will all be really happy when I share this feedback with them shortly. We all hope to see you again very soon and thank you again. Kindest Regards, Stephen and the team at Billesley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew wrote a review Sep 19
London, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
I would have loved to have left a better review of Billesley Manor, as the location and rooms were all beautiful, but the entire experience was ruined for us by the service my partner and I received at dinner on the first night. After being seated our server told my partner that because she had asked for a glass of champagne while she looked at the menu that she would "loose her place", despite us having a reservation and being in plenty of time. She wouldn't even repeat what she had said to me, and even repeated the statement to my partner before walking away. Feeling rushed to make a choice ruined the entire meal and soured our entire experience from then onward. The only apologies we received when we complained left us feeling that we had simply misunderstood the server's sense of humour, which would have only been possible if her tone or statement had been remotely humorous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guests, Thank you for this very constructive feedback which is gratefully received but very sorry you had need to share it with me, I will be discussing the interactions that you had with the member of the team as I know she did not mean to be rude and was endeavouring at humour that failed on this occasion - I and I know she will be/are very sorry! Sincere apologies for the issues that arose, Kindest Regards, Stephen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayne D wrote a review Sep 19
Townsville, Australia266 contributions99 helpful votes
When you pay £230 a night for bed and breakfast you expect something out of the ordinary. I am sorry to say that our stay didn’t represent value for money. Whilst the hotel was full of historic splendour, with friendly staff and a warming greeting the rooms were not luxurious 5 star with bathrooms only representing standard and not class. During our evening meal, one of our party was missed from the order and as such we had all finished our mains when that meal arrived. This was rectified with a discount and apologies but it still spoilt the evening. One breakfast hot chocolate was free, the next we paid. Some staff lacked in experience, some of the breakfast buffet looked undercooked and uninspiring. Finally, be prepared to walk up narrow stairs if you are on the second floor, without a handrail.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Jayne, Thank you for this constructive feedback, We are so sorry you had need to share it and rest assured the senior team will be briefed on your findings and we will ensure we improve in the areas mentioned. The room you stayed in will be fully refurbished in January but I will ensure it is improved straight away. We are actually not a 5 star hotel but your points will be actioned just the same including the dining errors/dissatisfaction, All our staircases indeed do have handrails but due to the historic nature we are unable, sadly, to instal lifts. Kindest regards and so sorry again, Stephen Stephen Fearnley FIH General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lorraine W wrote a review Sep 18
1 contribution
We thoroughly enjoyed our four days here. The hotel and grounds are well kept, our bedroom was gorgeous, bathroom spacious with its twin sinks and mirrors, and the food was well presented and tasty (although small portions a la carte, it was surprisingly filling). We used the spa which was not too busy when we used it and found it clean and relaxing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephen Fearnley, General Manager at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lorraine, Thank you for submitting this super 5 star review. We are delighted to read such constructive positivity. The Billesley team will all be delighted when I share this feedback with them shortly. We all hope to see you again very soon and thank you again. Kindest Regards, Stephen and the team at Billesley
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo stratford upon avon, stratford upon avon barcelo, billesley manor hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWarwickshireAlcesterBillesley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
71
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Escape Live Stratford-upon-Avon (3.4 miles), Stratford Minigolf (3.7 miles), and The Attic Theatre (3.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cork & Tile Portuguese, Plantarium Cafe, and Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Billesley.
Are any cleaning services offered at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Billesley Manor Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.