We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Durbeyfield Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Durbeyfield Guest House
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 74: English reviews
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had such a great stay. Lovely rooms, lots of light, comfortable beds - huge bathrooms. Huge delicious full English for breakfast included in the price. Wonderful hosts and round the corner from a gorgeous beach, couldn't wish for better. The value for money is next to none, for those fed up with sudo 'boutique' hotels which offer nothing bur... More 

Helpful?
Thank vpf_tell
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last night as I am walking the South West Coast Path. I found the Durbeyfield very nice and just what I expected from a "seaside type pub". Yes the place is old, but that is part of its character. I was in Room 6 which had a large bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank MinnieKerikeri
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

If you are walking the SWCP, by the time you get to the room, you really want to close your eyes and sleep. Perfect. There isn't much worth staying awake for. The whole place is a bit ragged around the edges. The bathroom was about 3.5 feet wide and about 12 feet long. So in order to get into the... More 

Helpful?
Thank LongWalker2016
lindseyblair2016, Owner at Durbeyfield Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The room that you were allocated was dictated by the price the agency who booked for you wanted to pay. As you are aware we have other rooms with large bathrooms baths and showers but at a higher price. It is not necessary to go through the bar to reach the accommodation and you could... More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2016

I stayed at Durbeyfield guest house for 1 night while walking the SWCP. If you are walking and just need a place to rest your head for the night then this place will suffice. I was in room 9 and can only comment on that room. The décor was awful. The room did have a small en suite. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve A
lindseyblair2016, Owner at Durbeyfield Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not like our red and black decor - we thought it was quite a masculine colour scheme! You will recall that we were fully booked when you enquired about a room with the exception of room 9 which you were told had a very small shower room but was all... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

Tourist office in bridport booked for me telling me it was lovely, completely the opposite. I've stayed in some very basic accommodation but this was below being acceptable. I stayed in the room long enough to find another place to stay. Water in the room was orange/brown, dirty carpets or just really old, dirt/crumbs on seats, tv remote control was... More 

Helpful?
Thank kellsee7
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016 via mobile

The Durbeyfield Guest House has everything needed by the Costal Path Walker. It wasn't clear to me but the location is the same as the bar which serves good beer and hearty food. The location is excellent - only yards from the beech and we were lucky enough to be looked after by the charming but professional Charlotte. It appears... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

We read reviews on this b&b and thought, people like to have a moan!!! We'll go. The bay is a beautiful place and it doesn't really matter where you are, so long as you can get to the bay. I made an over the phone booking and a room was available, the last one. What luck!! Or not!! It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jane c
Lindsey B, Owner at Durbeyfield Guest House, responded to this review

I am very concerned about this review. I understand that the booking was made last minute and it was explained that this was the last available room and that it had only a small en suite shower room and was being refurbished. The caller confirmed this was fine. When shown up to the room they made no comment at all... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

Great value for families or business users, clean functional ,hearty breakfasts, great bar, free house, frequented by discerning locals keen to avoid the mediocre beer served nearby,I doubt David Tennant stayed here during filming of Broadchurch, however if not looking for boutique and trendy, this is a place I recommend and will use again.

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

The thing about larger Bed & Breakfast's or guest Houses is that there is less pride in what is offered. Room 2 had great bathroom because it had a bath but was above the bar and was therefore rather noisy. Breakfast was workable but not remotely special. West Bay is rather run down and this B & B, which I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alasdair R
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

We were in West Bay visiting some friends and enquired about a room so we could stay the night. It is beautiful building but is starting to look a little tired now inside and could do with a little spruce up to freshen it up a bit. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenga1985
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bay
0.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 11 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#9 of 11 in Bridport
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hensleigh House
Hensleigh House
#1 of 2 in Charmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in West Bexington
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Durbeyfield Guest House

Address: 10 West Bay, West Bay, Bridport DT6 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bridport > West Bay
Price Range: $63 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durbeyfield Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing