We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Theatre Royal Hotel

Save
Share
81 Seddon Street, Kumara 7832 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (121)
Dining (19)
Room & Suite (14)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kumara
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Theatre Royal has been lovingly restored and now features six themed rooms with adjoining en-suites. Five rooms are upstairs whilst one accessible room is located downstairs. Each room is unique, featuring a blend of Victorian decor and antique furnishings, while featuring all the modern amenities you would expect from a great hotel. The hotel includes a great restaurant and cafe, with your favorite West Coast brewed beers as well as a fine selection of wines and spirits.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
326Reviews0Q+A70Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 233
  • 68
  • 17
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kevalanis wrote a review Dec 2021
Greymouth, New Zealand15 contributions1 helpful vote
Ordered the venison pie, chips and salad. I was initially enjoying as it was hot on the outside, but I soon found out it was stone cold (as in fridge cold) in the middle. Put me off really so didn't take up the offer to have it reheated. Polite staff but no refund offered.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Kevalanis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Your feedback is very important to us. I'm very sorry to hear that your lunch was cold. If you did not accept a replacement meal we should have certainly offered you a refund. I am very sorry that this did not happen on this occasion. Please send an email to our address info@theatreroyalhotel.co.nz so that I can rectify this situation. Once again thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Ripley Fidler, hotel manager
Read more
Tarn W wrote a review Dec 2021
Te Anau, New Zealand10 contributions
We stayed here while biking the Wilderness Trail. Only biked from Paroa so not a big day but side tracked to Kumara Beach to fill in some time. Quite a neat place to stay, in keeping with the era. Lock up shed for bikes, good food for dinner and good breakfast. We spent the afternoon looking round the historic sites of Kumara so this hotel very central to do this.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded Dec 6, 2021
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we appreciate it!
Read more
ingridh173 wrote a review Nov 2021
Nelson, New Zealand117 contributions42 helpful votes
At the recommendation of Kate at the nearby Greenstone Retreat, we went here for dinner. We both ordered the Wednesday special of pan-fried fish with cajun potatoes. It was by far the best fish meal I have eaten in a restaurant. Top marks to the kitchen staff. The waitress also did a commendable job, and was attentive and efficient. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded Dec 5, 2021
Hi ingridh173, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and the service of our staff. I will pass your feedback onto the team. The chef will be especially proud. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Getaway76655 wrote a review Nov 2021
9 contributions1 helpful vote
We were met at reception by the gorgeous Celia, for whom nothing was too much trouble. The replica miners cottage was such a treat. Superb king sized bed, wonderfully relaxing claw foot bath after a wet day on my cycle . Wonderful food. My cycle week cared for in the shed. Washing machine & dryer (no charge) a real bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Other at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded Dec 6, 2021
Thanks so much for writing such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Read more
Pam W wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We recently stayed at the Theatre Royal Hotel Kumara for three nights. We had such an enjoyable experience, and found the accommodation very comfortable, staying in one of the houses across the road, where each bedroom had its own ensuite. Other choices were the miners cottages, the Bank of New Zealand, or the beautifully restored upstairs ensuited bedrooms in the hotel. The wonderful hosts Kerrie and Mark were very informative of the history of the coast, and Kerrie made our stay so special which we really appreciated. I’m looking forward to staying again in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Theatre Royal, Guest Services / Front Office at Theatre Royal Hotel
Responded Nov 14, 2021
Hi PamW1787, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It's so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Theatre Royal Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionKumara
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Theatre Royal Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Theatre Royal Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Theatre Royal Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Theatre Royal Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Theatre Royal Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Honey Cafe & Honey Center, Prospectors Fish & Chips, and Jet Art and Craft Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Theatre Royal Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Shantytown Heritage Park (6.7 miles).
Is Theatre Royal Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.