We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rua Enestina Pereira 401 Praia de Pontal de Maceio, Fortim, State of Ceara 62815-000 Brazil
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (800)
Pool & Beach (149)
Videos (2)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Vila Selvagem
Updated 06/26/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 in Fortim
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.7
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
Charm, luxury and comfort: these words perfectly sum up the concept of the Vila Selvagem. Designed to satisfy a demanding clientele, the hotel is situated on a nice romantic beach, in the quiet wilderness of the place.Surrounded by the pristine sand dunes and the turquoise colored ocean, the hotel perfectly fits in with the picturesque landscape of Pontal of Maceio, a small fishing village located in Fortim, 135 km from Fortaleza, the capital of the Ceara State (Northeast of Brazil).In this rejuvenating atmosphere, enjoying the beauty of the place and the variety of walks and sports activities offered by the region, the guests of the Vila Selvagem make the most of a holiday combining relaxation and emotions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Windsurfing
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Fishing
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
French, Portuguese

Location

Full view
58Somewhat walkable
Grade: 58 out of 100
12Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
1Attractionwithin 0.75 miles
731Reviews5Q+A12Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 538
  • 157
  • 27
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
fabiola c wrote a review Oct 2021
Zurich, Switzerland11 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at rooms 103 and 106. The toilet at room 103 was clogged. There were water leaks in both rooms. The mattress cover under the bed at room 106 was teared. Rooms were clean, but stains on walls revealed lack of care and attention to details. Food was terrible, very oily, and even a burned tempura was served to us. We returned the dish. and the cook (the French chef marketed as a differential was not in during our stay) didn’t even had the courtesy of coming to our table to apologize. In fact our waitress communicated our dissatisfaction to the cook, and we were told by her that the meal could be replaced, but the cook would not talk with us… and had we not checked a restaurant bill for a glass of juice asked after this incident, we would have paid BRL 350 - approx. Eur 53 - for it!(apparently we received a bill from another guest). The French chef passed by next day to apologize. Waiters and reception were kind and tried to make up for the overall lack of professionalism and maintenance issues. Management offered a discount in our check out bill and a massage to compensate for our disappointment. The massage was included in our check out bill and excluded upon request. In short, nature surrounding the hotel is gorgeous, staff is kind, with the exception of the cook, but maintenance in the rooms is poor, food is terrible and services are unprofessional. Overall standards are low and definitely not compatible with the hotel rankings and price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Layla Amarante, Marketing at Hotel Vila Selvagem
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Dear Ms. Fabiola, First of all, thanks for taking the time on TripAdvisor to rate us. Please note that we were very surprised to discover your opinion. However, the feedback from our customers is essential for us to know our points to be developed, as we always seek to show excellence in hospitality. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations and for the setbacks faced. We believe that only with genuine feedback from our Guests, we can celebrate our successes and improve our services. So, we thank you for your concern in reporting your experience to us. We hope to have the opportunity to receive you again and reverse your negative image about Vila Selvagem. Aline Freitas, Hosting manager.
Read more
Josephine S wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
After scrambling to find a warm beach during the freak cold snap in Brazil, I landed on FORTIM, a tiny town 1.45 hours outside of Fortaleza. The town is small and walkable but this hotel is a gem - grounds are expansive and right on the beach - a must for the area. Two pools and 2 bars and restaurants with lovely public spaces, plus beach service and a spa makes for a true resort experience. The pools are immaculate and the rooms lovely - great bath amenities, WiFi, AC and best of all - quiet! Sure the beach front rooms are best but all are dynamite. The manager Luiz, speaks the most English so it is helpful if you need something you cannot communicate in Portuguese. Luiz is a true manager - service exceeded expectations on all points going above and beyond to ensure our experience was top notch - he also arranged a fabulous buggy tour plus airport transfer during our stay. The bartender at the pool was also awesome and the pools were never crowded which was another plus. Breakfast is included, which was plentiful but the food overall needs a bit of “snazz” - for the price and quality of the resort a small adjustment to selection and quality would make this resort 6 stars. That being said the food was not bad by any means, just could use a bit of an upgrade to include healthy options / lighter fare. My only regret is leaving this lovely place - thank you Vila S!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luiz Eduardo Barretto, Gerente geral at Hotel Vila Selvagem
Responded Aug 7, 2021
Dear Josephine, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Vila Selvagem! We are very happy to hear, that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel, and that our staff was attentive and made you feel welcome! Our team would be delighted to welcome you back on your next trip to Ceará!
Read more
schateau wrote a review Aug 2019
Rio de Janeiro, RJ119 contributions64 helpful votes
Our first stay was in 2012 and 4 more stays followed - each as agreeable as the others. It’s rare that an establishment manages to preserve its original vibe - and we’re very grateful that it does. We will be back!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Bossa_Trip wrote a review Jan 2019
Miami Beach, Florida68 contributions49 helpful votes
This was our 3rd time at Vila Selvagem, the hotel is a charming villa on a almost desert beach. But the most incredible thing here is the service: the crew is the same since first time, they are smiling funny smart local young people, that find joy in all they do. If you really want to relax and enjoy amazing caipirinhas all day, this is the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Camila M wrote a review Nov 2018
Sao Paulo, SP20 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
This is probably the best, most charming 5 star hotel I’ve ever stayed in. Beautiful, great room, amazing bathroom, great food, spa and the friendliest staff. Perfect to forget about the world and relax.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
sebastienbnt wrote a review Sep 2018
Paris, France7 contributions
I went there several times with my friends and this is where we had the best food during our trip in Pontal de maceio I had the octopus which were amazing and I also tried the raviolis, a classic choice but it was well made and good. I recommend you to stop at the bar before and order caipirinhas, the bartender is a master in the art of preparing them. You can also eat a few pasteis as a starter.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Celian01, Directeur général at Hotel Vila Selvagem
Responded Nov 10, 2018
Hello Sebastien, Thank you for such wonderfull compliment , this is really a nice feed back for all of us, Hope to see you again Kind regards Celian
Read more
Ilansalviano wrote a review Aug 2018
Brasilia, DF11 contributions12 helpful votes
I checked in with my family (wife, 2 kids - 2 and 7 years old) on July 9 - 20 2018 and it was the best thing I ever did. If you’re looking to relax close to the beach, this is the place to be. I got a superior room with ocean view, which is good since it’s not an apartment and there’s no noise from next door neighbour. Rooms are great !! Some features I liked it: * Hard wood floor * Really good bed and sheets * Expresso Machine OK * Good choice of drinks in the minibar * I highlight the water with Ph of 8.0 (I’m a water junkie) * Well ventilated and good amount of light from the Sun and the lamps. Since this is a “Wild Villa” as it’s names suggest, be prepared to encounter some animals like frogs jumping around. Bugs in the room is rare, but it happened to me once. TV channels options are excellent !! I watched the entire Tour the France and the World Cup Finals in the room with HD quality.. Really good. Internet is Ok. Not super Fast, but Ok. Only 3G network coverage in the region. Food Is amazing. Really good quality and awesome presentation. Staff is super friendly and well prepared. The beach is really good for the kids. When it’s low tide, there’s mini pools everywhere and my kids kept jumping on them. It helpd us to get a calm night, since some much energy were spent on the beach. Hotel offers beach chairs, but they were not enough for everybody to chill out. They need more chair on the beach. I had to take one of my kids to a doctor for a flu and staff were great to find me a close by and good doctor in the region. Which were in the next city Aracati. Overall it was an amazing experience ! I will definitely come back next year !! My only request for the owner is to lower a little bit the price for food in the restaurant. It’s a bit salty !!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Ask for the Superior Room Ocean View - No noise from the pool and loudy neighbours
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Daniela V wrote a review Jan 2018
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed at Vila Selvagem for 5 days with my 2 kids (6 and 7-year old). The place is lovely, the facilities really charming. I got us a garden suite which was roomy, super well designed and very clean! The pools were simple but great! Always clean and with a right temperature. The beach is indescribable! Really gorgeous! The food at main restaurant and bar is OK. A little overpriced for such a small village. Quality of food was average and the service was inconsistent. While some waiters were well trained, others didn’t know what they were serving (I asked a waitress what was she serving as a courtesy appetizer and she had to ask the kitchen). A few suggested improvements: - finish the area behind gazebos at the large pool. We were staying with a group of small kids over there and realized the floor was unfinished. - Fresh water shower closer to access to the beach. - more chairs at the beach. - protect power lines next to the “caju tree” close to the small pool. I went there to show some Italian friend what a caju fruit was and got tangled in some electric plug and cords. - Remove rug from room! Totally unnecessary and dusty! Rooms are beautiful as is. - Train restaurant employees evenly. - Ad a clothes line to the bathroom to dry bathing suits. I saw many guests placing those itens to dry at their balconies and I did the same. Those are just some improvements suggestions. I would totally recommend this place and would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Arie D wrote a review May 2017
Breda, North Brabant, Netherlands4 contributions
Although we were the only guest for lunch on the 23d of May we were utterly surprised about the readiness of the kitchen staff and the service. The service would be no problem being no guest but the kitchen operated as if it was just a normal busy day. efficient, rapid and up to standards in taste as one may expect from a reputable restaurant, The highest marks are applicable in this case.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: See my earlier report
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kikette, Directeur général at Hotel Vila Selvagem
Responded Jun 24, 2017
Hello Arie, Thank you very much for your elegant and kind message, IT 's alway a pelasure to receive you here in our Hotel. Hope to see you soon again Kind regards Celian
Read more
SA2009 wrote a review Dec 2016
New Orleans, Louisiana34 contributions11 helpful votes
This hotel is postcard perfect. Stunning beach, beautiful facilities, the rooms are very spacious. Literally didn't see a single other guest until the last day of our stay. Felt super secluded. Only complaint would be the food, especially since you are limited to eating only at the hotel restaurant since there's not much nearby. Everything was extremely salty! So salty it was inedible. Literally everything. Oddly enough the only thing not salty was the fries! Lol. Overall it was a great stay, but the food needs big improvement.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Celian01, Gérant at Hotel Vila Selvagem
Responded Dec 10, 2016
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Hotel Vila Selvagem and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have truly appreciated the atmosphere. About the restaurant, we have already talk to our chef about the salty food and we already using less salt . We look forward to welcome you in the near future. Sincerely, Célian
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$235 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BrazilState of CearaFortim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Vila Selvagem
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Vila Selvagem?
Nearby attractions include Pontal de Maceio Beach (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Vila Selvagem?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Vila Selvagem?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Vila Selvagem?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Vila Selvagem?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Vila Selvagem?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pizzaria & Parrila Vila Caicara, Barraca Canto Verde, and Restaurante Vila Selvagem.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Vila Selvagem?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Vila Selvagem have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Vila Selvagem offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Vila Selvagem?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including French and Portuguese.
Does Hotel Vila Selvagem have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Hotel Vila Selvagem accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.