We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
139 Murray Street, Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009 Australia
E-mail hotel
11 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!FRIENDS WITH BENEFITS X CLASSPASS
Booking.com
$143
View deal
Official Site
$173
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
$132
View deal
Expedia.com$157
Priceline$157
travelup.com$157
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1339)
360
Panoramas (31)
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Nestled in a pocket of Darling Harbour rich in industrial and working-class heritage, this boutique hotel is set in a woolstore constructed in – you guessed it – 1888. But there’s nothing old-fashioned about this vibrant hotel experience. From the colourful contemporary design to the industrial-chic interiors with an art-splashed attitude, this is a striking Sydney stay. Whether counting-sheep in the sophisticated suites, or sipping a red in the downstairs bar, Mr Percy, you’ll have everything you need to sit back and enjoy your stay. Find yourself tucked away, while still close to the action with the best of Sydney’s vibrant culture at your doorstep.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Czech and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Price:FRIENDS WITH BENEFITS X CLASSPASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
185Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
24Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2896Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,310
  • 446
  • 84
  • 34
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
JUHAN wrote a review Jun 5
Seoul, South Korea3 contributions
+1
Before I continue on, I will say I have already received a kind phone call from Ovolo Headquarters from Australia to Korea, regarding my complaint. I appreciate that but I am not sure of changes will be made, so I am writing this for other budget conscious guests. My room was #103, right of the elevator, and it was the cheapest room for 2 nights stay at a great location. The room is small but well decorated. Unfortunately the room is rather quite noisy from elevator foot traffic/talks and the maid service left the bed sheet changing cart right by the door for 2 nights I was there, so you can hear the metal cling clang as she went about work in the mornings. So I recommend you not book rooms 103/203/303/ .. There was 3 nail studs right at the start of the carpet which bugged the hell out of me, so this was also written in my complaint e-mail to management. Lastly, the staff was always busy. Not that they did not talk to you. My initial reaction to reception during check-in was not very enlightening. Having travelled on business for last 3 weeks from Coolum Beach, Brisbane, Melbourne and finally to Sydney, I have found my first trip to Australia very friendly in the c/s area. But you know when u get this vibe, that you're like intruding in their space, that was the vibe. The same went for the bar manager gentleman, when I ordered a custom cocktail, giving me kind of a unwelcome look, but with a forced smile. Maybe, some of the staff has had bad experience with Koreans before? I don't know, but I felt unwelcome. The goods are, the convenient location, the cool room art work and one of the smiling staff member I met in the morning at breakfast hour.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luther La, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Juhan, Thank you for your feedback, and once again my sincere apologies regarding your experience with us. As discussed over the phone call, the feedback you have given us has been thoroughly addressed and any potential inconvenience or hazard to our guests has been rectified. As a Korean General Manager at the property, I am extremely proud of the diversity within my team and can assure you that it would have just been a misunderstanding. Regarding your service related feedback, I will continue to work with the management team to improve our service standards and prevent any future short-comings. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back to The Woolstore 1888 on your next visit to Sydney and would love the opportunity to attend your concert. Kind Regards,
Read more
Jennilee Zenni wrote a review Mar 2022
Sydney, Australia30 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
I would like to say that my stay was wonderful and my black pug Donnie loved it as well. The location is also very convenient since it is a short walk to Darling Harbour and not far from the City. There is am IGA express close to the hotel and lots of places to eat as well. Everyone was so friendly and warm and always greeting us and making the guest feel special. (I am sure they are friendly to everyone so that means everyone would have felt special). When I arrived in the room (queen room) I loved the surprise bag of treats for dogs and humans. Mister Percy (the restaurant at the hotel) people were all really nice and friendly as well. They were always smiling, accommodating and gave lots of love to my pug so he loved everyone as well. I checked out the previous day evening so the next day someone called to give me details on extra charge to make sure everything sounded right. I appreciated Ovolo for checking. I can't fault 1888 Ovolo and really enjoyed my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: There is a Wilsons parking structure so if you brought your car you can park there with the all...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Newton, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Hi Zennilee So cool to hear both you and Donnie loved your stay. When it comes to treat for all our guests we love to make sure everyone is looked after. Until next time. Kind regards Troy Newton General Manager
Read more
Karen M wrote a review Jun 2
2 contributions
This place was very over priced and disappointing. Very small rooms. We paid for parking separately which we were over charged for and 4 days later the $100 holding deposit has not been refunded, very incompetent staff. Trust me stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luther La, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Karen, Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We certainly do have a range of rooms from the Shoebox to Suites, I will certainly recommend our King Deluxe rooms and the lofts which offers ample amount of space with beautiful decor. Regarding your pre-authorisation, it is an amount held by the bank not the hotel as it is not a payment. I do apologise for your experience and appreciate the feedback. Kind Regards,
Read more
Nic wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights for a conference at Darling Harbour and we were delighted with our choice. The bar and restaurant area is very welcoming and we loved settling down for a comfortable evening of lovely food and wine. All the staff were friendly and kind, with a special shout out to Irlanda Garcia, the front office manager. Irlanda went above and beyond during our stay. If you're thinking of staying here to attend a conference at Darling Harbour, the location is excellent. It's a street behind the Novatel and a short walk through the Wilson carpark to reach the conference area. We took advantage of the special car park deal with the Wilson carpark and also visited the gym down the road with the complimentary hotel membership. We had a shoe box room, which was cosy but absolutely fine. All in all would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Luther La, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Nicole, Yes you are right, The Woolstore 1888 is all about amazing service, good food, and wine. We sure are a standout pick in the area whether you are here for work, conference, or to enjoy the beautiful Darling Harbour. I will pass on your shout-out to Irlanda, and the team will be stocked to hear your feedback. Hope to welcome you back soon for another wonderful experience. Cheers,
Read more
Annet E wrote a review Apr 2022
Utrecht, The Netherlands131 contributions38 helpful votes
The location and decoration of this hotel is really great. The room however was very small and unfortunately we only had a window that was looking out in the lobby. The airco was quite noisy as well. The a la carte breakfast was tasty but quite expensive. Some of the staff af breakfast were super unexperienced and it took ages before our order came through. It was a pleasant stay all togeher although we will not book again when back in Sydney.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Newton, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded May 3, 2022
Hey AnnetE_13 Thanks for sharing your feedback. Disappointing to read that we delivered on some but missed on others. I hope you reconsider staying with us again we do have a variety of room types that might tick more of those boxes. Thanks again for sharing. Kind regards Troy Newton General Manager
Read more
Lauren C wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The staff were enthusiastically determined to ensure that my stay was as comfortable as possible. They were incredibly friendly and thoughtful. The room was beautiful, clean, functional and considerate of my needs as a traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Newton, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Hi J5501SSlaurenc What a great review, thanks for sharing your feedback. Kind regards Troy Newton General Manager
Read more
LanaYovanka33 wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions
I had such a great stay at the Ovolo with my two Boston Terriers, service was impeccable, the room decor was amazing with free mini bar! The hotel is beautifully decorated and my dogs were given their own treat bag, toy and bedding. All round a perfect stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Newton, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Hey LanaYovanka33 I remember those 2 terriers, very very cute! Thanks for sharing your feedback, until next time. Kind regards Troy Newton General Manager
Read more
Nits76 wrote a review Mar 2022
14 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel is centrally located & within walking distance to many great restaurants, cafes & the light rail in Darling Harbour. Parking was easy & directly across the road from the hotel. Receptionist was very welcoming & friendly. Greeted my puppy & wanted him to do some tricks. Deluxe king room was very spacious & clean. Room was equipped with everything you need - AppleTV, Alexa, iPhone charger etc. Bathroom was huge & one of the best showers I’ve had. Amenities were plentiful & smelt beautiful. 1st dog friendly hotel I’ve stayed in & pets are not forgotten. There was a bed, bowls, toy & bag of treats inc roll of poop bags! It didn’t stop there. I also got a free bag of snacks, entire mini bar was included as was continental breakfast the following morning. Furthermore there was a complimentary all day lolly buffet, along with happy hour. Overall the rooms were spacious & clean & team was very friendly. I didn’t want to leave & neither did my puppy. Thank you again Ovolo & looking forward to visiting this funky hotel again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Newton, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Hey Nits76 We love that you both didn't want to leave! Thanks for sharing your feedback, the team always aim to make sure all of our guests be it 2 legged or 4 enjoy their time with us. Kind regards Troy Newton General Manager
Read more
J1179XB wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
The rooms are wayyyyyyyy too small. I would only recommend this hotel as a convenience. We booked to have a nice weekend away from the kids but you cannot spend much time in the room as it's very small, also our window was really dirty and looking out to a busy road. Pay a bit more money and get something bigger with a view of the harbour as despite its name of Darling Harbour, it had no view of it. The staff were nice
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Newton, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Hey J1179XB Thanks for sharing your feedback and i'm sorry to read the rooms didn't meet your expectations. We are definitely in Darling Harbour but unfortunately water views are not one of our selling points. We do have a variety of rooms, hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back in a different room type. Kind regards Troy Newton General Manager
Read more
lindarK31371 wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Stayed for the night. The staff were very friendly. Beautiful rooms and bar. Couldn't be happier with our stay. We had one small issue and they could not do enough to fix it! Will definitely stay with this chain again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Troy Newton, General Manager at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Hi lindarK31371 Thanks for sharing, friendly is our thing but always love to hear when an issue arose they took care of it. Kind regards Troy Newton General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$178 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSydneyPyrmontCity West / Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo
Which popular attractions are close to The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Nearby attractions include Darling Harbour (0.2 miles), Flight Experience (0.2 miles), and Australian National Maritime Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sokyo, The Ternary, and Social Brew Cafe.
Is The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Pyrmont.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Chinese, Portuguese, Japanese, and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Woolstore 1888 by Ovolo?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Chinese Garden of Friendship (0.4 miles), State Theatre (0.6 miles), and St. Mary's Cathedral (0.9 miles).