We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort

Save
Share
62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9749
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
$869
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/16/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
$799
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/21
Booking.com$869
Priceline
CheapTickets$869
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2618)
Room & Suite (631)
Pool & Beach (480)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 04/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Updated 04/20/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 7 hotels in Puako
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Our newly renovated resort along the Kohala Coast The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort is located at Hapuna Beach on the Big Island of Hawaii. This ideally located hotel offers all of the amenities visitors expect from paradise.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Babysitting
Paid public parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Adult pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Japanese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
4330Reviews179Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,332
  • 1,283
  • 395
  • 191
  • 129
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Angel0222 wrote a review Oct 11
Suffolk County, NY7 contributions23 helpful votes
The staff and accommodations are great. The only thing I don't like is where we have breakfast at ikena landing the birds stay on the trellis above your head and sometimes poop on you or your food. They need to put some kind of screen over the trellis. There's not that many options to not sit under it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
PASA wrote a review Oct 3
Portland, Oregon66 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
Our last real vacation before Covid was at this resort, so when we started planning for this year's vacation we wanted to repeat the great memories and I was very pleasantly surprised that the resort was even better than I remembered. We got treated very well as Marriott Ambassador (the best that I've experienced in a year). We really enjoyed our spacious and clean suite. There were plenty of empty chairs and clean towels next to the pools or the lovely beach. We ate at all three restaurants multiple of times and the food was really good, especially the grilled branzino at the Meridia which was the best seafood dish that I had recently. People are friendly regardless of their roles, from Ginger at the breakfast to Judith at the Meridia to the sweet gardener who waved at us every morning. I really hope they bring back their delicious breakfast buffet soon and then I might never leave the resort next time that I visit :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
cmahls wrote a review Sep 2021
connecticut178 contributions55 helpful votes
Loved everything about this gem of a hotel! It is spectacularly beautiful—-everywhere you look. From the lobby and it’s droplet chandelier to the sculpted art on the walls and the very comfortable furniture everywhere, it is not hard to want to just live here forever. What makes it truly special is the “aloha” spirit we experienced with every single staff member. If you can, go see Helaini — we found her by the Koi pond in the early morning—- as she personifies the Aloha culture and people. And she may let you feed the fish which are huge and beautiful! Our room was spacious (a suite actually) and the bed/linens were extremely comfortable. Bathroom was immaculate. There are various restaurants, each looking out on the beautiful beach, (although Meridian is not open on Tuesdays/Wednesdays), and we found the food to be excellent and well-presented. Perhaps most importantly, there are 2 large pools, hot tub, and a very expansive beach with beach chaises and umbrellas for everyone. Since the sun is abundant and strong, this was super important to us! All this to say, we LOVED the Westin Hapuna (and we have stayed in many hotels around the world) and we are already scheming on when we can return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time enjoying everything The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort has to offer. It is truly our pleasure to deliver an enjoyable stay during your recent visit with us. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience enjoying everything the resort has to offer. We look forward to your return!
Read more
William D wrote a review Sep 2021
California5 contributions2 helpful votes
First time writing a review in tripadvisor. I usually don't care. But It's a bummer how you pay for resort fees including parking, beach amenities, etc. Well public people or other tourist get to use the beach chairs for free and complain about how their unemployment check is ending. We came here to relax but these people just use the resort's beach chairs with no repercussion. The hotel's lifeguards don't do anything about it. It's funny because hotel will ask you to wear a yellow band to distinguish you as a guest... what's the point of this?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
We'd like to sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your beach experience with us. Your feedback is integral to our ability to improve and we will share your experience with the team so we can address the issue you mentioned. Mahalo.
Read more
Level Up(grade) wrote a review Sep 2021
Los Angeles, California20 contributions4 helpful votes
My Scores: Property: 5. Wow this one definitely exceeded my initial expectations. The multilevel open air hotel is beautiful as are the pools and stunning beach. I’d stay here again - and very likely will. Room: 5. Nicest room I’ve stayed in to date in Hawaii. Super modern and more what I typically find in LA/NYC. Spacious, comfortable bed, outdoor patio, fridge, huge bathroom. Just wonderful. Location: 5. Close to the airport and central to many of the main areas. Staff: 5. Wonderful staff all around. Beyond friendly and welcoming. A++ My Rating System: 5 = Excellent (best in class) 4 = Good (would recommend) 3 = Acceptable (fine but would not recommend) 2 = Underdelivers (regrettable) 1 = Unacceptable (worst in class) Why You Should Trust Me: I’ve been a global business (and pleasure) traveler for 10+ years across 35+ countries (inc. Mongolia!) I’ve stayed at 500+ hotels and resorts. I’ve lived/worked in many cities and have “local” knowledge, including: NYC, LA, Nashville, Atlanta, DC, Chicago, Austin, Seattle, SF, New Orleans, Miami, Las Vegas, Phoenix, Hawaii, Mexico City, London, Paris, Berlin, Sydney, and more. I have top tier status at every major chain as I spend the better part of my year in hotels (Marriott/W, Hyatt/Thompson, IHG/Kimpton, Hilton, etc). I’m also no stranger to Ace, Hoxton, etc. I appreciate boutique hotels and unique neighborhoods as much as I do earning points. I’m culturally curious (to give you a sense, my favorite brands/shops are Dover St Market, Colette, Kith, Wood Wood, Nous, APC, Kitsune, and Moscot). I look at every hotel from a cost/benefit standpoint. Just because something is expensive doesn’t mean it’s good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Mauna Kea Resort, Other at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Responded 4 weeks ago
Mahalo for your positive review! We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time enjoying everything The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort has to offer. Should your travels bring you back to the Island of Hawai'i, we hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest. Mahalo!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$371 - $762 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
prince hotel kamuela, prince hotel hapuna beach, hapuna beach prince hotel, prince hotel island of hawaii, hapuna prince hotel, hapuna beach hotel, island of hawaii prince hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKohala CoastPuako
NUMBER OF ROOMS
249
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Hapuna Beach State Recreation Area (0.2 miles), Mauna Kea Beach (0.7 miles), and Waialea Beach (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel Beach Bar, Copper Bar, and Meridia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin Hapuna Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Puukohola National Historic Park (3.1 miles), Pu'ukohola Heiau (2.1 miles), and Puako Petroglyph Archaeological Preserve (3.6 miles).