We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Show Prices
#2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,072: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I am disappointed in this hotel which in my view is not up to Fairmont standards. My experiences at Fairmont Banff Springs, Lake Louise, Pacific Rim, Waterfront, etc were very favourable and I am a Fairmont fan. Orchid is generally tired although it is premium priced. My Ocean View room only has a "sort of" view of the ocean from... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank FJW_Toronto
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wonderful trip. The customer service is excellent especially if you know what you want. The lagoon is perfect for snorkeling. A perfect hotel for families with young children and older parents. Great housekeeping too!

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sally S
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed 7 nights at the Fairmont Orchid. Overall a positive experience--the hotel and grounds were really lovely. Service was very friendly but not over-bearing. Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The room was spacious with a large bathroom and lanai, no complaints there at all. For us, unfortunately, we booked the Orchid with an expectation that it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 697SteveC
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are delighted that overall your stay was a positive one, and we thank you for your many nice comments. Mahalo, The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our first trip to the Big Island and my husband and I were looking for a very upscale, relaxing, and romantic experience. This is a very nice resort if you're looking for a 2.5-3 star hotel. If you're looking for a 4.5-5 star experience you will be extremely let down. CONS: 1) We booked an "Ocean View" room and our... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Susan G
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Susan, thank you for your review. It is quite disappointing that we failed to meet your expectations; please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced with our service and facilities. We value your feedback and will use it to improve. I do apologize that you were bothered by guests smoking in an adjacent room. Smoking is allowed... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great facilities on the "sunny" side of the Big Island. Full service, including luau, rental cars, tours, beautiful sunsets and green turtles often in the hotel lagoon. We had a family vacation with two of our adult children and had a wonderful time. It was a bit far from town center and meals were pricey (except at the poolside deli),... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ras828
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Big Island and The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. Please come back and stay with us again soon! Mahalo, The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii More 

La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel and grounds are gorgeous. The ocean view, particularly at sunset is amazing. This was our first time in Hawaii and we were thrilled to start our island stay here. There is a luau that is performed on site by an off site company. The luau is a bit cheesy but still fun and good for all ages. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Mahalo, The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Big facility on Big Island and Big success, especially if you are traveling with the family and upgrade to the GOLD level. The Gold floor and extra's, like others have indicated are well worth the added charge and you avoid such things as valet charges that are so aggravating. But, the private concierge staff (Stacey you rock) is excellent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank BillyTeddy
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha BillyTeddy, and thank you so much for your positive feedback. We appreciate it very much and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo, The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii More 

Roslyn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great Hotel, Great beach, First stay at a Fairmont hotel would definitely stay there again.(And I am very particular with everything) The Staff is Excellent join the loyalty program for additional perks.

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Wayne, Thank you for your nice review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Mahalo, The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii More 

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice hotel and location. Service wasn't what I expected. First, we asked if there were any available (i.e. nicer) rooms available at check-in and the concierge's response was a snarky "Well if you wanted a nicer room, why didn't you just book it originally?" Not a good first impression. No lei at check-in though there was a card in the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank erinfisk
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Erin, Thank you so much for your review. We are so sorry to learn that the service you received did not meet your expectations. We do strive to offer the highest level of service and accommodations for our guests, and truly regret that we failed on this occasion. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean - beds are comfortable and bathroom is huge (very much like Ritz in maui but this hotel was a Ritz so not surprising there). Service is very good here (though I didn't get the lei at checkin oh well...) enjoyed the resort activities. I feel however if I stayed here for a whole week... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ProudCanadianTravell
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and service here at The Fairmont Orchid. It is disappointing that you were not able to enjoy lounging at the pool due to our high occupancy in April. Should you return to our beautiful island in the future, it would be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,655 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2254)
Viewed
View from Room (183)
Viewed
Room/Suite (246)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (417)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (484)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Dining (143)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (733)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (385)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Executive Suite Ocean View (27)
Viewed
Fairmont Room (22)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Ocean View Room- Two Queens (21)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room - King Bed (23)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room - Two Queens (20)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Price Range: $293 - $538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay