We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Show Prices
#2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,754 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,411: English reviews
Start your review of Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
 Click to rate
Saint Helens, Oregon
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Recently my husband and I visited the Fairmont and we can not say enough! The location is breathtaking! The hotel room was perfect. The staff was friendly and professional. The beach was gorgeous. The resort offered numerous activities and good dining opportunities. A dream trip; we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
Montreal
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at many Fairmonts and I simply admire their ability to deliver a consistent experience. From rooms to facilities to food and service, it is always a premium experience. The Orchid is no exception. Truly enjoyed the setting with nicely manicured grounds, the large and clean one-bedroom suite (perhaps just find a way to clean stains around faucets in bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank steilkurve
About Hotel's Favorite Review
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your accommodations. We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully soon!

Waikoloa, Hawaii
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Great venue and romantic setting for a nice dinner. Super wait staff. Delicious and creative food. Plentiful menu. We'll stay here next time to get the wider/full Fairmont experience on next Big Island visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TCNKRI
Golden
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We did not stay here but toured the property and did indulge in a very expensive massage at the spa. It is very luxurious overall and the spa staff were terrific. We had our massages (180 min) at the waterfalls. The masseurs were very skilled and professional. We had had a very active day with muscles needing recovery and each...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kjbrown777
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your treatment at our spa and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again. Mahalo!

bc
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is about 30minute from Kona airport. Hotel rooms comprise 2 building blocks which looks old and dirty. Nice swimming pool and small hot tub, plus tennis courts on site. Hotel situated on a lovely huge piece of property on the beach front in the Mauna Lani area. Check-in was handled efficiently. However had difficult connecting to hotel's WIFI from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pacificunion
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind comments regarding Dallas as well as Destin, we will certainly ensure they see this review. Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay, we will share your feedback with the leadership team to improve upon our service and offerings. Mahalo.

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I loved the intimate feel of the Fairmont Orchid. First of all, the service from the minute you arrive is terrific. The staff realizes how happy you are to be there after a long flight and even though they do this everyday, they make your stay special for you. Every staff member you encounter greets you with a pleasant "aloha"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MommyB1008
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and will certainly pass them along. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and beverage offerings as well as the spa, we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again, hopefully very soon! Mahalo.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

During our stay at the Fairmont Orchid, we did a 45 minute complimentary photoshoot with Pacific Dream Photography (there was no pressure to buy the photographs)! Caitlyn was our photographer. She was creative and very professional during the shoot both listening to what we wanted and also offering helpful suggestions. When it came time to review the photographs, Michelle showed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sofi M
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Sofi, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with Pacific Dream Photography. Mahalo!

vancouver
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a location; but Fairmont has got sloppy... from check in to check out, high quality service seems to have disappeared.. like bags not showing up from baggage team, lack of greetings and smiles from staff, not being offered food or drink on the beach or at the pool, very few Alohas.. generally poor over priced food ( not that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nickm007
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Nick, We are disappointed to read this, and would like to have an opportunity to address your concerns further, please contact us directly at orchid at fairmont dot com at your earliest opportunity. Please accept our apologies for your experience. Mahalo.

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We checked in over spring break with 8 of us in 4 rooms March 11-17, 2017. We were all very impressed with the variety and quality of food on the breakfast buffet. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. The pool was very nice also. There were several excellent restaurants on property and we tried them all. The Hale Kai...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sherri L
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha Sherri, Thank you so very much for your kind comments! And we are delighted to hear we were able to accommodate your daughter's request as well as your recommendation to join the Fairmont President's Club. We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully very soon!

Minnetonka Beach, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently stayed here for a family vacation. This is a large property and is very nicely manicured. The rooms are nice and appears to have been recently updated. The beds were very comfortable. We found the service to be friendly. We have provided comments on the restaurants we dined at in separate reviews. The beach area is small but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VRJL
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we sincerely appreciate it! Mahalo.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2,876 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2476)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (455)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (536)
Viewed
View from Room (204)
Viewed
Dining (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (261)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (813)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (385)
Viewed
Amenities (59)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Executive Suite Ocean View (27)
Viewed
Fairmont Room (22)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Ocean View Room- Two Queens (21)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room - King Bed (23)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room - Two Queens (20)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (34)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Price Range: $331 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii staff and other travelers.
67 questions
Ask a question
Rolla, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floor preferable.”
 of 5 bubbles pacificunion, 4 days ago | Read review
“All rooms have a partial ocean view and a few are ocean front.”
 of 5 bubbles MommyB1008, 5 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the gardens and/or ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles SherriL853, 6 days ago | Read review
“North Tower is great.”
 of 5 bubbles Grammakk62, 1 week ago | Read review
“Rooms at the end of the corridors have stairwells that gives you outside access quickly. Room card needed to enter back in that way.”
 of 5 bubbles OregonExplorers4, 1 week ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question