We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025 Malta
20 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$57
View deal
Expedia.com
$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/26/22
Trip.com
$49
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/24/22
Travelocity$62
Priceline$63
travelup.com$78
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1887)
Pool & Beach (262)
Dining (156)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Read more
Updated 04/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Solana Hotel and Spa
Updated 04/26/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 17 in Mellieha
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.4
Value
4.3
Solana Hotel and Spa is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Mellieha, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Close to some of Mellieha's most popular landmarks, such as Our Lady of the Grotto (0.0 mi) and Picture This Gallery (0.1 mi), Solana Hotel is a great destination for tourists. The rooms offer a flat-screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease. Solana Hotel and Spa features a rooftop terrace and room service. In addition, as a valued Solana Hotel Malta guest, you can enjoy a rooftop pool and a poolside bar that are available on-site. Mellieha has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Square Gastro Bar, Da Ciccio Cucina, Rebekah's, Comando's, which are serving up some great dishes. If you’re looking for something to do, Popeye Village Malta (1.2 mi), Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (0.2 mi), and The Parish Church of Mellieha (0.2 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Solana Hotel and Spa. Enjoy your stay in Mellieha!
Read more
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Diving
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Evening entertainment
Squash offsite
Walking tours
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Strollers
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Waxing services
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more
3851Reviews350Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,983
  • 1,180
  • 412
  • 155
  • 122
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ThomasG5 wrote a review May 15
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom64 contributions52 helpful votes
After reading so many positive reviews I was really looking forward to staying at the Solana, unfortunately I was quite disappointed. That’s not to say it didn’t have any positives as there were a few, but just didn’t out way the negatives in my opinion. So the negatives started in the room we booked which was a junior suite. This is not a suite in any way. The room was small, dated, with a kitchenette area inside a cupboard. There was no iron or ironing board, this had to be requested at reception. The first iron they brought up was literally smashed to pieces and didn’t work. The room had aircon but due to the season it was on heating, so reception sent a fan up to our room. I thought the point of air on was to control the room temperature either way, not just to make it cold so wasn’t sure why this was the case. At night our room was 21 degrees, so only got a few hours each night as was far too hot. I’d leave the balcony door open, however the building site opposite our balcony opened at 6.30 so if I did manage any sleep I was woken up by the banging. Also the balcony was tiny, literally the width of a chair. The water pressure in the main shower was non existent and our milk was not topped up once so had to go buy some from the shop. My last main criticism was the gym, which was really bad. It’s a tiny room with a few free weights, a bench, a multi cable machine (which was broken) and a few treadmills. Again, no aircon or windows so was unusable after 10 minutes. I’d expect better facilities in a spa and wellness hotel. The positives were the staff, we spent most days on the top deck by the pool (which was lovely) and all the staff there were friendly and helpful. The general decor was quite nice and the restaurants inside were very good, as was the breakfast. So in all not a bad hotel at all, but lacked quite a few facilities that I require when I go on holiday, so if I was to return to Mellieha I probably wouldn’t stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa and we appreciate the time you have taken in sharing this valuable feedback with us. We wish to publicly apologize to you if your stay with us did not meet the standards, which we are renowned for and rest assured that where possible, stringent steps will be taken in order to avoid a reoccurrence of such. It is understandable that this experience may have tarnished our reputation with your good self, yet, should you be willing to allow us another opportunity to regain your trust, you are invited to contact us directly, where asides from personally overseeing your entire stay, we will equally be upgrading your unit to one of our finest rooms, along with a complimentary Top VIP status. We look forward to hearing from you again. Yours Sincerely, Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Amrit S wrote a review May 14
Jalandhar, India2 contributions1 helpful vote
Booked this for 4 nights to have a relaxing break. Website rated it highly and we liked the activities it offered (Spa, pool, sauna). Disappointed with the room, it had 3 beds in a cramped apartment (my 26 years old son had to sleep in the same room with myself and my wife). They were not able to find us something more appropriate. Hotel was located in a busy road so could not open the window as the traffic was relentless all night, hence we did not had many relaxing sleep. On Saturdays they have live music that plays on until very late (midnight) I would say that the facilities were just passable at best (rusty gym equipment, pool with too much chlorine, food not amazing) Surprisingly the bed sheets were not changed for the 4 nights we stayed so the whole room was smelling. I would not recommend this place
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms away from the road would be quieter, need to ask for AC/Fan as the rooms get warm
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen to stay with us for your spring holidays. We regret reading that your room allocation was a detrimental factor in having your experience with us fall short of expectations, however, as also discussed with you on-site, your booking reached us for a Junior Suite, and it clearly denotes both in the description and via photos, that this is in fact one room. Notwithstanding this, you are welcome to contact us directly, should you wish to give us further insight into your experience. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yours Sincerely, Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
mandygoss1971 wrote a review May 3
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom17 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
Fantastic cocktails and great food in the prickly pear - room service slow - shower leaks in to our hall creating an ice rink effect slipped over twice - sadly room wasn’t cleaned daily . Had and issue with getting dry towels - and the iron had crap on it burning my designer shirt . Otherwise hotel clean and friendly in a quiet location not much to do .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen to stay with us, and for the time taken in sharing with us this valuable feedback. It means a lot to us! Please rest assured that each aspect mentioned in your review will be given the rightful attention, and thanks to your comments, we can ensure that such scenarios do not occur again. We hope to have another opportunity in hosting you again in the future, where we will endeavour in making your next stay as memorable as possible. Best Regards, Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Jean Paul Attard wrote a review May 2
2 contributions
We were a group of 50+ for Sunday Lunch. Food, service and accommodation were super excellent. Highly recommended, with very rienely staff. This was my third time..... Never disappointed with anything.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for this special event! Your feedback means a lot to us, and we look forward to the next opportunity in welcoming you again. Grazzi! Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Duncan G wrote a review May 1
1 contribution
We went for an anniversary weekend break and everything was simply amazing. The hotel staff were very welcoming and polite and the hotel is very well kept. We also enjoyed an upgrade of the available platter offers of fruit wine and pastries. Will surely revisit!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your anniversary celebrations! We are elated to read that you were thoroughly impressed by the Hotel, our Team and the amenities, and we are equally thankful that you have shared this testimony of such. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future. Warm Regards, Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Gary D wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had an amazing experience at the Solana hotel!the hotel was spotlessly clean and the food was excellent.the staff were very friendly and always helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for them.a special mention for Nikola for making our stay super pleasant and to Marie behind reception for being very very efficient and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Dacre, Thank you ever so much for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa, and for taking the time in sharing with us this overwhelming feedback! It is a pleasure to read that you were impressed by all aspects of the Hotel, especially with the service of our amiable team members. Wishing you a most pleasant summer ahead, and looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future. Grazzi! Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Flexter72 wrote a review Apr 2022
Paola, Malta9 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a short stay for my birthday. They upgrade my room to u luxury one. Was like a penthouse. Room clean,nice hospitality,good food and good service. Honestly i didnt expect this. It was to my surprise. Defo will recommend it and return!♥️♥️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your birthday celebrations! We are elated to read that you were impressed with your room and all the general aspects of your stay, and we can't wait to host you again in the near future. Grazzi! Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Tim wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
The personal were very friendly and helpful. The lunch was always tasty, it included things for everyone. Also the service by the buffet were pleasant. Above all the waiter Sasha is very good and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for having visited us at the Solana Hotel & Spa and for taking the time in sharing with us this rewarding testimonial! We hope to have another opportunity in hosting you again, very soon! Best Regards, Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Dawn S wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very welcoming and friendly and the cleaning staff very good. We used the indoor pool which was lovely and warm and again very clean. We stayed half board so had breakfast and an evening meal, there was a good choice of food the only thing I would suggest is to actually place a name of the food in front of it, I know it was displayed on a screen but have seen this at other hotels which proved very helpful. The views from the roof top are amazing and is definitely worth going up there. The only things that we found disappointing and if I had been staying any longer I would have asked to be moved as the the air conditioning unit was very noisy and we found it difficult to sleep also the view from our very small balcony was looking at the opposite wall looking into another room. We would stay here again, but hopefully in a room with a better view and a room that didn’t sound as though it had a train track running above it. Thank you once again to all the staff who made our trip very enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are grateful that you have chosen Malta and the Solana Hotel & Spa for your holidays! Your comments mean a lot to us, and each aspect mentioned is taken on board and valued. Hope to have another opportunity in hosting you again in the nearest future. Grazzi! Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Debra E wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We had room 1717 and it was really spacious. Wat no one has mentioned is they are building behind the hotel but this didn’t bother us, don’t let it put u off. Not many places to eat in mellieha if u r a fussy eater like me. Every where outside of hotel u either go up or down as it’s on a hill, not good for wheelchair users.u can walk down to the beach(20 mins) an hours walk to Popeye village. Bus 1 1/2 euros each no matter the distance and very frequent. Loved the hotel! Had 2 lovely meals in the restaurant and breakfasts were plentiful. Staff are so helpful and friendly. One improvement could be the pillows which were too firm.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: 1717 fab size room but no sea view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are absolutely delighted to read that your experience at the Solana Hotel & Spa has ticked all the right boxes, and we are very much appreciative that not only, you have chosen to stay with us, but you have also taken the time in sharing with us these valuable views. Look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Grazzi! Solana Hotel & Spa Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$64 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
solana hotel mellieha, solana hotel malta
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaMellieha
NUMBER OF ROOMS
183
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Solana Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Solana Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (0.2 miles), Mellieha Parish Church (0.3 miles), and Our Lady of the Grotto (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and a rooftop bar.
Which room amenities are available at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, a rooftop bar, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Solana Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rebekah's Restaurant, Tosca Restaurant, and Debbie's Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Solana Hotel and Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Solana Hotel and Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Solana Hotel and Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Solana Hotel and Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Solana Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.