We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solana Hotel and Spa

Save
Share
Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025 Malta
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
16 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/23/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$76
View deal
Hotels.com
$76
View deal
Trip.com$77
Travelocity$76
travelup.com$108
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1806)
Room & Suite (549)
Pool & Beach (236)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 06/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Solana Hotel and Spa
Updated 06/25/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 15 hotels in Mellieha
Travelers' Choice

Solana Hotel and Spa is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Mellieha, offering a charming environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Close to some of Mellieha's most popular landmarks, such as Our Lady of the Grotto (0.0 mi) and Picture This Gallery (0.1 mi), Solana Hotel is a great destination for tourists.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Solana Hotel and Spa features a rooftop terrace and room service. In addition, as a valued Solana Hotel Malta guest, you can enjoy a rooftop pool and a poolside bar that are available on-site.

Mellieha has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Bouquet Garni, one80 Kitchen & Lounge, and Blu Beach Club, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you’re looking for something to do, Popeye Village Malta (1.2 mi), Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (0.2 mi), and The Parish Church of Mellieha (0.2 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Solana Hotel and Spa.

Enjoy your stay in Mellieha!

Read more

Location

Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 miles
0Attractionswithin 0 miles
Contact
Gorg Borg Olivier Street, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH 1025 Malta
Getting there
Luqa Airport9 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
3722Reviews340Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,906
  • 1,150
  • 397
  • 152
  • 118
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Steph S wrote a review Today
8 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked our honeymoon at this hotel through Voyage Prive (a website you would expect to give you the "luxury" you pay for). On arrival , the hotel is set back, dark and surrounded by building sites - not the hotel's fault, but not what we expected based on website pictures. We had opted for a suite which was NOT what was given to us. Our room was dated, dark, dirty (after unpacking in bare feet they were black), the bathroom was dated, the view from the balcony was a brick wall. We lasted a couple of hours here before having to spend the same money elsewhere (we are still waiting for a refund from Voyage Prive). The rooftop pool was overcrowded and small for the amount of people the hotel would sleep which made no sense. The staff were helpful, and did offer to upgrade us to a room with a better view, however for the cost vs the outcome, there was nothing that could have been done to improve our stay at this hotel. Would NOT recommend unless you were staying o a budget and literally needed a bed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Helpful
Share
heelshandbags16 wrote a review Sep 16
Rotherham, United Kingdom90 contributions51 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here at the start of September for our honeymoon and we’re really impressed with our hotel experience. We spent most of our time on the top deck pool/bar, the rooftop had the most beautiful views, a good mix of guest and the background music was perfect for a relaxing/upbeat holiday vibe not too loud if your planning on reading. I’m usually sceptical about hotel bar/food prices but actually found the cost of food and drinks more then reasonably. FYI HAPPY HOUR 241 on cocktails every day 5-7pm. We had lunch on a few occasions and enjoyed a breakfast, all the food was spot on. Our room was on -3 level, it was spacious and modern (I’m not sure if all rooms are the same depending on location in the hotel) Overall the staff were friendly, helpful and just generally happy to be there. Location of the hotel was spot on, it’s on the main road which has a few lovely restaurants just minutes away, there’s a bus stop directly outside the hotel which can take you to the beach / Around Malta (bus fare is 2 euros where ever Your heading) the beach is about a 20-30mins walk but easy to walk there and back. Mellileah is very hilly and has great views. I’d recommend sea view cafe bar last the church, plenty cocktail/drinks choices. Thank you Solana for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded yesterday
Dear Guests, Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your September holidays! We are so pleased to read that you have had such a fabulous time with us and that each aspect you encountered has very well met your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity in hosting you again in the near future. Grazzi! Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
olive wrote a review Sep 15
Croydon, United Kingdom31 contributions15 helpful votes
I’m a bit confused reading the other reviews that are slating this hotel as it’s so different to my experience. Me and my partner recently stayed here for a week and we were very impressed with the cleanliness and the service that we received. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the shower was lovely and the balcony was nice and big. There was even Netflix on the TV! Each day our room was cleaned and left in a tidy manner. The staff were absolutely lovely and always on hand to help with a smile. Very very welcoming. One staff member in particular, a lady named Marie, was lovely and very helpful specifically in trying to solve the problem of my boyfriend swimming trunks having fallen off the balcony! The rooftop pool is very nice however gets very busy and is more of a place to pose rather than have a proper swim so we did not make much use of this. However when we did the service was great and the atmosphere nice. Location wise the hotel is in a great spot, so many restaurants nearby to choose from. It is also near the beach, you could probably walk it but we chose to get the bus. The reception staff can recommend an app which helps you work out which busses to get, the hotel also runs a free shuttle bus daily to a certain beach called Paradise Bay which is a lovely place to visit Overall we were very happy and impressed with the hotel and the service that we received and would definitely recommend it
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your recent holidays in Malta, and we equally appreciate the time you have taken in sharing this encouraging review with our online community. It means a lot to us! We are elated to read that you were impressed with all aspects of your stay, especially with the service of our aimable team members. While wishing you a pleasant remaining 2021, we look forward to another opportunity to host you again in the near future. Grazzi! Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Waldek2013 wrote a review Sep 14
Northampton, United Kingdom153 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in room 1307 for a week 1st impression is very good It is ok and the staff is great and very helpful, however, if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, beware. The walls are thin and all floors are tiled. You can hear everything all day and night. Cleanliness in the rooms is very poor first few days cleaners clean rooms but as days progress room was clean less and less on last 2-day bathroom was not clean at all fro 4-star hotel thas very poor standard. Food in the hotel nothing special for breakfast every day same thing, dinner not a lot it changing you get better value and taste going somewhere ells as we did most off day
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't pay extra for all exclusive for dring with food as only including local drinks not...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen the Solana Hotel & Spa for your accommodation base in Malta, and we appreciate the time taken in sharing this insight with us. We regret reading that your experience with us did not meet the standards, which we are renowned for, and we take this opportunity to publicly apologize to you. Such feedback means a lot us, and rest assured that it will not get unnoticed. If your holiday plans ever bring you back to Malta, please do contact me directly, where asides from extending to you a most advantageous package, and I would be personally ensuring that your next visit, will exceed all of your expectations. Yours Sincerely, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Laura S wrote a review Sep 13
Brighton, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
Once I had checked in for our week long stay, it was evident the two bedroom/bathroom suite/apartment I thought I had booked was not a suite at all but a family room; which is not suitable for two people who wanted their own bedroom and bathroom as the room meant that one person had to walk through another person’s room. Also the kitchenette was in one of the bedrooms and there was no communal/sitting space as expected. I did bring this to the attention of the hotel who took no responsibility (I was prepared to accept that some of the miscommunication could’ve been my interpretation) however their solution was to charge yet another €500 on top of the €1000 I had already paid to have two single rooms. I even offered to accept a 50% refund but they would not. We had to check out as stating there was going to ruin our long-awaited holiday and we didn’t want to stay another 6 days at that extortionate cost. The hotel is overpriced for what you get and as per other reviews it’s noisy and you can hear everything that happens in the room above. The fridge, hairdryer did not work. I could not reserve parking and had to leave the hire car on a narrow side road some distance from the hotel. One of the roof top pools was empty and out of use (no pre-warning when I booked). I never complain in this manner (and I stay in hotels a lot) but I feel I should pre-warn others as this hotel has been disingenuous and not prepared to take any responsibility for a problem and therefore not offer a fair or reasonable resolution. I should add that I tried to resolve this directly with the hotel in the first instance, before leaving this review.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Solana Management, Guest Services / Front Office at Solana Hotel and Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Guests, Thank you for having chosen to stay with us, and for taking the time in sharing with us your sentiments. While our recollection of events on the rooms, which we have offered you as an alternative, is vaguely different than the version you are depicting, we do not believe in making up excuses, however, you are more than welcome to contact us directly so we can discuss your experience in a more profound manner. For the benefit of our clientele, we wish to assure them that all of our Pools have been and are still operational throughout the whole year. We did empty our small Kiddies' Pool, intended for toddlers, on one particular day, however, we are perplexed that this may have affected you. Ultimately, we wish to clarify that we do not have and never had any 2-bedroom apartments at the Solana Hotel & Spa. Our available room types, facilities, and decor are always accessible for public viewing through our website. We apologize to you if you were misled upon the booking stage, but do let us know what caused this, so we can rectify it. Best Regards, Pierre Agius Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaMellieha
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Solana Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Solana Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Mellieha Air Raid Shelter (0.2 miles), Mellieha Parish Church (0.3 miles), and Our Lady of the Grotto (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free public parking nearby, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Solana Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bouquet Garni, Rebekah's Restaurant, and Tosca Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Solana Hotel and Spa have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Solana Hotel and Spa offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Solana Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Solana Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Solana Hotel and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Serbian.