We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Riviera Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Riviera Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Riviera Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,111: English reviews
Zejtun, Malta
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Starting off with the good: The staff are very helpful, rooms are very clean and very roomy. The pool area is nice with two outdoor pools and a very nice indoor pool at the spa. The spa is lovely, quiet, relaxing and well kept. Literally just cross the road from the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laser_07
riviera_gm, General Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Laser_07 Thank you for your largely positive comments which are appreciated. Comments about our location are found on most reviews with contributors either liking it or hating it. We recommend that prospective visitors check out the information on our website and read a little bit about Mellieha and Marfa with Gozo and Comino in the vicinity. Preparation is important...

UK
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I think we worked out that we have been to this hotel approaching 20 times now, so that really must say something. As I have said in previous reviews - if you want bars, nightlife, a thronging promenade, fun fair, kiss me quick hats etc, the Riviera is not for you. If you want arguably the best location on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank briancUk
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Do your homework before booking here. It's about 90 minutes by bus from Valletta and Sliema. Also make sure you have hotel transfers, preferably with your tour operator. To put it in a few words. The hotel does very well in so many ways but they need to get staff attitude in order and have suitable managers in place to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jamiegilhooly
riviera_gm, General Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jamiegilhooly, Thank you for your detailed review which provided helpful information and also an opportunity for clarification and infirmation. So as not to repeat, our mini bar system works as explained recently to Tripadvisor reader paula234. We actually do have a satellite TV system that provides a large number of free to air channels in a number of European...

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel looks the part but it sometimes flatters to deceive. The facilities are very good and is has everything you might expect from its rating. Our room was fine with a great sea view and the food varied from good to excellent. Vivaldo is a must when staying in this hotel - it is the diamond in the pack....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johncassie
riviera_gm, General Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear johncassie, Thank you for your review. Vivido is a new a la carte service we launched this summer to offer our guests the opportunity to dine al fresco on our elevated pool deck which enjoys fantastic sunsets and views of Comino across the channel. John Attard is the person responsible for the service there and he has done a...

UK
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This should be an all inclusive hotel only !! if you are intending to stay here you should be made aware that it is right in middle of now where buses do run to Selima but last bus returns at 8pm and take around an hour ! The staff in the hotel are very rude we stayed here for one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trolley-Princess
riviera_gm, General Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Trolley-Princess, On my hotel rounds and discussions with guests, I meet people who are mostly very happy with their choice of stay but unfortunately also a few who admit that they had something else in mind. The Riviera Resort & Spa is located in the north of the island. This part of the Maltese Islands enjoys the best sandy...

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 5, 2011

not up to 4* standard. externally looks great, did had lovely pool area but usual trouble getting sunbeds sometimes. take ur own towels unless you want to pay for them. hotels rooms clean & reasonably spacious but neglected maintenance wise cracked tiles & Air con can be noisy . no tea/coffee making facilities in rooms, you pay to use the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paula234
riviera_gm, General Manager at The Riviera Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paula234, Thank you for your review. I would like to clarify and provide additional helpful information to Tripadvisor readers on the points you mention. Our guests do not pay for pool towels and do not need to bring their own. These are available from our spa free of charge. We charge a very small laundering fee for replacement of...

Reviewed June 28, 2011

I'm Maltese, I came to use this Hotel for simply 1 Night as I had a wedding at it & once it's very cut off from everywhere I did not want to drive Back.. I'm in the Hotel this same morning I'm writing the review... This is said to be a 4 Star Hotel.. Malta at 35 Degress AC does...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dreixu17
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two nights' stay at this hotel, and it was two nights too many! Upon entering the room, the stale air hit us like a wall. Luckily, we could open the sliding glass door to air out the room, but at night we had to make do with the subpar AC. We both...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WellWornPassport
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Great week here, amazing locations viiews. Hotel is lovely. We had a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen, a little dated but very comfortable. May weather super, wall to wall sunshine on North side of hotel. Service good, lobby cafe comfortable quiet space with huge windows amazing views.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank meshiel
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 17, 2011

If you're confused by the range of wildly different reviews .... here are the facts. This hotel is in a very remote, but beautiful, location. There is no real beach to speak of - you would need to get the bus to Melieha Bay (10-15min). The pool is average. The boat trip to Comino leaves from right outside the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sid5656
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (809)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (142)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (316)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (273)
Viewed
Amenities (33)
Viewed
Double Standard Room Pool View (28)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (18)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (28)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Suite (54)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellieha
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.1 mi away
Ramla Bay Resort
Ramla Bay Resort
#4 of 12 in Mellieha
1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mellieha Bay Hotel
Mellieha Bay Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mellieha
1,927 reviews
2.2 mi away
Solana Hotel
Solana Hotel
#3 of 12 in Mellieha
2,138 reviews
4.7 mi away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about The Riviera Resort & Spa

Address: Marfa Bay, Mellieha, Island of Malta MLH02, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Mellieha
Price Range: $129 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Riviera Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riviera Resort And Spa
The Riviera Hotel Mellieha
Riviera Hotel Mellieha
The Riviera Resort & Spa Malta/Mellieha
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mellieha
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mellieha
#7 Spa Hotel in Mellieha
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mellieha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Riviera Resort & Spa staff and other travelers.
95 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (95)

Questions? Get answers from The Riviera Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Country view rooms have more afternoon sun.”
elisabartolo1, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors better sea view and more quiet.”
silvie372, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“5 wings, most quite far from reception etc”
D6786XFbrianm, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Second floor sea view room is best as it's away from the noise of the bar at night”
lorab821, Oct 2, 2016 | Read review
“always go for sea view if available”
70Phillip, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question