We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fretheim Hotel

Save
Share
on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
$335
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/21
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$335
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams$335
Agoda.com$336
Orbitz.com$335
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (801)
Room & Suite (415)
Dining (178)

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Flam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Fretheim Hotel boasts mountain and fjord views and is somewhere you can look, taste, listen and absorb magnificent nature. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Nærøyfjord UNESCO World Heritage site. This fjord has been chosen as one of the world’s most beautiful destinations several times running! The hotel was built in Swiss chalet style at the end of the 19th century, and over the years has grown and developed in pace with the increase in tourists and travellers using the Bergensbana railway and, later, the famous Flåmsbana railway. The oldest part of the hotel has been carefully restored to reveal beautiful details, with open fires and antique furniture in the lounges, library, conference room and, not least, in all the historical guest rooms. Take yourself on a journey of discovery and enjoy the atmosphere of glory days past.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Canoeing offsite
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
1,194Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 475
  • 455
  • 172
  • 58
  • 34
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Richard_SW11 wrote a review Nov 2020
Stavanger, Norway224 contributions148 helpful votes
This was our first visit to Flam and we stayed two nights. Circumstances were unusual because it was November but also under Covid19 restrictions. This is a large hotel but there were very few guests due to travel restrictions. Our stay got off to a great start at check-in when we were upgraded to a classic room. This had a large double bed and a view of the fjord. The bathroom had a Victorian style bathtub - quite unusual in Norway. We had dinner at the restaurant - service was very good. In fact all the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and skilled at their roles. I have no hesitations in recommending the Fretheim hotel and hope to return in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Norodden wrote a review Sep 2020
Arendal, Norway164 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in one of the America rooms and had a great view of Flåm and the Aurlandsfjord. We can sum up our visit as follows: Pros - Beautiful lush gardens. - Super location with magnificent view of Flåm. - Free parking. - Fantastic breakfast and dinner with abundance of choices. - Attentive personnel provided excellent service. - Most of the food in the restaurant was locally provided. - Spacious lobby with ample seating. - Very comfortable beds. - Great wifi. Cons - Expensive. - Curtains in room were in poor condition. - Sounds penetrate walls fairly easily. - No shelf in shower for soap/shampoo.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded Sep 8, 2020
Great to read your detailed comments and review ! Would love to welcome you back to Flåm and Fretheim Hotel. Regards Op.manager.
Read more
pselgar wrote a review Aug 2020
Tananger, Norway9 contributions5 helpful votes
Room 246 in the America Wing, July 2020. We didn't start off too well when we found out the a la carte restaurant was closed and only buffet for breakfast and dinner was on offer, even though the English web pages said a la carte was available. Not good for someone who doesn't like buffets, especially in the time of COVID. Anyway, we headed off for our America Room with large balcony. It sounds nice, but its more like a motel room on an American highway, and the large balcony was anything but. If I sat myself down by the small table my partner would not be able to get past me. One single leather chair in the room and a pretty awful smelling bathroom with an old towel stuffed behind the toilet. Reception were quite helpful and offered to move us to another room, but our stay in Flåm was short anyway so we decided to stay put, even though the smell remained (despite promises of coming to see what could be done). Maybe it was the non-working sink plug that was allowing nasty smells to escape? On check-out we were offered a reimbursement of two drinks, and a 25% discount on the pre-paid room. We also had a small bottle of cider sent to our room earlier. That was all much appreciated and we left with positive feelings, except that.... nearly one month later, no 25% refund has been received and no one responds to my inquiries anymore. I was told 2 weeks back that it was paid and that there would be a 1-2 day delay in the system, so either someone else has got the money or it hasn't been reimbursed. We wait in hope for an answer or some money!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Thank you for your comments ! When situations arise (like with your room) we always try to find good solutions for our guests - like offer them to move to another room. I expect that by now you have been reimbursed 25 % on the room charge? If not, please get in touch with us. I do hope that we can accomodate you here in Flåm at another apportunity. Regards, Op.mngr.
Read more
Monica Ghielmetti wrote a review Aug 2020
9 contributions
We stayed 2 nights. Nice hotel, very clean. Bedroom was a bit cold but overall ok. Breakfast very good. expensive. Flåm overall nice but very little to see. indeed just a touristic place. We went hiking one day ... this was worth it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded Aug 17, 2020
Thank you for your comments ! Hope to be able to welcome you back at another opportunity.
Read more
tutten62 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Just need to post a comment here to the staff at Fretheim Hotel. We were out of charging on our Nissan rented car. Stranded in Flåm in the evening, luckily, we got a lovely room including a wonderful breakfast. But most important: the incredible service in trying to help us charging the car and never giving up. Helper number one: First via the lovely gazebo in the beautiful garden with fruit trees and flowers(but didn't work out, cause our cable was too short and therefore impossible to transfer any electricity via the hotels extra line) Helper number two: Then trying to charge at the hotels own charging station(but the hotels own new cable, didn't fit our car). Helper number three: And third time lucky: stretching the cable through an open window at the back of the hotel. But first, a telephone to the owner (staff at the hotel) of the car in the parking in front of the window, asking politely if she please could remove her car for a while. And she came after two only two minutes! And our helper (in charge of the shift that day, could happily inform us, that the charging was on! We returned after a couple of hours to collect our car. And our helper was again all smiles, asking if there was anything else we needed! Our reply: you have already done more than enough. And how we found our stay. Our reply: couldn't be better!!! Service at a hotel, is number one, wich Fretheim Hotel, has proven to the fullest. And I must say, the best so far in Norway. And he welcome us back for a stay another time. Our reply: Yes, already looking forward to the next stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Frode S, Other at Fretheim Hotel
Responded Aug 17, 2020
I am really happy to read your detailed comments on the service given by our staff ! This is exactly how we want to be experiened and perceived - and that we are going the "extra mile" to accomodate our guests. Look forward to seeing you at Fretheim Hotel and Flåm again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fretheim hotel flåm
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwaySogn og FjordaneAurland MunicipalityFlam
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fretheim Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Fretheim Hotel?
Nearby attractions include FjordSafari (0.07 miles), Naeroyfjord (0.3 miles), and Flaamsbana Museet (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fretheim Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Fretheim Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Fretheim Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fretheim Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aegir BrewPub, Flam Marina and Appartement Cafe, and Flam Bakery.
Are pets allowed at Fretheim Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Fretheim Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Fretheim Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Fretheim Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Otternes Bygdetun (1.5 miles).
Does Fretheim Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
Is Fretheim Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.