We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Red Lion Inn

Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Red Lion Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 522: English reviews
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Family Sunday lunch. The food was poor tasted like pre packed variety. The rib of beef was like something you would buy pre packed from the supermarket, scampi was mushy and the roast potatoes were just nasty. Don't bother going! On a good note the chicken was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Wend1957
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Attending a wake at the Red Lion and also stayed for the night as a guest. The 2 girls who run the Red Lion were absolutely outstanding, provided amazing service throughout our stay and even drove some of our party home late at night when taxis were unavailable. The buffet was varied, substantial and beautifully presented and everything I tasted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Holly A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Restaurant Only - I do feel the Red Lion is a lot better than it used to be. The menu is larger with a wider variety/offers and the food quality is a lot better. The price range is good and the staff were helpful and friendly. I went with a group on a Wednesday evening, early evening, but it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 300Traveller_44
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awful food, this place had a good reputation for food years ago but is terrible now, all frozen microwaved food that is over cooked and when explained to staff that we were not satisfied are comments were just ignored. Such a shame, if this place started cooking home cooked food it would be amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Karly M

Travelers are raving about these Todwick hotels

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a family room for 3 adults... bonus as a lot of places won't accept children over 15 and expect you to pay for extra room. They phoned about a week before to ask if we'd like to book an evening meal as they get busy on a Saturday night. Grateful for the forethought as nothing worse than arriving hungry... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fran B
Laura C, General Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review , we are glad we made your stay lovely and comfortable , I will pass your comment onto my team, We hope to see you again soon. Laura and team More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly, standard of food brilliant, good location for touring around the local attractions. We recommend Bolsover Castle (English Heritage) about 12 miles away. The Red Lion, definitely worth revisiting, which we hope to!

Helpful?
Thank Janna627
Laura C, General Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you had a great weekend stay , Thank you for your review I will pass your comments on to my team, Look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon. Laura and team More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife, 2 children, myself and another couple arrived late afternoon to a very busy bar area that we had to shove and bump though the crowds. Which could have put some people off. But not us. We asked for a table for 6 people and they informed us that they had a table we could have but would need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee H
Laura C, General Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and high lighting a few very important points , as the new manager just taken over I will take your comments on board to ensure we make your next visit a lot better. Laura and team. More 

daveybear
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used for an evening meal. Very poor food (we use another member of this chain frequently and this was horrific on comparison) and equally poor service. For the prices charged, this was appalling value and we will definitely not be going anywhere near this place again.

Helpful?
Thank daveybear
Laura C, General Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had a terrible meal with us , as the new manager I will be taking on your comments and working hard to ensure my staff get the right training to constantly deliver high standards of food and service More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After taking part in the colour run in Sheffield we headed to the red lion for an over night stay. Entering we were wary that we may be turned away as we were covered in a range of coloured powder, but this wasn't the case. The reception staff we very friendly and helpful. We made our way down a peaceful... More 

Helpful?
Thank marsdenmummy89
Laura C, General Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review myself and team or delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Laura and team More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been regular customers here for any years and have had some bad meals but ate here last week and were quite surprised. The meal was very good and the service and staff were very helpful. We will eat here again

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhondda G
Laura C, General Manager at Red Lion Inn, responded to this review

Great to hear you will be returning We look forward to seeing your soon. Laura and team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todwick
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rotherham East (M18/M1) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#3 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#33 of 55 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield Meadowhall Hotel
5.4 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#10 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn

Address: Sheffield Road, Todwick, Rotherham S26 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Todwick
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Todwick
Red Lion Sheffield
Sheffield Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay