We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Redcastle Hotel

Traveler (687)
Room & Suite (306)
Dining (97)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Moville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
A warm Irish welcome awaits you at the four star Redcastle Oceanfront, Golf & Spa Hotel. With a magical waterfront location, overlooking Lough Foyle on the picturesque Inishowen Peninsula in Donegal, it’s the perfect getaway for a short break or family holiday at home.Set among mature woodland with 93 guest rooms including suites and family rooms and sea view rooms, our own 9-hole parkland golf course and exclusive Thalasso Spa, the Resort oozes charm, style and warm hospitality. Our Waters Edge Restaurant is appropriately named with breathtaking views across Lough Foyle and a menu that features the finest local seafood and fare.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free Internet
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Golf course
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Sauna
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
2,230Reviews
15Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,111
  • 615
  • 274
  • 137
  • 93
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
A beautiful hotel in a stunning location. The views are absolutely breathtaking from the hotel room. The pool area was very clean and we had a comfortable night's sleep. We ate in the restaurant which was just ok. There was very little variety and portion sizes were small for the prices were on the very, very high scale. Although the breakfast was lovely with a good selection.
Read more
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments on the location of the hotel an the leisure facilities. I will certainly pass your comments on to the management team. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Redcastle Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Redcastle Customer Care Team
Read more
We attended a wedding reception here tonight and shaun was the most accommodating bar man ever!!! Thus man deserves a raise! Great bar man, made the night perfect, so friendly and great craic! Made the night the success it was
Read more
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Stacey, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you were attending in the hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments about Shaun, I will certainly pass those on to him. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Redcastle Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Redcastle Customer Care Team
Read more
Stayed at the hotel for two nights on a bed and breakfast basis from 19-21 June. We stayed in Room 500 on the first floor - a one bedroom suite. The hotel is situated in Redcastle, Donegal right on the seafront. Although in a lovely setting the hotel itself needs a bit of TLC. My big complaint about our room was the actual configuration. A one bedroom suite where the living room served no purpose whatsoever! The room had a lovely juliette balcony- though unfortunately only a slight side seaview. It was furnished with a sofa, chair, coffee table and two side units. I believe the TV should have been in this room and not in the bedroom (where it was). The lack of TV rendered the room useless. There was also a camp bed made up in this room which was not required or requested! For a 4 star hotel the lack of an in room fridge was a big let down. The bedroom was nicely decorated though little silly things like slanty lampshades and loose light fittings on the headboard (which would take minutes to fix) let it down. The bathroom was lovely and stocked with nice toiletries. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off twice on our first night - at 11pm and 3.40am. There was absolutely no guidance or information from hotel staff on either occasion and in fact we could not contact reception either time. This led to us wandering round the hotel trying to find out what was going on ourselves. A follow up in the morning did not enlighten us either. As the General Manager, David Cahill, was 'at a meeting' we emailed him from our room. As of today, two days later, we are still waiting a response. Breakfast at the hotel was really nice. Good quality food and plenty of choice. The room is far too hot though and must be unbearable during the summer. Despite these minor details I would return to the hotel, though would prefer to pay the extra for a room with seaview as opposed to a one bedroom suite.
Read more
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tracy, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. Thank you for your helpful comments, I will certainly pass these on to the team. If a guest would like a fridge in the room this can be requested with the reception team, I am sorry if you were not aware of this. I apologise that you were woken by the fire alarm, this is in place for the safety of the hotel guests. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food in the hotel and that you would like to return in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Redcastle Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Redcastle Customer Care Team
Read more
+1
Check in fine staff very pleasant. Restaurant overlooking bay was beautiful. Room was clean and presentable although could do with modernisation as furniture was a bit chipped and worn. View was lovely overlooking the bay.Meal in hotel was very nice. Was woken 3 times during the night with the fire alarm so didn't get any sleep. Brought it to the attention of receptionists at breakfast who was aware of the issue. Breakfast was nice and fresh .
Read more
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Dee, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely comments about the location of the hotel and about the food. I am sorry to hear that you were woken by the fire alarm during your stay, this is in place in the hotel for the safety of guests. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to The Redcastle Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Redcastle Customer Care Team
Read more
location has beautiful views across to Magilligan Strand, especially from restaurant and bar area. Food at breakfast and dinner was good choice and tasty. Staff all very professional, and special thanks to Rebecca for arranging for us to have a room which suited our needs.
Read more
Response from Your_Customer_Care, Guest Relations Manager at Redcastle Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Redcastle Oceanfront Golf & Spa Hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you sincerely for your positive comments in relation to your experiences during your time with us. I was delighted to read your kind feedback about our team. It is hugely motivational for the team to be recognised in such a positive manner. I will certainly pass your comments on to Rebecca and all the team. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to Redcastle Hotel in the very near future. Kind Regards, Redcastle Customer Care Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$90 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
redcastle hotel donegalcarlton redcastle hotel and thalassocarlton movillecarlton hotel redcastledonegal hotel redcastlehotel redcastle
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Redcastle Hotel
LOCATION
IrelandMoville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing