We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Planai

Save
Share
Coburgstrasse 53, Schladming 8970 Austria
Hotels.com
FindHotel
Expedia.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (20)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (11)

About

#20 of 35 hotels in Schladming
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
You will hardly find accommodation with a better location. The main lift is only 10 m from the hotel! Discounts for children up to 18 years makes this hotel ideal for families with teenagers. At the hotel you find everything you need for a perfect stay in the Alps. A restaurant to eat, a bar to drink, a sauna area to relax, a play room for children, a small pool on our sun terrace to cool off in the summer, a garage to park your car and a storage room to stow your sports gear. You’ll also find a sports shop with ski equipment and bike rental on the other side of the hotel and a small supermarket in the same building as the hotel. PLANET PLANAI IN THE SUMMER SEASON 10 meters from the Hotel entrance the Planai-Gondola takes you up to 1.830 meters altitude, where you find the start of the mountain bike park, the Hopsiland-kids adventure land and the beginning of many hiking trails. The local busses also stop in front of the hotel and take you to all attractions and activities in the area. The town center with its pedestrian zone and multitude of shops and cafes is also just 200 meters from the hotel. PLANET PLANAI IN THE WINTER SEASON Unbeatable 10 meters to the next lift that takes you straight up to the fantastic ski area around Schladming. And just 100 meters from the hotel you will find the Hohenhaus Tenne - with three floors it is Europe's largest Apres-ski spot. The pleasant pedestrian street in the centre of Schladming with its great range of shops and cafes is only 200 meters from the hotel.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Skiing
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking garage
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Spa
Hammam
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, German
90Reviews1Q+A0Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 32
  • 38
  • 11
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
antagligen wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions2 helpful votes
The room was alright, clean good size for 2 people and that's about it nothing special for a 4 star hotel. The sauna area was ok as well, just a bit annoying it opened very late (14.00 - 21.00). However the food was terrible during our stay there. We had booked a week at this hotel with breakfast and dinner all days during our stay, and the only thing that was good at the restaurant was the serving staff, quick on cleaning the table and food was served fairly quickly. The food was bland and the majority of the time overcooked. The desserts and the appertizers were served as a buffé while the main course was served ala carté. The main course portions are minimal and in my opinion were served in such a way to seem more high class than the food actually was. The only thing we were satisfied with were the different cream soups that were served. And the new years meal was nothing special at all ( a big disapointment). The breakfast was boring with a selection of 3 or 4 different kinds of bread, different spreads, eggs, one type of sausage (or bacon which we had 1 day). The rest were sugary desserts or cereal. As we booked this as a package we're not sure if the pricing is fair for hotels in the same area but if you're looking for an alright room this hotel should be fine. For food you can find a lot better at other locations in Schladming.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Anne Cathrine Lind Ceni, Agency / Consultant at Hotel Planai
Responded May 11, 2020
Dear antagligen, First of all, we want to thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write it! We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We will off course listen to all of your points and try to se how we can improve this coming season. We always try to do our best, but we also want to improve year by year. We hope you still enjoyed your stay and holiday in Schladming! Best regards, Hotel Planai and team
Read more
Inkske wrote a review Jun 2019
Deinze, Belgium25 contributions
+1
We stayed for one week in early june. We booked this date because it came out really cheap compared to other dates. Because of this our expectations weren't really high, thinking we would end up in a really small, badly located room. But it was much better than expected. We had a nice room with a balcony that had a view of the pool and terrace and the hill of the planai mountain. The all-in also overtook our expectations. The food was overall really good, although sometimes much too salty. The buffet isn't really extensive, but had always more than enough to choose from. Sometimes the popular dishes were quickly empty, but you could see they tried to refill as quickly as possible. Only bit of negative point for us was on sunday. We mostly took lunch from the breakfast buffet(for which they laid paperbags), but on sunday we decided to make use of the lunch soup. But when we came in the restaurant there was no soup. Apparently we were the only ones that didn't check out that day. When they noticed they were quickly to warm us some soup and bring us bread, so no problem there. After that we went to our room, but our room key wasn't working anymore!!! We were scared they thought we had to check out too, and given our room to someone else or something. The key was quickly fixed at the reception, although without apologizes, and luckily everything was as we left it. Other than that we had a really nice stay. The location is really great, with lots to see and do. And with the summercard you get at the hotel lots is free or with discount.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from lionalpin_lionalpin, Marketing at Hotel Planai
Responded Jun 23, 2019
Dear Inkske, Thank you very much for your review and 5 stars! We really appreciate your comments, positive and negative, which we will all take into consideration. We do hope to welcome you back sometime. Best regards, Hotel Planai
Read more
linda l wrote a review Mar 2019
krstd43 contributions7 helpful votes
Our second time at hotel Planai. It has a very good location with the ski gondola across the street. A breakfast that is boring but you get the basics. The staff is unorganized and dinner time in the restaurant is a confusing experience. We booked dinner every night at 8 pm and after one hour the staff is more focused on bringing the breakfast things in order than focusing on cleaning your table and be service minded and professional. The rooms are okay, good with balcony, wardrobe for clothes and nice beds but they have some issues with humidity, air etc. The luggage room for departure day is a story for itself... The food at dinner was far worse this time than 2016 when we were there for the first time. Not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from lionalpin_lionalpin, Marketing at Hotel Planai
Responded Mar 12, 2019
Dear 975lindal, Thank you for your review on our hotel and for your constructive critisism. We will definitely look into it. We do hope, however, that you enjoyed your holiday in Schladming. Best regards, Hotel Planai
Read more
tartantottie wrote a review Mar 2019
Helsingborg, Sweden6 contributions7 helpful votes
In what was billed and booked as an all inclusive deal, all drinks at dinner were extra - even water, to which end they switched off the soft drink machine. It was staffed for buffet, but some nights they insisted on a la carte ordered 24 hours in advance. Sensibly to save money and waste, but neither kitchen nor staff could cope. Food- dreadful. Rooms - overheated and too small for a family of three. Planai, you need rest less on proximity to the ski lift and care more about the hotel basics.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from lionalpin_lionalpin, Marketing at Hotel Planai
Responded Mar 12, 2019
Dear tartantottie, Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry that you had a bad experience with our hotel and that there seemed to be so many misunderstandings. It is true that we are an all inclusive hotel during the summer, but in winter we offer half board. We are truely sorry if this was not communicated clearly. Best regards, Hotel Planai
Read more
Jobru71 wrote a review Jan 2019
Skara, Sweden15 contributions3 helpful votes
A good hotel with decent room standard. Ok tasting food but too small portions after a whole day of skiing. Bit when asking for bigger portions kitchen had no problem to accommodate. Very moist in the entire hotel. Water was running along the walls in the stairway and as a result the paint ”bubbled” up. Big problem with the room temperature. We had a family room and the rooms had an average temp of 27-28 C (!). Impossible to have a good night sleep. Had to tell the reception 6 (!) times to fix it. It ended up having them ritning the heat off completely. Resulting in an average temp of 24-25C. Never got an explanation to why they couldn’t fix it properly. Without room temp issue I’ve would have given **** but....
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from lionalpin_lionalpin, Marketing at Hotel Planai
Responded Jan 24, 2019
Dear Jobru71, Thank you for your review and your constructive criticism. Such a high temperature is off course not comfortable when you want to sleep. The staff have done their best to solve the problem and turned down the heat as soon as they were notified about the issue. Unfortunately, it takes time for the floor heating to cool down. We are very sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience with the room temperature. However, we do hope that you had a nice holiday in Schladming and otherwise a good stay with us. Best regards, Hotel Planai
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$122 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaStyriaSchladming
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Planai
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Planai?
Nearby attractions include Planai & Hochwurzen (0.04 miles), Der Weinfinder (0.2 miles), and Scladming Catholic Church (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Planai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Planai?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Planai?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Planai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Julius, Stadtbräu Schladming, and Steakhouse Friesacher.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Planai?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Planai located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Schladming.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Planai?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Planai?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Planai?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Turmruine der oberen Reithtaler Klause (1.7 miles).