We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cedars Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cedars Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

630 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 623: English reviews
Start your review of Cedars Inn
 Click to rate
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a week and it was superb. All the staff were really sociable and helpful. The food, including breakfast, was cooked fresh and beautifully presented. The room was really clean and beds very comfortable. Possibly the best hotel stay so far and we have stayed in quite a few. A big thank you to all staff. What a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Saturday evening had a meal with a group of 13, the food was all very good, however the service was terrible. Despite having pre-ordered, the main courses were attempted to be served before we'd received our starters which when queried with the server we were told 'so what' and then he tried to continue to serve before we insisted he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Impressed by hotel, thought our refurbed room was homely, modern but cosy and comfortable, a couple of snagging issues but I'm sure they'll sort them as we informed reception upon checking out. Breakfast was tasty and staff attentive. As a professional gardener I thought that the gardens had some lovely shrubs but could be made much more of (there's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had made a mistake with our booking, but it was quickly and very efficiently rectified by Tracey at reception, with a cheery smile. First class room and bathroom, spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard, food nicely presented, well cooked and reasonably priced. Breakfast was of very good quality, freshly cooked to order and served by cheerful staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reg724
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to see Tracey assisted you in rectifying your mistake, I will pass on your thanks. Please do come back and see us again soon. Peter Elder General Manager

Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Saw the comfort food over on Facebook. The offer ask me to private message to book. Which I did this was easy & I got replies quickly. Didn't actually need to book as we wanted to eat at 5pm. Food was great value, tasty & filling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us at the Cedars, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and see us again soon. We have a new menu launching on 15th March. Peter and team

West Wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a nice find! Very convenient for a visit to North Devon. The rooms are in separate blocks from the main building, but there is a covered walk for inclement weather. The meals are typical pub food, if you've stayed at à Premier inn and ate at the attached restaurant, you will find a similar menu, the food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesTaffey
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Cedars Inn. Soya milk is not a product we stock due to low demand, but we can cater for any dietary requirements if advised in advance. Kind regards Peter and team

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really did enjoy the stay. Food great. Dog friendly . We are even looking at getting married there. Great position for visiting the area. The lady at breakfast was so kind offering sausages for the dogs. The locals who sat in the bar were full of information.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buryman66
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for staying with us at the Cedars Inn, I am pleased to see you loved our newly refurbished rooms. If you would like any further information on weddings a the Cedars, please do give us a call and ask for Sophie - she will be able to help with any information for you ....

Todmorden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel, with beautifully finished rooms and decor. Staff were very attentive and welcoming. However, our stay was unfortunately let down by breakfast. Whilst the continental choice was good and very fresh, the cooked options were below average. The ingredients seemed to be of good quality, but were poorly prepared. (Maybe the chef was having an off-day). This said we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast.. I can only assume this was a one off, as our team get a lot of positive comments about both quality and quantity available and we only use high quality products. I have passed your comments on to the kitchen Manager and he is going to review with his...

Luton
Reviewed February 16, 2017

Myself and a friend have been staying at the Cedars for several years for short trips as it is convenient for visiting my mother nearby. We have always been pleased and enjoyed a comfortable stay, sometimes eating in the bar or restaurant. This stay far surpassed any stays prior to this. As a party of five we arrived with no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernieLuton
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased to see all our hard work and investment is being well received by our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter and team

Manchester
Reviewed February 15, 2017

People helpful at reception. Breakfast adequate, bonus it's available till 10.00am. Accommodation very good value for the rate we paid. Good car parking facilities.Easy to get to various places from the hotel site.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Cedars Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Peter and team

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sticklepath
1.0 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,103 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barnstaple Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
497 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
Royal & Fortescue Hotel
#5 of 6 in Barnstaple
473 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Cedars Inn

Address: Bickington Road, Sticklepath, Barnstaple EX31 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Barnstaple > Sticklepath
Price Range: $85 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cedars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Hotel Barnstaple
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Cedars Inn staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
over a year ago
St Albans
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Cedars Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Try for a ground floor unit.”
 of 5 bubbles WestWalesTaffey, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Loved the style of the 'upstairs' rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles A1389ZQlindac, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Best views.”
 of 5 bubbles F6529MZmichaeld, Feb 15, 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor would be quieter but stairs to climb”
 of 5 bubbles deedudl, Feb 10, 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms are very comfortable and newly refurbished, covered walkway to main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JoyL826, Jan 31, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question