We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Kikar Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rupnagar
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 237: English reviews
Start your review of The Kikar Lodge
 Click to rate
Karnal, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

undoubtedly a wonderful place to visit.This is a natural forest area which has been customised in a natural way so that one can enjoy the luxury with natural touch. activities are wonderful and secured. Food is awesome which is mainstay of punjabi hospitality.Staff has been trained by management to accommodate to the m ax. Two wonderful pools are there.F&B manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iqbal12342016
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and for your good wishes. Punjabi hospitality is something that we are famous for and go out of our way to provide it to our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed the forest and all our activities at the Lodge. We look forward to having you back with us soon. Regards,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing - exceeded my expectations.Very good place for you to escape from mad crowd of cities. If you want to be out of rat race , this is the place . Fantastic service, all I can say it's a paradise with an awesome surroundings, amazing staff and hospitality. Our stay was wonderful .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tajinder J
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, We are always looking at improving ourselves and try to provide more than the customer desires. Being an off beat property we are away from the maddening crowd and in the lap of nature, which is enjoyed by some and not liked by some. We look forward to having you back with us soon, Regards,

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

there should be a mosquito net in every room. they should have a chemist and a general store at the property itself as the hotel is extremely cut off from the main city. beware of monkeys in the property. not a place to take kids or babies at all. food is quite bad. their adventure sports are good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AanchalChawla
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, Though we constantly spray in and around our rooms for bugs and mosquitoes, we are a forest Lodge and will have some amount that will escape for the spraying. As for a chemist shop, we have an stock of medicines at the reception for emergencies and a doctor on call too. Food is something which...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at the property with my family and relatives for one night. We booked 6 forest view rooms as the name suggests u can expect all the forest creatures in ur room so we all had atleast 3 lizards in our bathrooms, cockroaches and crickets in our room and on the beds. Food was pathetic with very short menu....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manisha B
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Manisha, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Lodge. Though we spray our rooms inside and around every evening, especially during the summer and monsoon months. Sometime it does happen that one leaves the door open and the insects get attracted to the light from within the room. Ththough...

Yorkshire
Reviewed April 7, 2017

We arrived about 8pm, absolutely shattered. Refused room service and told we could share a buffet with the party that was going on. Declined as the party was VERY loud (the ground was shaking over 200 yards away). Music was supposed to stop at 10. It didn't, then followed by drunks shouting into the early hours. This wasn't the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robpithers
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. Yes we did have a group that had requested a DJ, and unfortunately it close down at 1030 instead of 10pm. As for your feedback about the room, o have already taken the necessary action and have had it replaced. I again apologise for the inconvenience caused by the DJ.

Chandigarh, India
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Went their with family and friends on a biking event .Service is just o k. Food wasn't very good. Atmosphere is serene . Property is good for people looking for a quiet place away from city rush . Advanture activities like zipline, Quad Bike are available on payment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jsbasur
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your feedback. Though we are very good in service and our quality of food is also of a good standard, I am sorry that it did not meet up to your expectations. I wish you had expressed this during your stay and we would have given you a choice immediately. I look forward to having...

Reviewed February 26, 2017 via mobile

We went in a big group from Delhi to kikar lodge for a weekend getaway. It was a 5hour non stop ride by road. Few of us reached late. The last few kilometres are a little scary in the evening. Rooms- rooms are okay. Wooden huts, small washrooms with buckets and mugs. Very indian style. Hot water off and on....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anuraj K
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I have already taken the required action in regard to the table tennis and paintball guns. We have replaced the old ones with new. Though we do not have wooden huts at the Lodge, we do have hot water boilers that give out constant hot water which does not finish. Breakfast at the Lodge consists...

Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Situated in the foothills of Shivalik range the Kikar lodge is 6km from Nurpur Bedi town of Ropar Distt of Punjab The approach to is horrible Road is narrow bad and ill maintained Property is not well maintained Rooms are ordinary Restaurant is stinky Services provided are ordinary at exorbitant price Staff is rustic rude and un-co-operative It was nightmare...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Satinder C
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Satinder, Thank you for your feedback, The last bit to Kikar is narrow, i.e. 15 feet and then once you enter the property it opens up again. We have concreted the entire road from our main gate to the Lodge. i do apologise if you found our staff rude, this is a first as never before, and I mean...

Ghaziabad, India
Reviewed January 30, 2017

We were looking for a two-day holiday near Delhi and booked The Kikar Lodge after reading a few reviews on the internet. I was not too confident of the place amenities and service as it is located at a secluded location. However, it happened to be a surprise package. Service was good and stay was comfortable but the hero of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PraveenSingh2017
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Praveen, Thank you for your feedback, Trains and flights during the winter months are slightly tricky due to the fog, though driving is not a bad option too. I look forward to seeing you and the family back with us soon. Best wishes,

Reviewed January 30, 2017

Ok, lets start by saying that this is not a place where you will get a great view of things or nature... Rather this is a place where you have to find excitement by doing activities/adventure sports. Which are facilitated by the lodge itself. But make sure you do not reach there in a rainy season. Way to the lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashish K
Amarindar, General Manager at The Kikar Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Ashish, Thank you for your feedback, GPS would be a great thing to get to us, though we do have sign boards all along the road. It was great having you with us and look forward to seeing you soon. Regards

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/11/2017 06/12/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rupnagar
17.2 mi away
Fort Nalagarh - A Heritage Resort
23.1 mi away
Legend Sarovar Portico
19.0 mi away
Hotel Gianz
Hotel Gianz
#6 of 8 in Baddi
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Park
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
BEST WESTERN Hunky Dory
#1 of 1 in Dhar Kalan
50 reviews
20.2 mi away
Ramshehar Fort Resort
Ramshehar Fort Resort
#1 of 22 in Solan
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Kikar Lodge

Address: Village Kangar, Nurpur Bedi | Ropar, Rupnagar 140117, India
Location: India > Punjab > Rupnagarr District > Rupnagar
Price Range: $116 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
The Kikar Lodge Punjab, India - Rupnagar
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Kikar Lodge staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Kikar Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Pool side family suites with all meals is a good option”
iqbal12342016, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“pool view rooms are better”
AanchalChawla, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Plan your tour in a group”
jsbasur, Mar 6, 2017 | Read review
“forest facing cottages are quieter and sunny”
Rashmikd, Jan 6, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with garden view are the cheapest and are good enough to opt for.”
  • This is the garden view
Malvika_Bahety, Nov 26, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question