We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Dayapur Island P.O. Gosaba, 24 Paraganas, Sundarbans National Park 743370 India
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (271)
Room & Suite (67)
Dining (18)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 09/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sunderban Tiger Camp
Updated 09/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sundarbans National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Sunderban Tiger Camp is an escapade in the lap of nature. Located at Dayapur Island, it is a blissful world that shields you from your television, newspapers, Internet and (sometimes) telephone. Established in 2004, it is the flagship property of Waxpol Hotels and Resorts and is situated across the Sundarbans National Park, the largest estuarine mangrove forest in the world. It started as a camp wherein we were providing guests with tented accommodation, which led to the name: Sunderban Tiger Camp. It has been certified by TOFT as a quality accommodation. It is the first Government approved jungle resort in the region and has played a vital role in pioneering sustainable wildlife tourism in the Sundarbans National Park. This eco-friendly property adheres to the island’s sensitive ecology; in the absence of electricity and fresh water, we have successfully thrived with solar energy and rainwater harvesting. The air-conditioned cottages and rooms have hot water 24 hours a day. The resort is uniquely designed and reflects the local culture and flavor of the Sundarbans region. There are 21 well-appointed rooms and the decor makes use of locally sourced materials and incorporates elements of the natural surroundings and local traditions. Our restaurant, The Fisherman’s Wharf, serves a selection of local and international cuisine (on request) and utilises locally sourced ingredients as much as possible. In the evenings, guest can enjoy a sundowner at the Gol Ghar bar.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Boating
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
24-hour security
Parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Game room
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Electric kettle
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Full view
Contact
Dayapur Island P.O. Gosaba, 24 Paraganas, Sundarbans National Park 743370 India
Getting there
Mumbai Airport1056 miSee all flights
Netaji Subhas Chandra Airport45 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
187Reviews7Q+A53Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 58
  • 82
  • 26
  • 10
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Nick S wrote a review Mar 2020
Totton, United Kingdom301 contributions86 helpful votes
The accommodation is pretty basic but it is far from a town so not unexpected. Was very quiet when we stayed as the virus issues were just coming to a head for visitors. We had a private tour organised and the camp manager did everything asked of him with regards meals on the boat. Actually the site manager was a star all round. The food was pretty much a variety of curry for all three meals however the manager did us some sandwiches for the boat breakfast which was very helpful” of him. Go with the expectation what you will see wildlife at every turn of the river and you will be disappointed but if realistic you will enjoy a peaceful break.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Waxpolhotels, Manager at Sunderban Tiger Camp
Responded Mar 21, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Sunderban Tiger Camp for your stay at Sunderban National Park and for writing such a beautiful review. We really appreciate the feedback you have given about your experience with us. A stay at the Sunderban Tiger Camp is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on comfort. The resort is environmentally positive, and we source our own water through rain water harvesting which is provided for drinking, cooking, bathing and showers. All our garbage is segregated and recycled at source. Solar water heaters provide hot water through taps in the cottages-This is our initiative to conserve water as the source is not permanent. Waste water is used for Gardening. The food produce is either organically grown at the resort or sourced from the local market. Everything else has to be sourced and provided from Kolkata as sunderbans is quite remote and nothing is available without prior notice. We thank you for supporting our green initiative. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming all of you back to Sunderban Tiger Camp soon. Thank you Team Sunderban Tiger Camp
Read more
John T wrote a review Mar 2020
Colchester, England, United Kingdom21 contributions17 helpful votes
Dispite the receint cyclone and all the devestation and the closeure of the park, we still spotted lots of wildlife and the accomadition was just perfect even with the decisation the staff were most helpfull could not have had a better stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Waxpolhotels, Manager at Sunderban Tiger Camp
Responded Mar 21, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Sunderban Tiger Camp for your stay at Sunderban National Park and for writing such a beautiful review. We really appreciate the feedback you have given about your experience with us. A stay at the Sunderban Tiger Camp is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on comfort. The resort is environmentally positive, and we source our own water through rain water harvesting which is provided for drinking, cooking, bathing and showers. All our garbage is segregated and recycled at source. Solar water heaters provide hot water through taps in the cottages-This is our initiative to conserve water as the source is not permanent. Waste water is used for Gardening. The food produce is either organically grown at the resort or sourced from the local market. Everything else has to be sourced and provided from Kolkata as sunderbans is quite remote and nothing is available without prior notice. We thank you for supporting our green initiative. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming all of you back to Sunderban Tiger Camp soon. Thank you Team Sunderban Tiger Camp
Read more
Kumud B wrote a review Mar 2020
Concord, Canada2 contributions
◦ ◦ I have just returned from an amazing trip to the Sundarban delta in India. Sunderbans the biggest delta in the world ,magical and beautiful! The two mighty rivers Ganga and Brahmaputra, have carved this delta on the coast of Bengal in India and adjoining Bangla Desh. There are myriad islands big and small covered by some unique flora and fauna. Home of the majestic Bengal tiger, the colorful kingfishers and the shy speckled deer ! One of nature’s most diverse biosphere . The mangrove vegetation with its different root systems is something worth seeing. The soft,slow puttering of the ferry boats as they carry you through these waters gives one a glimpse of the island people and their easy paced life closely intertwined with rise and fall of the tides. Sundarban dark and mysterious, constantly living on the edge of time because one never knows what the tide will bring or swallow on its retreat ! So see it before it vanishes ! The best time to visit is winter and the Tiger Camp Resort is a comfortable place to stay .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Waxpolhotels, Manager at Sunderban Tiger Camp
Responded Mar 21, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Sunderban Tiger Camp for your stay at Sunderban National Park and for writing such a beautiful review. We really appreciate the feedback you have given about your experience with us. A stay at the Sunderban Tiger Camp is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on comfort. The resort is environmentally positive, and we source our own water through rain water harvesting which is provided for drinking, cooking, bathing and showers. All our garbage is segregated and recycled at source. Solar water heaters provide hot water through taps in the cottages-This is our initiative to conserve water as the source is not permanent. Waste water is used for Gardening. The food produce is either organically grown at the resort or sourced from the local market. Everything else has to be sourced and provided from Kolkata as sunderbans is quite remote and nothing is available without prior notice. We thank you for supporting our green initiative. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming all of you back to Sunderban Tiger Camp soon. Thank you Team Sunderban Tiger Camp
Read more
Mysuccessrulezz wrote a review Feb 2020
29 contributions5 helpful votes
Blissful , nice and relaxing. The cottage assigned was awesome. Good was good too. The place is calm and good time to spend peacefully. Very well behaved staff. Enjoyed our stay. Will definitely visit again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Waxpolhotels, Manager at Sunderban Tiger Camp
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Sunderban Tiger Camp for your stay at Sunderban National Park and for writing such a beautiful review. We really appreciate the feedback you have given about your experience with us. A stay at the Sunderban Tiger Camp is definitely unique - it brings you close to the nature without compromising on comfort. The resort is environmentally positive, and we source our own water through rain water harvesting which is provided for drinking, cooking, bathing and showers. All our garbage is segregated and recycled at source. Solar water heaters provide hot water through taps in the cottages-This is our initiative to conserve water as the source is not permanent. Waste water is used for Gardening. The food produce is either organically grown at the resort or sourced from the local market. Everything else has to be sourced and provided from Kolkata as sunderbans is quite remote and nothing is available without prior notice. We thank you for supporting our green initiative. We will look forward to the opportunity of welcoming all of you back to Sunderban Tiger Camp soon. Thank you Team Sunderban Tiger Camp
Read more
Janaki Visvanath wrote a review Feb 2020
35 contributions9 helpful votes
We had a 3 nights2 days package here for us 3 friends. The cottage we were assigned was beautiful and the food served both veg and non veg was good. Our woes started with the safaris. We were very keen to experience the ecology and appreciate the flora, fauna and wildlife that Sundarbans had to offer. The deal included early morning start on the boat, and back in the resort only by 2 for lunch. We were ok with packed breakfast. However we had, to our misfortune another group of 3 noisy couples who hadn't the faintest idea of wilderness. They needed toast and omlettes for breakfast. The management of the resort bent over backwards and sent a stove with generator on the boat. Imagine if you can attract any kind of wildlife if you have a generator on the boat! The noise alone will have driven away the tiger into the deeper reccesses of the jungle. After our objections on day one, Manager Joydeep agreed to not keep generator for day 2 and we were hoping for a more peaceful boat through the marshland. However the same scenario was repeated on the second day as well. We had just no chance of getting any sightings. The camp boasts of the best naturalist in Sundarbans, Mr. Niranjan, who is truly very very knowledgeable, having grown up there. Also, young Ayon Mondal, a forest guide equally good and very happy to show you the sights. However, having such good guides is wasted on this resort, where the Manager is unwilling to put his foot down on bad forest etiquette.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Waxpolhotels, Manager at Sunderban Tiger Camp
Responded Mar 1, 2020
Dear Guest, We Thank You for appreciating our cottages and quality of food served and henceforth we would like to bring to your valued attention on your day one return from your safari - we had a discussion in which we appreciated your views but at the same time reminding you that you were on a shared cruise and we have to look into another valued guests request too. We had told you as per your request we will try to put your views in front of our co-sharers and request them on your behalf and had instructed the forest escort who was, however, our ex-employee to put the generator off after the boat enters the deep into the buffer zone as by that time our other guests would have had enough time to get their slices of bread toasted and served on their plates. In this context, We would also bring another point to your notice that we have no need to send stove in our boat as they are equipped with gas ovens and we have adequate fire fighting units in our boats too which you should have had noticed. Further emphasizing your concern for wildlife we would suggest that leave alone the tiger - even birds would not have sighted if your thought process was in the right direction but incidentally bird sightings were done on that cruise. Finally, we once again take this opportunity to thank you for appreciating our veg food served to you and your friends as it was up to your taste and satisfaction.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sunderban tiger camp hotel kolkata (calcutta)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalSouth 24 Parganas DistrictSundarbans National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sunderban Tiger Camp
Which popular attractions are close to Sunderban Tiger Camp?
Nearby attractions include Sajnekhali Bird Sanctuary (1.1 miles) and Visit Sunderbans- Take A Break Travels (1.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sunderban Tiger Camp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sunderban Tiger Camp?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Sunderban Tiger Camp?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sunderban Tiger Camp?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sunderban Tiger Camp?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Is Sunderban Tiger Camp accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.