We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Scandic Sarpsborg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Scandic Sarpsborg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 35: English reviews
Saltnes, Norway
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok hotel for overnight or weekend stay, but not more. Very poor storage options for clothes. Just a few hangers and one shelf, nothing more. No refrigerator, no water cooker or coffeemaker. Not cozy at all. Maid service was just ok. A few times she forgot to check if the soap or shampoo needed refilling. When it was empty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad5056
Lizette_Stensrud, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! I would like to apologize, on the behalf of the entire team, that you didn't find housekeeping satisfactory. I will pass your comments on to our housekeeping department for further consideration. I hope you had a pleasant stay with us. Kind regards

Norway
Reviewed December 8, 2016

I was disappointed with this hotel. The lobby is ok, but cramped and the furniture has stains all over. I am not sure if the lift intentionally has a dirty look, or if it was dirt. Anyway, it is tasteless. The room itself was spacious, but it was so dark and borderline depressive, to my taste. The breakfast was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GentlemanTravel
Elisabeth S, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear guest, First I would like to thank you for sharing your review with us. It's regrettable to read you found your stay with us disappointing. We are always working towards continuous improvement, and your comments will be passed on for further consideration. Thank you.

Alesund, Norway
Reviewed December 2, 2016

Horrible staff! Not serviceminded and not helpfull. Receptionworkers does not say "good morning", "may I hjelp you" and so on Room was clean and looks nice. Breakfast was ok. Normal hotellstandard in Norway.

Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stine F
Elisabeth S, Resepsjonssjef at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear Stine. Thank you for your reveiw. We are very sorry that our receptionists did not treat you in a helpfull and servicemined way. There is no excuse for the behaviour, and we take this very seriously and will take action accordingly. I hope you will give Scandic Sarpsborg a second chance next time, and we will make sure that...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Old hotel, but renovated last years. Rooms are small and dark, but with more or less fresh interior. Bathrooms and corridors/elevator not up to date, a bit smelly. Breakfast is delicious but served in the lobby. The location is perfect, right in the city center. Easy and free parking in the hotel basement, just ask the front desk to reserve....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christer B
Lizette001, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear Christer B. Many thanks for your review of Scandic Sarpsborg. I hope you had a pleasant stay with us. Kind regards, Lizette - Social media coordinator

Norway
Reviewed September 18, 2016

We just returned from our weekend in Sarpsborg. The hotel is located close to city center. Huge plus was parking for free in front of the hotel. The staff was very service minded and helpful. The hotel itself was a bit dated, but clean. There was a strange smell though the corridors, most probably due to bad ventilation, but our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kleopetra
Lizette001, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear Kleopetra Many thanks for your review of Scandic Sarpsborg. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we will take your feedback into consideration for further improvement. Kind regards Lizette - Social Media coordinator

Reviewed September 17, 2016 via mobile

An older hotel , refurbished single view . Very small room, even smaller bathroom and the room had no minibar. The location is good and ok parking facilities . Few towels in the bathroom and a miserable thin toilet paper. The entire hotel reflect that they are trying to save on everything they can, and it seems . Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bjørn H
Lizette_Stensrud, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear Bjørn H. Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Its regrettable to read that you found your room small. Unfortunately, only a few Hotels in Norway still offers in room minibar, but we hope you found our Scandic shop located at reception satisfactory. I will share your feedback with the team, and we thank you for taking the...

Reviewed September 10, 2016

Scandic Sarpsborg is in the very centre of the city. About 8 min walk from the train station. Breaksfast is included but doesn’t meet the normal high standard of Scandic hotels. Partly because there is no real breakfast room – you basically eat in the lobby wish makes the area over crowded – and partly because there is not that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
Lizette_Stensrud, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear Dan, Thank you for your review of Scandic Sarpsborg. I am glad you found the room and staff satisfactory and I will gladly share this with my colleagues. I would also like to apologize, on behalf of the team, that you didn't find our breakfast satisfactory, and I will share your feedback with our team for further consideration. We...

Reviewed August 7, 2016 via mobile

Reading all the reviews about the crammed nonexisting breakfast and outdated rooms, we had quite low expectations. Room was actually very nice and modern, bathroom small, but useable and breakfast exceeded our expectations. Although room for breakfast being small, being bit early or late to breakfast has no feeling of rush or crammedness. Service was always nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver K
Lizette001, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear Oliver K. Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your much appreciated feedback and we hope you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Scandic Sarpsborg someday. Warm regards, Lizette, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg

Rockford, Minnesota
Reviewed July 30, 2016

This is just an average hotel. The people were nice and it was clean, but we didn't even get fresh glasses in our room each day or extra toilet paper. The rooms are very dark and sparsely furnished and quite small. Didn't get Internet for two days. Many, many hotels in Norway offer fabulous breakfasts - it's a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslee49
Lizette001, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear Leslee49, First of all I would like to thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated, and helps us with our daily work towards continuous improvement. I do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel one day. Kind regards, Lizette

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Had booked a superior room which I found comfortable and very large. Could sleep 6 persons (twin, large sleeping couch, bunk bed) and feature a dining table in addition to the sleeping arrangements. Room decor is modern albeit in dark colors so the room always seems dimly lit. Elevator is very noisy. Corridors are dated and worn. Breakfast is served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank STN74
Lizette001, Social media coordinator at Scandic Sarpsborg, responded to this review

Dear STN74. Thank you for your feedback. All our guest feedback is much appreciated. We hope you had a pleasant stay with us. Kind regards Lizette

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarpsborg
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Sarpsborg
Quality Hotel Sarpsborg
#1 of 2 in Sarpsborg
506 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
Quality Hotel Fredrikstad
#1 of 6 in Fredrikstad
405 reviews
7.7 mi away
Scandic City
Scandic City
#3 of 6 in Fredrikstad
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fredriksten Hotell
Fredriksten Hotell
#1 of 6 in Halden
68 reviews
15.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Halden
Thon Hotel Halden
#2 of 6 in Halden
157 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gamlebyen Hotell
Gamlebyen Hotell
#4 of 6 in Fredrikstad
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A short distance from Oslo, the hotel is ideal for seminars and conferences. There are 67 rooms, bar and two restaurants . Car Park available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Sarpsborg

Address: Sandesundsveien 1, Sarpsborg 1706, Norway (Formerly Rica Saga Hotel)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Ostfold > Sarpsborg Municipality > Sarpsborg
Price Range: $109 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sarpsborg 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Sarpsborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Sarpsborg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Higher floors have better views”
 of 5 bubbles ChristerB399, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
“Town square provides a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles Knudsen_P, Jul 12, 2016 | Read review
“Look for room size in hotels guides. Drop hotels without detailed description.”
 of 5 bubbles johnnyd682, Jul 2, 2016 | Read review
“The view is best on the fifth floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Westnorwegian, Sep 18, 2015 | Read review
“Perhaps wait until the renovations are completed before staying”
 of 5 bubbles amarik2201, Jun 8, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay