Svinoya Rorbuer

Svinoya Rorbuer

Traveler (727)
Our Fishermans Cabin - No 20
Room & Suite (109)
Inside cabin
Dining (28)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 6 hotels in Svolvaer
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome to Svolvaer and Svinoya Rorbuer | Open all year round Our Rorbu Resort is located in the harbor of Svolvaer the capital of Lofoten, and we provide accommodation, dining and activities on both land and sea. Our Rorbu cabins are beautifully located on the waterfront. We are Lofoten in a miniature, with a walking distance to the town center and a short drive to all transportation hubs. On our island you find the sea on one side and the dramatic mountains on the other, offering great views everywhere you lookWe also offer package deals for individuals, groups and cooperation's with accommodation in our original Rorbu cabins, newly built Rorbu Suites and Suite Hotel. We have excellent conference facilities and our renowned restaurant Borsen Spiseri serves locally produced food. With our local identity, knowledge, network and experience, we deliver world class experiences and memories for life.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Hiking
Fishing
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Breakfast available
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Oven
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Norwegian

Location

Gunnar Bergs vei 2, Svolvaer 8300 Norway
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Helle Airport
Leknes Airport
25.6 mi
See all flights
597Reviews11Q+A54Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 349
  • 186
  • 40
  • 14
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ssmmiittaa wrote a review Feb 2020
Dubai114 contributions109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in rorbu 22 on the edge of water, which was quite cozy with wonderful views of the mountains and water. We arrived late, the room keys were left in a box outside the reception, which was a 7-8 minute walk from our rorbu.

The rooms and the kitchen were well appointed and spacious and the bathroom was large. Basic amenities available for self catering, though we did not use. Breakfast was ok. Wifi was intermittent, but generally good. Location is about 15-20 minutes walk to town over the bridge. Shopping and food options on that side.

We walked among the fishing village, with wooden racks of stockfish out to dry, all the way to the pier which had fascinating views.
Also took a Lofoten island tour with ‘Lofoten Activ’ (Odd) – beautiful landscapes that kept changing every few miles, all the way to the surfing beach.
We also did the ‘Dinner with Vikings’ in Stamsund, which was a quick but Insta-worthy experience.
It was cloudy most of the time we were there so we did not see much of the Northern lights, but it was a new experience staying in a rorbu, which we enjoyed.
The Lofoten islands are beautiful. Much Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: corner rorbus provide complete isolation and open views. Check out rorbu 23 if you are looking...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smilgaki wrote a review May 2022
London, United Kingdom2,436 contributions26,796 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a few nights in one of the little wooden fisherman's huts overlooking the water.
Views from the robuer were stunning whichever window you looked out from. With every small shift of light the landscape looked different.
Our robuer had an upstairs and downstairs and two small bedrooms with two single beds each and good quality linen. The bathroom was simple but very large with underfloor heating.
The upstairs was open plan with a well-equipped kitchen (pots, pans, cooker, tableware, utensils, fridge). Please note no diswasher or washing machine if you are looking for this. Very nice dining room table and lounge area with seats and coffee table. Cute wooden stairs but please note they are narrow and steep so could be in an issue if you are not very mobile (I think they have single floor robuer on offer too).
Parking was a 3 min walk from the robuer (so not in front of the robuer).
All of the Lofoten are stunning with some of Europe's best scenery but the immediate robuer area was immensely beautiful with a lovely local walk in the immediate are and plenty of traditional wooden fish racks to see.
Reception friendly and set in a historic building.
Breakfast buffet available in the atmospheric wood-paneled restaurant (separate dinner review). Breakfast is fairly basic but adequate.
Easy walk into Svolvaer via a connecting bridge.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie G wrote a review Aug 2020
Oslo, Norway3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On my first trip (and it will not be the last) to Lofoten (a long week-end, 3 nights), I decided to treat myself to a stay in a rorbue and asked to have a small one with views both on the mountains and sea. The place was absolutely beyond my expectations. I got an amazing rorbue, which has everything you would wish for if you want to experience a typical fisherman cabin in the Lofoten (and my guess is that fishermen did not have so much comfort and amenities). It is super quiet, with outstanding views, and you can relax and cook all the food you want as the kitchen is well-equiped. It is a short walk from Svolvær sentrum and easily accessible. On top of that, the staff is very nice and welcoming. I did not want to leave, and I am already planning my next visit. Cannot wait.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GiuliaV91 wrote a review Sep 2021
Rome, Italy17 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our rorbu (the sea house we were in) was very pretty and cozy and it had a nice view of the sea, but that was about it. We arrived at 5 pm and the cabin was not ready, but at the same time they expected us to leave it by 11 am and do part of the cleaning chores by removing towels and linen and emptying trashcans. Despite promising a lovely Lofoten experience sorrounded by a beautiful scenery, the hotel was really located by several warehouses stinking like fish and oil. But the worst part was that the area where our cabin (and several others) was located was actually a construction site. All day long diggers and bulldozers worked on the small road we were to walk more times a day, coming dangerously close to where we were asked to park and even to us, because no kind of line or separation was created. In more than one occasion we had to shout to the worker to stop operating the machine not to be hit by it as we left the cabin. Once that we shared our concerns to Svinoya Rourbuer staff, we were told that there was nothing it could have been done about it. Our suggestion to maybe not rent that part of the hotel was received with a vague smile. We think it might not have been received at all. To the man at the reception our complaints were nothing to even be sorry about. That our “beautiful Lofoten experience” and (most importantly) our safety had been put at risk was not something that they thought was worth doing anything. He appeared to be amused when we suggested that somebody might get hurt someday. We are very disappointed: we wish that they would one day learn that clients are not just people to spill money from, but for now they act like nothing else but providing a roof is enough, because they can count on the beauty of the environment around them. But luckily this is not the only hotel on the Lofoten and we at least have the possibility to inform people to choose better: for their pleasant time in Lofoten, but most importantly, for their safety.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: There are very similar hotels in more fitting locations just a little further south.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarne D. wrote a review Sep 2021
Veldegem, Belgium1 contribution6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We already have a bad feeling about this place after day 1. Restaurant fully booked for 3/4 days we stay here. (They don’t give priority to guests). Luckily we have a spot on the last day. Breakfast was good, but almost nothing was available, marmelade, choco, eggs, plates, glasses, …we had to ask everything and we had to sit at a big table for 8(?) with the two of us because the tables for 2 were covered for dinner (I thought restaurant was fully booked the day before?). No welcome when entering and that makes it awkward when it’s the first time you’re having breakfast in a place. The two girls were busy cleaning everything from a large group that had just left instead of refilling the breakfast. We don’t blame the girls, but we blame the management, they have to provide more staff when they expect large groups. We were not the only ones complaining, but maybe we are the only ones writing a review. I also never complain, but we are travelling around for our honeymoon, and since this is the first place we feel like it’s too commercial. Other places gave us a lovely treatment (or upgrade) because of our honeymoon. We can’t expect that everywhere to be honest, but it is always nice ;) .. instead we have to clean the cabin ourself, put the trash out in the containers, we must do our own dishes and the WiFi always loses connection. I know, luxury problems, but not something you expect on a honeymoon in 2021. We are staying here for another 3 days, we will survive but at this moment we are not looking forward to it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rosemery Z wrote a review Jul 2020
4 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The cabins are extremely simple but for the price we paid. We expected basic comfort, but the kitchen lacks dish washer, so be prepared to dedicate your hollyday time and doing dishes.
As a guest you are expected to empty the garbage, remove the bed linnens and take all the towels to the hallway.
Pet friendly place, the area where the cabis are located has lots activities, but we wouldn't personally say that is a "must visit place".
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Camilla Haukås Skjeseth, Marketing at Svinoya Rorbuer
Responded Jul 31, 2020
Dear, We are really sorry to hear about your disappointment with our cabin. In our original cabins, we do not have a dishwasher, this is only available in our modern cabins (Rorbusuites). We ask our guests to take out the garbage and put the bed linens and towels to the hallway, just to make the cleaning job more effective. We are truly sorry that we did not live up to the expectations.. Hope you had a great time in Svolvær and Lofoten anyway! Best regards, Camilla H. Skjeseth SVINØYA RORBUER
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Reiselysten777 wrote a review Jan 2021
Oslo, Norway18 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautifully appointed seaside cabins with the best view around. After checking in, I think I beat a personal record of the number of 'Wow!' and 'OMG - look at this!' statements made within a few minutes, ha ha! Absolutely wonderful family owns and runs this charming historic lodging establishment in Svolvær. They are ever so helpful, enthusiastic and knowledgable - and will ensure you have the best possible experience in this dreamy location in the north of Norway. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The historic cabins are extremely charming. They also offer larger modern ones, so inquire about...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
herveadv wrote a review Aug 2023
Le Chesnay, France58 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in one of the rorbu cabin suites XXL+ for 3 nights. There are 9 of these (41-49). We stayed in 42. I am mentioning this as we learnt that the one we stayed in was not the property of the Svinoya Rorburer but they rent it for an individual owner for some period of the year. So I am not sure that the equipment inside ours is the same in the others. In ours there were 4 bedrooms (3 with twin beds, one with double bed) and 2 bathrooms with showers, one of which had a sauna (quite nice). One of the bedroom, the one upstairs with a little private balcony was very small with quite small twin beds. On the ground floor the rorbu had a very nice terrasse with table, chairs, cushions. The terrasse is on the harbour (not the sea, there are some rorbus on the other side of the island, on the sea), facing the city and harbour. At start we were a bit disappointed as we thought we will be facing the sea. But in fact the view was quite nice, to watch boats getting in and out of the harbour and the view on the mountains. The kitchen was extremely well equipped. Overall the rorbu was well decorated and equipped, but again may be because owners live there the rest of the year. We very enjoyed our 3 days there.

Out of the 3 nights we had dinner twice at their restaurant. The food and service are excellent. Now the menu has very limited options, which even for the dishes of the day does not seem to vary. For us it was no problem. But if we had to stay longer, not sure.

Lastly we had breakfast there. Here to be honnest we found the breakfast average. Also it was a bit difficult to get a table, and if you get late, some of the items are not refilled. Before we arrived they proposed to pre-book breakfast for a little cheaper price, which we did. Our advice would be to pre book for the first day, and decide later if you want to have breakfast or not there. To be honnest we regreted not to take breakfast at the rorbu which is well equipped and enjoy the terrasse. There are plenty of markets in the city to buy what you need for the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jerry A wrote a review Dec 2022
Harstad, Norway61 contributions10 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You have got to stay here. The cabins (Rorbuer) are wonderful. The staff is fabulous. It is within walking distance to downtown area of Svolvær. The kitchenette is well stocked with cooking and eating utensils. The restaurant, Børsen Spiseri is awesome. Will write a separate review there. If you come to the Lofoton/Svolvær area, you need to try to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
otterenko wrote a review Jul 2023
Cambridge, MA20 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 nights in the "Double Room – Standard" in the Vestfjord Apartments at the end of our 10-day trip through Lofoten. We found Svolvaer to be more expensive than the less touristy and less industrial parts of Lofoten, so we chose the double room as a "budget" option even though it was more expensive than our nice hotel room in Oslo. The room was a total ripoff: it was so small and cramped that there was no room to put our 2 normal-sized suitcases. In order to reach the bathroom, my husband either had to climb across the bed or jump over his suitcase. The double bed was topped with a mattress that hung over the sides of the platform so that we would sometimes almost roll off the bed. What the website describes as a "small refrigerator" actually seems to be a mini wine fridge the size of a small microwave, but we could not open it or plug it in anyway because the suitcase was in the way. There are two windows and the smaller one faces the parking lot entrance to the apartment building, so you have to keep the shade down for privacy and can hear everyone coming into the building. There is one wastebasket, which is in the bathroom, and even though the bathroom is a normal size, the wastebasket is so small that it is almost filled up by its own plastic bag. When we first arrived in the room, there was a dirty towel hanging on the wardrobe. I can't believe we paid 1700 NOK per night (including tax) for this terrible experience. Svinoya itself has been overhyped. As others have mentioned, there are much more beautifully located lodgings (and saunas) outside of Svolvaer. When we checked in, the person at the reception desk tried to push a specific Trollfjord boat excursion that advertises itself at the front door. We had a spectacular and memorable trip to Lofoten, but choosing to stay here was our biggest regret.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ragnar Palsson, Daglig leder at Svinoya Rorbuer
Responded Jul 20, 2023
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very sorry for your experience with us and especially what you write about the room not being fully prepared and that there were dirty towels in the room. We have reviewed our regular routines with our staff and apologize for this discrepancy. We again apologize for your experience with us and this is not how we want our guests to experience Svinøya Rorbuer. Sincerely Ragnar Palsson Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Flower asked a question Mar 2019
Newton, Massachusetts2 contributions1 helpful vote
Can hotel do their own laundry? Are there laundry services?
Answer from LofotenIslands
Lofoten Islands, Norway78 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi! we have washing machine and dryer available. agreement time at reception!
Iyong asked a question Jun 2017
Singapore, Singapore11 contributions8 helpful votes
May I know cabin 23 is under which size of rorbu? (Rorbu S, M or ...) Thank you !
Answer from Tallyho15
Uppingham, United Kingdom88 contributions58 helpful votes
cabin 23 has one bedroom with one double bed in it. The bedroom is small. However the views are amazing!
Answer from Mizner
Boca Raton, FL117 contributions62 helpful votes
It will be a 16-20 minute walk across the bridge to the reception area. Alternatively, Avis could call a taxi for you, and it is a 5-10 minute ride. It will depend on your luggage. Check google maps for directions, or ask the Avis agent to show you the route on the map. It is not a difficult walk and you will not get lost.
Answer from SvinoyaRorbuer
Svolvaer, Norway2 contributions
Hello Oscar, Thank you for Your reservation With us. Check-in until 10pm is no problem at all. Have a nice day.
strensallred asked a question Jan 2017
Strensall, United Kingdom4 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi we arrive on Thursday is there a guarantee that we get a rorbuer and not one of your newer chalets
Answer from SvinoyaRorbuer
Svolvaer, Norway2 contributions
Hi, Thank you for your message. To be sure that I check the correct reservation, I would need to know your name, please. If you have a reference number, it would be very helpful as well. Best regards, Svinøya Rorbuer
Jan T. wrote a tip Dec 2023
Singapore, Singapore3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Arrange transport to accommodation beforehand. "
Read full review
Goran A wrote a tip Nov 2023
Dublin, Ireland22 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recommended Rorbu"
Read full review
rldewolf wrote a tip Sep 2023
Circle Pines, Minnesota64 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend cabin 22!!!"
Read full review
Familie_03_11 wrote a tip Sep 2023
Boulder, Colorado16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you try the on-site restaurant Børsen."
Read full review
Sue149 wrote a tip Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom187 contributions151 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for Telegrafen for various apartments or a roybu facing out to sea."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Svolvaer area.
PRICE RANGE
$128 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
svinoya rorbuer hotel svolvaer
LOCATION
NorwayNorthern NorwayNordlandLofoten IslandsVaganSvolvaer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
56
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SVINOYA RORBUER - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Svinoya Rorbuer
Which popular attractions are close to Svinoya Rorbuer?
Nearby attractions include Lofoten Krigsminne Museum (0.4 miles), Lofoten Escape & Adventures AS (0.5 miles), and Magic Ice Lofoten (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, an oven, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Svinoya Rorbuer?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Svinoya Rorbuer?
Conveniently located restaurants include Børsen Spiseri, Restaurant Kjoekkenet, and Fellini Pizza Og Grill Svolvær.
Is Svinoya Rorbuer located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Svolvaer.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Svinoya Rorbuer?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Svinoya Rorbuer?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lofoten Museum (3.8 miles) and Kongesteinen (2.9 miles).
Does Svinoya Rorbuer have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.
All Svolvaer HotelsSvolvaer Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SvolvaerHotels near Svinoya Rorbuer
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars