We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Schuddebeurs
Post
Inbox
Search

Hostellerie Schuddebeurs

Save
Donkereweg 35, 4317 Schuddebeurs The Netherlands
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (72)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (24)
Certificate of Excellence
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
See all hotels in Schuddebeurs
Hotel Oosterschelde
Hotels.com
Resort Land & Zee
Booking.com
$105
$62
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotel Restaurant 't Klokje
Booking.com
$121
View Deal

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Free private parking nearby
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
351Reviews1Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 189
  • 115
  • 29
  • 15
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Schuddebeurs is a beautiful village with the Hostellerie fitting in perfectly, It is quaint in a lush setting with some old school finesse. It is 3 km from the closest town, so after a big bike ride be prepared to just stay at the hotel and enjoy their first class restaurant.
Read more
Response from BartdeBree, Eigenaar at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs
Responded Jul 17, 2019
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and recommendation, it is very much appreciated. We are grateful for the lovely words and I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us!
Read more
This hotel is lovely. Our luggage was placed in our room before we arrived. The rooms are small with no air conditioning. This is extra hard after cycling all day in the heat. A small fan was on the side table. Breakfast was good. The restaurant is very nice ..though expensive. The little village of Zierikzee is gorgeous. It is only 4km away...though this is a hard task when you have cycled all day. If you are cycling keep the dining issue in mind.
Read more
Response from BartdeBree, Eigenaar at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs
Responded Jul 19, 2019
Thank you so much for your feedback and recommendation, it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us! Regarding the absence of airco, it's just not one off the facilities that we offer yet.
Read more
The hotel room was clean, spacious, and quiet. There were beautiful gardens to wander through before and after dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was one of the best of our 3 week trip in France, Belgium, and The Netherlands. We were happy to celebrate our anniversary there with good food and better wine. Good service all around.
Read more
This hotel is perfect for the Hyacinth Bucket type but less so for the rest of us. In fairness, it is what it says it is. The wifi works. The beds are too soft. The water pressure could be a lot better. So could breakfast.
Read more
My wife and I had planned a day trip to Zeeland to visit a lovely fish restaurant that we know in Yerseke. However, to avoid driving over four hours in one day, we decided ultimately and at short notice to travel the day before, and spend one night in the area, before going for the aforementioned lunch the next day. We looked at many properties, but since my parents had visited this one before (although the last time many years ago), and it offered both the availability and the combination of lodging and in-house fine dining, in spite of some of the less than sterling recommendations by fellow travellers on both this site and some other travel related review sites, we decided to choose Hostellerie Schuddebeurs. Its website promised a fine and comfortable stay, so we chose the combination Senior Suite with the Lobster Arrangement. We arrived about an hour early on the day of arrival, and the room (nr 10) was not ready yet, so we elected to have a late lunch on the terrace outside the restaurant of the hotel. The staff was very friendly, throughout our stay really, and proved to be one of the highlights. The food was reasonably priced, and delicious. The quaintness of some English chickens and rooster rummaging around the outside dining area was lost on us, however. After three o'clock, we moved the car to nearer our room, as the Suite in question is located in the luscious gardens, separate from the antique and quite lovely-looking auberge-style main building. The 'garden rooms' can be reached by car via a separate entry way, but do require a fine knowledge of the dimensions of one's vehicle, as manoeuvring space is somewhat limited back there. The separate 'garden quarters' building is in fact two stories tall, and couldn't be more different in style from the main one. Our room turned out to be quite spacious, but that was roughly where the good news ended. There was a separate hallway, toilet, bathroom with separate cabin-style shower, and corner jacuzzi bathtub, and a large sitting-room annex bedroom, with garden style doors towards an outdoor terrace with some garden furniture. As the temperatures during our stay were tropical, we were looking forward to sitting here, but the heat was too overpowering, and the lush vegetation prevented any coastal wind from diminishing the heat. Cushions for the garden furniture were found in a storage room off the hall, but both them and the parasol were musty at best, and we were not brave enough to touch them. This mustiness was all pervasive throughout the room, and would be so overwhelming that my wife was never able to relax comfortably. The bathroom was not spotless, with mould residue present on the shower doors, and the toilet was not clean either, with the toilet seat being of a different shape than the bowl, and the hinges of such a type as to prevent adequate cleaning. Cobwebs and spiders were present throughout the room, despite it having been cleaned less than an hour before. The garden style doors were not easy to close again either, after we had opened them to let in some fresh air. The furniture in the room reminded us of a cross between Louis XV and Austin Powers back to the 70's. There's no arguing styles or tastes, for sure, but this amalgam looked decidedly dated, and was not entirely clean either. Finally, the bed itself proved to be as hard as a rock, and prevented either one of us from enjoying a good night's sleep. I woke up after a few hours feeling as if a truck had run me over, and my dearest wife had in fact gotten no sleep at all. So, up at the crack of dawn, knackered we both were. Breakfast was foreseen from 8am onwards only, unless otherwise coordinated. We had had enough by now, and decided to skip breakfast and call it quits at this stage. As the reception was not open either before 8am, we left our key in a safe location, and cancelled our remaining plans for the day, to return home exhausted and disappointed. Disappointed because we had higher hopes for our stay, and had planned a lovely two day trip to an otherwise really lovely region. Disappointed because this establishment's prices and descriptions lead one to expect more than what we received and experienced. Disappointed that the accommodation was so dismal. Disappointed that the original reason for the trip had to be cancelled due to our tiredness and inability to appreciate the region any further. I contacted the hotel upon our return to apologise for our hasty and early departure and to settle our bills. I explained to the kind receptionist the same story as before, and she promised me the owner would be in touch, and that she was surprised about our experience, as we had had the best room in the place. If that is so, I fear for the others. Sure enough, I did get to speak to the owner, who assured me that the room had been freshened up recently, that it was the best room, and that no expense was spared. I have no reason to doubt that, but our experience was nonetheless very disappointing. As I said, the personnel was extremely friendly and the lobster dinner was a treat, but I would seriously consider staying somewhere else. A man forewarned...
Read more
Response from BartdeBree, Eigenaar at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs
Responded Jul 27, 2018
Dear Mr Pelsmakers, Thank you for more than extensive rating /essay on tripadvisor, although we’d rather seen some compliments regarding the latest renovation and decoratings in our suites. We’re sorry that we could not fulfill your expectations and that we did’nt provide the night's rest that you obviously & desperately needed. We can asure you and our future guests, that the suites were new refurbished, redecorated, painted & the sliding doors and curtains were also renewed. Therfore your reaction surprised me, like I told you on the phone. You told me that you’d read all the reviews on different portals and it also worries me somewhat that your comment is more or less a compilation of all under-average reviews. Without the latest refurbish I could have had some more understanding for your point of view. We took care of the short comings from that specific roomtype and put a lot of efforts with an reputable interior designer & stylist to bring these rooms to a higher lever of comfort and solve the architectural short comings of these rooms. New photo’s from the refurbished rooms and area’s will be uploaded soon to the different third party’s websites. You checked in at the afternoon, when you had reported us the (alleged) defective cleaning at that moment, we would have had the opportunity to resolve your problem. It realy isn’t a problem and we’re happy with the second change or revange to forfill you expectations. We only need to get the opportunity to do so and give us at the end a more sattisfied customer. PS. you were absolutely right about the green tamish on the holder of the umbrella on the terrace, wich was cleaned directly after your stay. We’re obviouly not your dreamlocation for a short stay in the region,we regret that, but we’re still hoping for a second change. Bart de Bree Owner & kitchen chef
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$129 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsZeeland ProvinceSchuddebeurs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostellerie Schuddebeurs
Which popular attractions are close to Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
Nearby attractions include Watersnoodmuseum (4.3 miles), Sint-Lievensmonstertoren (2.0 miles), and Zuidhavenpoort Zierikzee (2.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brasserie De Kaoie, Grand Cafe de Werf, and De Gekroonde Suikerbiet.
Is Hostellerie Schuddebeurs located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Schuddebeurs.
Are pets allowed at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hostellerie Schuddebeurs?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Zuidhavenpoort Zierikzee (2.0 miles), Rijksmonument Noordhavenpoort (2.0 miles), and Gasthuis (1.9 miles).
Is Hostellerie Schuddebeurs accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.