We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Hotel Herman Bang

Save
Share
Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900 Denmark
Lowest prices for your stay
$97
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (12)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 15 hotels in Frederikshavn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang is the oldest hotel in the city of Frederikshavn. The hotel has 53 renovated and refurbished rooms in different categories. THe hotel is situated in the heart of the city close to shopping, restaurants, harbour and the train station. Free wireless internet.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Secured parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Danish
279Reviews0Q+A10Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 108
  • 84
  • 54
  • 18
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
AmarillaArvika wrote a review Nov 2021
Arvika, Sweden490 contributions171 helpful votes
+1
Great little hotel, very centrally located in Frederikshavn. Walking distance from the ferry terminal, and only steps from shops, restaurants, train station. I was upgraded to a suite, which was an unexpected delight. I was really a room, but a very nice room with a four poster bed and a sofa. Generous servings of tea and coffee, kettle and cups. Beautiful and huge bathroom with free standing tub as well as a walk in shower. There was even a tv in the bathroom. I liked the fact that I could open the windows to let some fresh air in. In sunny weather the room fot very hot. There is a fan though, in case you need it. There was an iron as well, and an ironing board. Due to the pandemic, the room wasn’t automatically cleaned every day, but you could always have a change of towels, a refill of coffee or toilet paper whenever needed. There was a little sign to hang on the doorknob if in fact you needed the room to be cleaned anyway. One thing to take into consideration is that even though there is an elevator, you may still need to climb some stairs to get to your room. In case you have mobility issues, it might be a good idea to make sure when you book to avoid problems. All members of staff that I met during my stay were super friendly and helpful, so I am sure they would do their best to help. Finally the breakfast. great coffe, several types of juice, ginger shots, you name it! Continental style, but with some addition of hot dishes. Fantastic bread and pastries. I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Frederikshavn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Herman Bang, Ejer at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks. Team Hotel Herman Bang
Read more
frunzad38 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is very central and the personal was very helpful and nice. We have had breakfast and dinner and the kitchen, specially the dinner was over our expectations. Delicious Our bathroom was bit tiny but nice and very good organised. We enjoyed our stay a lot
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Herman Bang, Ejer at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks. Team Hotel Herman Bang
Read more
Aaron M wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
We stayed at a BnB run by Best Western in Fredrikshavn Denmark and the two managers there were the most rude and unhelpful managers that I have ever had the displeasure to meet. The webpage advertised a shared lounge/tv area, a games area - pool table and table football, a tv in the room and coffee making facilities. NONE of these were at our BnB! They removed the games area, the shared tv lounge and the coffee making facilities, and the tv in our room didn’t work. We were traveling with two young children so were relying on these things to make our stay easier. When we told the manager about this, she just replied “Check out then!” Neither the old woman that we spoke to or the other manager called Lars tried to help us at all. It was the worst service I’ve ever received at a hotel/hostel/BnB, and I’ve travelled to over 30 countries. DO NOT STAY HERE! They should be ashamed and sacked.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHermanBang, Manager at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded Oct 21, 2019
Dear Aaron. We are sorry for missing Pooltable and Table football. This room is under construction and is closed off. For this misinformation we ofcourse accepted that you could find another hotel with no charge for the next days that was booked with us as a Nonrefundable rate. Also we offered you a later check out that gave you time to search for an alternative solution. Again, we are sorry for the misinformation. Hotel Herman Bang. Lars Dannervig. Manager
Read more
madatraveling wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions
When making the booking, the hotel said that it only had business rooms available so we had to upgrade by paying 27 euro per person per night. However, the hotel was clearly empty when we arrived. Moreover, the parking is over 10 euro per night which is not specified anywhere. We had an offer of "alt går i fisk" which meant that all our meals were covered. However, the restaurant doesn't offer any vegetarian or fish meals whatsoever. Overall, horribly overpriced for the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHermanBang, Front desk at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded Aug 24, 2019
Dear Madalina, Thank you for your response, your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. When people call to book the offer '' alt går i fisk '', it may be that all the standard room are booked. We can offer you upgrading for an extra fee, if you do not want this you are welcome to refuse and possibly come up with a different date for your stay. Parking in our parking lot we offer at an extra cost, if you do not want to use this you are always welcome to find other parking around the city. You will find information about parking in your confirmation, that it is possible to park at the hotel for an extra fee. Regarding the restaurant we unfortunately have no fish dishes. It is possible to get vegetarian dishes such as pizza or burger. During your stay here our hotel were fully booked. Again we are sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Hope you have a great summer. Best regards Karoline Andersen Front desk Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Read more
ofenec259527 wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
The hotel is lovely, food is excellent and most importantly the staff is very helpful, polite and kind. We recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone visiting this beautiful area of Denmark. Well done!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelHermanBang, Front desk at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Responded Jul 19, 2019
Thank you so much for your kind word, it means a lot to us. We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. We would love to welcome you again another time, if you are visiting Frederikshavn again. Have a great summer :-) Best regards Karoline Andersen Front desk Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
DenmarkJutlandNorth JutlandFrederikshavn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
73
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Hotel Herman Bang
Which popular attractions are close to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Nearby attractions include Frederikshavn Kirke (0.1 miles), Krudttaarnet (0.2 miles), and Freddy's bar (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Gratvaerk, Cafe Staehr, and Smorgaasen Restaurant.
Is Best Western Hotel Herman Bang located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Frederikshavn.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Danish.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Hotel Herman Bang?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Bangsbo Museum (1.8 miles), Knivholt Hovedgaard (2.1 miles), and Jernalderkaeldrene (1.7 miles).