We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 39: English reviews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked this and expected to sleep well that usually happens at hotels. Our view was to the charming street - but in the middle of the night there started to be more and more drunk people yelling and loud music. For the record, it was a Saturday night. I woke up several times because of the yelling. The windows... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mirja E
HotelHermanBang, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Mirja. Our location in the middle of the city can sometime be a challange when it comes to noises in the night. When visiting us again, do ask for a room facing the parking lot, away from the pedestrian street with has chances of some noise duting the night because of people going to nightclubs a discos. Best regards;... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Classic exterior and reception area with high ceilings with welcoming candle lit windows & tables. Rustic tones with bright clean spaces with large windows in the public rooms. Wide brightly lit corridors with large windows to all rooms. A family friendly hotel with a special welcoming style.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Graham L
HotelHermanBang, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Hi Graham. Thanks a lot for taken time to review our hotel. We shure hope to see you sometime again when visiting our city. All the best and have a great summer. Lars Dannervig. Hotelmanager More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Rooms are correct and clean with some modern touch, however they might feel a bit small. Breakfast was certainly a deligth, much of choice, fresh and overall good buffet! Ideal for being close to the main shopping street and just a step down from the ferries. Absolute easy access and parking at the back of the hotel. Also it has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dimitri S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

I stayed here for a 2 day business trip. The room was small but comfortable. Nice bathroom with lots of space. As for the bed, it's a bit small but with a good bed spring. What annoyed me was the TV, it has a bright blue led on the front that shines very bright when it is in standby and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Moisandor
HotelHermanBang, Front Disk at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Moisandor Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

Late check-in went without problems; the hotel was easy to find, coming from the ferry terminal. The room was perfectly adequate for a good night's sleep. Internet connection included in the room rate worked very well which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was tasty and inlcuded both warm and cold dishes. Upon arrival there was no assistance given with luggage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Axu K
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

but unfortunately management fails. Three important things did not function in our room and gave a bad impression. The handle to the glass sliding door to the toilet was loose and threatened to fall on the floor. The door could not be closed and slipped up. The water in the sink wanted to stay in the sink when we wanted... More 

Helpful?
Thank janeigi
HotelHermanBang, Front Disk at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very sorry to hear that the room you booked was not what you expected. We are fully aware that theese rooms are not in the same standard as the rest of the hotel, that is why we call them economy or budget rooms and the Price on theese rooms are lower than a standard room. However... More 

Travelers are raving about these Frederikshavn hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I needed a room. I was told only one left in the annex building 2 blocks from the main one. They said: same quality, same price. I took it. As soon as I walked to the annex the very same room was advertised by the door half price. (Picture enclosed) Bad business. The building is old, run down, not really... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank IvanP_M
HotelHermanBang, Gæsteansvarlig at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review
Google Translation

Tak, fordi du udfyldte spørgeskemaet vedrørende dit nylige ophold hos os. På hele vores teams vegne vil jeg gerne beklage,... More 

Stockholm County, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We planed to stay a couple of nights here as hotel room, facilities and breakfast was perfect nothing there to complain about. Unfortunately they had only rooms facing the street available and as it was a Friday night we could not sleep a wink! Restaurant below attracts many drunk youngsters, cars driving through all night! And as room was terribly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Theoscarssons
HotelHermanBang, Gæsteansvarlig at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times over the past years and have always been treated kindly and professionally. Located right in Frederikshavn, which can cause a bit of noise, but at the same time many different restaurents and bars. The hotel serves a really good breakfast buffet.

Helpful?
Thank Morten R
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear Morten Thank you for the postive review of our hotel. Hope to see you soon again. Best Regards Karina Ipsen BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

Been here many times before. Last year I almost paid twice as the hotel wanted to charge me again despite that our stay was fully paid through Hotels.com. Everyone can do a mistake - but the same thing happened this year. Unnecessary and annoying.

Helpful?
1 Thank Egon H
HotelHermanBang, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang, responded to this review

Dear guest . We are incredible sad that the same has happened to you twice. We apologize of cause and hope you return soon. Best Regards Gitte Knudsen Best Western Hotel Herman Bang More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frederikshavn
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#5 of 15 in Frederikshavn
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic The Reef
Scandic The Reef
#1 of 15 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jutlandia
Hotel Jutlandia
#3 of 15 in Frederikshavn
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Frederikshavn - Soemandshjemmet
7.9 mi away
Jerup Bette Kro
Jerup Bette Kro
#1 of 1 in Jerup
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Viking Aqua Spa & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang is the oldest hotel in the city of Frederikshavn. The hotel has 53 renovated and refurbished rooms in different categories. THe hotel is situated in the heart of the city close to shopping, restaurants, harbour and the train station. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang

Address: Tordenskjoldsgade 3, Frederikshavn 9900, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Jutland > North Jutland > Frederikshavn
Price Range: $124 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Hotel Herman Bang Frederikshavn, Jutland, Denmark
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay