We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Macdonald Crutherland House

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Macdonald Crutherland House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,338: English reviews
motherwell
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Despite more than a few blips with meals had a wonderful experience. Rooms spotless and comfortable. Spa area very good though could do with more loungers. Would like to thank Jamie for his excellent service. What a great asset!! He went beyond his duty to give our party a very enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank elizaMotherwell
Glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago

The wedding we were attending was scheduled before being able to check in to our room, on arrival reception staff confirmed we could get checked in, it was a surprise to check in before the start of the wedding and not having to do this between the wedding and meal..... a great start, check in was good with all relevant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PacoGlasgow
Hamilton
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very pleasant stay for a short break. The location was very rural but near a large town. The room was very comfortable and the menu at dinner was very good. The food was excellent and suits all tastes. I would have no hesitation in recommending this h o t e l as the leisure facilities were very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeanieairdj
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nine family members chose the Crutherland for our annual family dinner post the New Year festivities. We found the staff very helpful and the quiet time with access to leisure facilities ideal for a relaxing period. The dinner was very enjoyable with the restaurant staff helpfully responding to our questions. The breakfast was extensive, as you would expect, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AckyMitch
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Family of 10 of us stayed for 2 nights over New Year. I have stayed at many Macdonald Hotels and have never been disappointed. This stay was no exception. The staff were all efficient and friendly, accommodation and food excellent and New Years Eve was glorious. Such attention to detail, such a fine occasion with no expense spared on the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ctas2016
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear ctas2016, many thanks for providing us with such fantastic feedback after recently staying us for a two night stay over Hogmanay with your family of 10 over a two night stay at Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel. I am truly delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the black tie gala dinner. We...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I left our kids with the Grandparents and spent NYE at Crutherland House. Everything exceeded expectations. The staff were exceptionally welcoming throughout our time there. The swimming pool and spa facilities are larger, and so more relaxing, than you'd expect. Our room (n.1) was well proportioned. We attended a black tie event in the hotel for New...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth B
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Ruth B, many thanks for providing us with such fantastic feedback after recently attending the black tie gala dinner on Hogmanay at Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel. I am truly delighted to hear that you and your husband had a fantastic evening and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back once again to this years Hogmanay celebrations...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately we stayed here for a short stop over en route to England. To our disappointment the bed sheets were dirty and the sink was blocked. When we complained we were told the sink was slow draining and if we were still unhappy they would send somebody in the morning! As we were checking out at 11am the next day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzeMcD
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear SuzeMcD, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback after recently having stayed with us at Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel. I am truly sorry to hear that you found the bed sheets were dirty and the sink was blocked. Our normal procedure would have been in the very first instance to offer you a room...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter and I stayed last night 27th December 2016 , very very poor , spent an hour at the pool and when we got back to the room the toilet almost overflowed called reception they sent someone right away to fix it , chap turned up in a suit white shirt and tie and a plunger 10 mins later...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley F
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Shirley F, Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your toilet became blocked when you returned from the swimming pool but note that my duty manager addressed this within ten minutes of your request. As mentioned to you on the telephone, we unfortunately had two members of the team who were not feeling well and...

Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for Christmas with family. Meal was good & staff attentive. Bedroom spacious although feels a bit old fashioned & the marks on the wall say it's time for a freshen up. Comfiest beds ever!!! Tried to order room service at 9.55pm for my daughter who was starving to be told that the chefs had gone home early since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole1906
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear Nicole1906, Many thanks for providing us with your feedback after having stayed with us for Christmas and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and that my team were all attentive throughout your stay with us. I am however sorry to hear that whilst your bedroom was spacious and with the comfiest beds ever, your felt...

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 5, 2016

This review is of the restaurant/ bar only,none of our party were residing in the hotel,the first impression on entering the cocktail bar was the temperature,admittedly it was minus one outside however this if anything should be a reason to turn the temperature up inside,I was very surprised at how quiet the bar was if it hadn't been for our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John A
G M, General Manager at Macdonald Crutherland House, responded to this review

Dear John A, many thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant? I wish to apologise that we were unable to provide you with your choice of draught lager at the time and can confirm that we do not stock Irn Bru. I am delighted to hear that the food served was tasty and I have spoken to the...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

191 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (166)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Kilbride
Torrance Hotel
#5 of 7 in East Kilbride
469 reviews
Holiday Inn East Kilbride
#6 of 7 in East Kilbride
620 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bruce Hotel
#7 of 7 in East Kilbride
327 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 95 in Glasgow
2,981 reviews
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 6 in Troon
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Macdonald Crutherland House

Address: Strathaven Road, East Kilbride G75 0QJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > East Kilbride
Price Range: $88 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Crutherland House 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Crutherland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland Hotel
Macdonald Crutherland East Kilbride
Macdonald Crutherland House East Kilbride, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Romantic Hotel in East Kilbride
#4 Family Hotel in East Kilbride
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Crutherland House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“In winter doesnt matter as is dark early”
 of 5 bubbles elizaMotherwell, 2 days ago | Read review
“Request a clean room”
 of 5 bubbles PacoGlasgow, 1 week ago | Read review
“This hotel is also suitable for people with mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanieairdj, 1 week ago | Read review
“View to the front.”
 of 5 bubbles Gardentripper, Oct 24, 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose the ground floor or everyone has to go along your corridor to get to the leisure club”
 of 5 bubbles dawnsH7612EK, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay