Boho Hostel

Boho Hostel

Villa Cycas,Dun G. Xerri St, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1420 Malta
Traveler (126)
Panorama of the Private Room at the Boho Hostel
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (64)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 12 hostels in Saint Julian's
Location
4.2
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
If you're a Bohemian traveller, you've found your Bohemian hostel. Drop off your bags and relax in Boho; a hostel which is ideal for backpackers & solo travellers due to its genuine social atmosphere and backpacker vibe.Located in a lovely Villa & Garden, Boho offers the perfect escape from the city's main busy central strip, while still being only ten minutes away on foot from it.Blessed with a large garden and courtyard, and that ever-constant Maltese sunshine, Boho is simply a pleasure to wake up in and a lovely home-away-from-home to retreat to. What's more, it's a great base to meet other travellers to explore the island with.Being backpackers ourselves we know what you're after when you're staying in hostels, and being locals we know where the good stuff really is!We provide you with detailed Maps, plenty of info on Malta, and we can also help you plan your itinerary.We also organise regular activities like pub crawls, boat parties and beach BBQs.In other words, you're guaranteed a great time in an environment which is as chilled-out as it is fun!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Diving
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Italian

Location

Villa Cycas,Dun G. Xerri St, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1420 Malta
314Reviews7Q+A25Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 269
  • 32
  • 7
  • 2
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Fabio wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been in Boho twice, in 2019 and in 2021. As a solo traveller, the first time I was planning to stay just a few days. In the end, days become weeks. Weeks become months.

Boho hostel has the magic power to attract different but like-minded people, which makes the staying a magic experience by itself. Sometimes you might have a hard time leaving the hostel because you know that’s where you are going to have the most fun.
Penny – can’t imagine a more smiley and patient host – managed to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere. The location is strategic for visiting Malta, the rooms are minimal but comfortable and the hostel is always clean and tidy (this was the case way before covid time). All the volunteers I met during my stay have always been helpful, outgoing, and matched perfectly the hostel attitude.

The hostel’s garden is simply beautiful; it’s truly relaxing being able to sit outside surrounded by nature, whether you are on your own or with other travellers.

The hostel is also the kingdom of the most popular cat in Malta, Cat Stevens. She’s an enigmatic cat but you will end up loving her.

To conclude, I would suggest Boho to any backpacker/solo traveller who visits Malta. No matter what you are going through, you will feel in the right place at the right time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael F wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent the first week of February at Boho & all the staff were very helpful and is a very relaxing hostel. Penny a Maltese lady that runs the hostel is lovely & goes out her way to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as possible. The beds were very comfortable and the hostel is very clean. Even though they don’t do breakfast they have a wide selection of tea’s plus good coffee. Some days Penny would even bring in fresh croissants & bake them for the guests. It’s a great place to meet new people from all around the world & I highly recommend staying here if you’re coming to Malta.
Mike ( UK)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christo wrote a review Apr 2021
Msida, Malta6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When COVID hit Malta, everything obviously closed. Bars, pubs, restaurants and most social gatherings were postponed.

As I was already use to the high frequency of social interaction, it was difficult to maintain that lifestyle. The circumstances of the pandemic changed things dramatically where I found myself wishing to experience more. And that’s when Boho appeared as my savior.

I moved without hesitation with big hopes to find what I’ve been searching for. Everybody was welcoming and accepting, especially the hostel’s mascot - Cat Stevens. The most loving creature that could immediately glow positive energy from the moment she casually strolls, gracefully with her queen paw tips. Her presence alone made me feel at home with her signature purr and search for cuddles.

As in regards to the people, I think it’s irrelevant to judge a hostel for this criteria because they’re constantly changing and new people with different mindsets and energy replace the previous. However, the environment provides a good opportunity for like minded individuals to share great experiences and exchange cultural knowledge.

Penny (the owner) was very supportive and helpful. She was understanding and kind despite the difficulties she must’ve faced as most businesses were fighting with tooth and nail to survive. She helped accommodate people and she managed to help me plenty of times.

Overall, for the 6 months I stayed, I would give 5 stars to the place because it certainly helped me find what I’m searching for. Thank you Boho.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Devin wrote a review Dec 2022
Seattle, Washington74 contributions115 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t like writing negative reviews, but I feel obligated to in this case to warn other travelers. For context, I’ve been traveling full time for nearly 5 years and have stayed in hostels in 50+ countries ranging from South America to Europe and SE Asia. My experience at Boho unfortunately ranks among the worst I’ve had anywhere.

I booked 4 nights in the dorm room here. Long story short, it was completely impossible to sleep due to the stifling heat in the room. There was only one fan working in the room which wasn’t sufficient at all for cooling the space. Keep in mind, my stay was in early October so I can only imagine the situation during summer time. I checked out immediately the next day and was refused a refund for the remaining nights unless they were able to sell the bed space to someone else.

I’m sure this review will elicit the standard response from management that this is a “budget hostel” and that’s why the conditions are so deplorable. But I’ve stayed in many other places in a similar price range in Europe that do a much better job with managing the heat. At the very least, a refund should have been offered, but the owner seems determined to squeeze every last dollar out of guests. Very unfortunate.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Boho Hostel, Owner at Boho Hostel
Responded Dec 2, 2022
Dear Devin, You start off your review by stating that you don't like writing bad reviews, however, a quick look at your other contributions tells a very different story...... Having said that, I'm so sorry to read this, and I can understand where it's coming from seeing that, a month after paying and checking out (I'll go into more detail about your experience soon), you requested a chargeback from your bank, citing 'Low standards', and they refused it, because they didn't think you had any grounds for money back for a 4 night stay, costing under 80€. I won't go into hostel standards- Boho is top rated, ranking 1st on trip advisor for 10 consecutive years, for a reason. It's a good hostel. However, it needs to be said that, when you book into a budget hostel, you really can't expect to have the amenities and services of a hotel. We have 2 working fans per dorm. We don't use air-conditioning because we're Eco-friendly, and, because quite frankly, not everyone enjoys to sleep under the AC (over and above this, considering that 6 people share a room, it would be hard to find a temperature everyone finds appropriate). We do VERY clearly indicate our facilities online- so sorry you missed it. You originally booked a private room, with an ensuite bathroom in our hostel. This was unfortunately a double booking, and we emailed asking if you wanted to cancel, but you chose to stay in a dorm. From experience, people who book private rooms, don't take well to dorms, and this proved true for you, too. At check out, in fact, there was absolutely no mention of the heat, and you simply said you preferred to find a Private Room elsewhere. It's got nothing to do with money. Boho is the only budget friendly hostel left in St Julians. Where other hostels are selling a bed in a dorm for up to 50€ a night, I kept my prices in the 20€ bracket. How that's 'squeezing every last dollar our of guests,' I don't know. I get the frustration for feeling entitled to a refund, and not getting it. I wish you luck on your future travels, and please do make sure you read both T & C, along with facilities before inflicting bad reviews on other hostels, for something which is really not their fault. Thanks Penny
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Special_SKay wrote a review Sep 2021
Heidelberg, Deutschland17 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Boho Hostel is a real backpacker hostel with a cozy atmosphere in the house and the amazing garden. The contact among the guests was very good, everybody was included in having cozy evenings in the garden or for going out and sharing experiences. The hostel is perfect for single travellers. The staff is very helpful in providing information and any other question. The kitchen is equipped with everything needed for backpackers. The hostel is located in a quiter neighbourhood in walking distance to the Bay front. The mattresses might be changed to new ones. I can definitely recommed staying in these hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fidel wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to Boho expecting a nice and warm hostel and it was even nicer and more welcoming than we thought! Having the private room, we got to enjoy community and privacy at the same time. Penny managed to build up a great and peaceful place to stay and explore Malta from. Our favourite morning ritual was to walk to Balluta Bay, swim and have a coffee by the sea. Thanks Penny, Siggi and Fabio for being such great hosts, big recommendation to stay at Boho Hostel! We hope to be back at some point and will definitely choose Boho again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Uroš P wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a perfect place for my first solo trip and hostel stay, the location was great, quiet and within walking distance to St. Julien and shops. The staff was lovely and the people that stayed there were the highlight of my trip creating a social and welcoming atmosphere. My standards will be high for all future trips!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Ask about what they offer at the desk! (From organizing events, to the hostel selling...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kyra Jane S wrote a review Apr 2023
6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my brother came to Malta for 4 nights and absolutely loved our stay at Boho! The staff are 10/10, so attentive and genuinely lovely people. Such a safe and comfortable atmosphere , would feel more than happy to stay here as a solo female.

Only downside is the large hill up to the hostel however the whole of Malta is hilly so expect nothing less.

Thank you for the great holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you don’t like steps, this isn’t the island for you
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joris S wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Boho is for sure the best hostel in Matla. First i booked 4 nights at the boho hostel, but I extended for 3 nights (total of 7) because boho already felt like home. It was really cheap, the rooms and bathrooms where clean, the staff was really friendly and the atmosphere was really good. Also made some friends here.

It was my first solo travel and the boho hostel was a really good place to stay. After spending the day alone in the city or the beach, boho was a place to come home to. Enjoy a beer with fellow travelers, lay in a hang mock or just chill in the garden.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
akame wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great vibes, great atmosphere, great location. Everything felt comfortable, like the common areas were chill the kitchen was organized and easy to use (though a second fridge would be cool) and the gardens were such a vibe I never felt out of place. The same vibe is reflected in the staff, really flexible and welcoming. Always down to help out and give tips on the best things to do. Overall it didn't feel like a hostel, it felt like a close friends house.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from j0nbaker
Woodford, United Kingdom32 contributions7 helpful votes
No, i am too and had a great stay there earlier in the year and will go back next year.
Answer from Felipe F
45 contributions10 helpful votes
hi there. they provide sheets but you have to bring your own towel! enjoy your trip
Hazeldance asked a question Aug 2015
Chester, United Kingdom14 contributions21 helpful votes
Is it only the double room that is wheelchair accessible?
Answer from Mirjam v
1 contribution
It is. It is also the only room on the ground floor and I don't think they have an elevator. Hope this answers your question!
Ethan A wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Talk to Nesta or Penny about getting around the island, Maltese public transport can be a hit or miss. "
Read full review
Uroš P wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask about what they offer at the desk! (From organizing events, to the hostel selling water/beer/lock pad for your locker)"
Read full review
Kyra Jane S wrote a tip Apr 2023
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you don’t like steps, this isn’t the island for you"
Read full review
Thomas S wrote a tip Mar 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"come with an open mind"
Read full review
Taste card wrote a tip Jan 2018
Cardiff, United Kingdom2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Geat place good value"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Saint Julian's area.
PRICE RANGE
$29 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Travellers' Point Hostel
LOCATION
MaltaIsland of MaltaSaint Julian's
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BOHO HOSTEL

Frequently Asked Questions about Boho Hostel
Which popular attractions are close to Boho Hostel?
Nearby attractions include Spinola Bay (0.7 miles), Balluta Square (0.4 miles), and Independence gardens (0.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Boho Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Boho Hostel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Boho Hostel?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Boho Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Azar Malta, Prosciutteria, and Wigi's Kitchen.
Does Boho Hostel have airport transportation?
Yes, Boho Hostel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Boho Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Boho Hostel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting St. John's Co-Cathedral (1.6 miles), Lascaris War Rooms (1.7 miles), and War Hq Tunnels (1.7 miles).
All Saint Julian's HotelsSaint Julian's Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Saint Julian'sHotels near Boho Hostel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars