We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Geilo Hotel

Booking.com$107*
View Deal
#3 of 13 Hotels in Geilo
Certificate of Excellence
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
$171*
$107*
Great Deal
$156*
$171*
$107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Geilo Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 28: English reviews
Start your review of Geilo Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A night stay in our journey through Norway was full of new experiences at the Grill Hotel. Hotel reception staff member Helena was very helpful in getting us settled in & answered our questions. Overall, a beautiful stop in Norway. Would recommend this place to anyone

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy I
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review. Great to hear that the staff took good care of you and that you would recommend us. Wish you a good trip in Norway. Wish you welcome back. Best Regards Kenneth Børvan General Manager.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed April 7, 2017

While this hotel is cited as being old, it is only the "living room" which is actually old and with a traditional cabin like style. The rooms and the large dining room is more like 70s (my guess), functional and reasonably well kept, however. My room (which was larger than I guess I paid for, but given to my since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egilk
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review. Great to hear the staff solved the problem with the new lock. We are now changing all of our locks to electronic locks. Good to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. Hope to see you again. Best regards Kenneth Børvan Daglig leder

Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

This hotel has more than 130 years history. So expected the equipment won't be the same level to Ritz-Carlton or W. and there's no elevator. If you can't carry your over-sized luggage. Make sure you choose 2nd floor which is the same level to the reception. the dinner and breakfast buffet tasted good. I like the fruit jam and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Roger. Thank you for your review. Nice to hear that the staff where friendly, you liked our breakfast and dinner. Hope to see you again and wish you welcome back. Best regards Kenneth Børvan

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 6, 2017

We made the booking for our January stay at the Geilo in October. On the morning we were travelling to Geilo from Oslo on the beautiful Oslo to Bergen railway. A few hours before our arrival we were informed by text message that the hotel was closed and we had been moved to the Ustedalen 400m away. This resulted in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BranesC92
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for giving us an review. I'm sorry to hear that the relocation caused you unnecessary stress. Ustedalen are a upgraded hotel from 3 to 4 stars. So i hope you had a good stay at Ustedalen. I can see that you made an reservation with non refundable. And the market prices have variations during the season. I...

Minnesota
Reviewed September 11, 2016

Stayed here for one night in July, 2016. Rooms were tired looking and in need of repair. Breakfast buffet were taken over by bus loads of tourists. They didn't replenish the food and most food trays were empty. The eating area itself was nice and decorated in traditional Norwegian style.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Resa-Travel
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review. Thank you very much for youre feedback, I will take this up with my staff. So we can continue to improve our product. Good to hear that you like our traditional norwegian style. Hope you have the availability to come back so we can change youre experience. Best regards Kenneth Børvan General Manager.

Spruce Grove, Canada
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

We spent one night here as the town we wanted to stay in was full. This was close enough though. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel was very warm but we were able to open the windows to cool the room down by quite a bit. Breakfast had a lot of options and was plentiful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charity B
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you so much for youre review. I'm glad to hear that rooms where clean and comfortable. And you enjoyed our breakfast. Hope to see you again. Best Regards Kenneth Børvan Daglig leder

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Geilo Hotel at Geilo Norway. I just visited this hotel around 18 July 2016. And we have program have buffet dinner in hotel restaurant BUT unbelievable and unfortunately !!!! they serve us with terrible meal, spoiled food, rice preservatives, food overnight, even we told them please re-place with new rice BUT they just pour out the water from rice....(who will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nuttha P
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. I'm sorry for youre negative experience here with us. I will make sure to take this to my staff so we can continiue to improve our self. Hope you have the possibility to come by another time so we can change youre experience to a positive one. Best regards Kenneth Børvan

Reviewed April 3, 2016 via mobile

Good service at any time, no matter 4 o'clock day time or night time, just happy to be of any help. Nice and fresh room. Really nice breakfast buffet. Very polite and correct staff at any time. The price level is definitely much lower than what you get, over your expectations by far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip A
Kenneth B, General Manager at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review. Great to hear that my staff do their best for you as a guest no matter what. I'm happy that you got value for your money, liked our new rooms and breakfast as well. Thank you again. Hope to see you again soon. Best Regards Kenneth Børvan General Manager

calgary
Reviewed April 1, 2016

We were staying in apartments but used the hotel for both breakfasts and evening meals. The management and staff were very friendly and the hotel has a warm relaxed feel to it. The buffet breakfasts and evening meals were tasty and filling. We were there to cross country ski - so we didn't want nouvelle cuisine! Thanks to Kenneth and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calgary_visitor_1
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for youre kind review. Great that you enjoyed youre meals here with us and our staff. Great having you here as well, seemed like you all had some great days here in Geilo. Hope to see you again next year. Best Regards Kenneth Børvan General Manager

Reviewed March 27, 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights at Geilo Hotel. The hotel is located approximately 100 meters from Geiloheisen, which makes it ideal for skiers. The staff was super friendly and helpful! The breakfast and dinner buffets had a great variety of foods. The breakfast waffles ran out really fast, though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oo_vsv
Kenneth B, Daglig leder at Geilo Hotel, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for youre kind review. Im happy to hear that you had a plesant stay and liked our food and staff good. We wish you a warm welcome back. Best regards Kenneth Børvan General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geilo hotels
1.0 mi away
Bardola Hotel
Bardola Hotel
#2 of 13 in Geilo
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dr. Holms Hotel
Dr. Holms Hotel
#6 of 13 in Geilo
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ustedalen Hotel
Ustedalen Hotel
#4 of 13 in Geilo
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vestlia Resort
Vestlia Resort
#1 of 13 in Geilo
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Highland Lodge
Highland Lodge
#5 of 13 in Geilo
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ro Hotel
Ro Hotel
#7 of 13 in Geilo
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Geilo has a central location in Southern Norway, 800 metres above sea level halfway between Oslo and Bergen. With the Hallingskarvet mountain as its backbone and Hardangervidda, Northern Europe’s largest mountain plateau, as its nearest neighbour, Geilo offer unique possibilities for great experiences all year. Geilo is a nice little village, with shops and restaurants and all service facilities in the town center. Geilo is also Norway's most traditional ski resort, having been a tourist destination for more than 100 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Geilo Hotel

Address: Gamlevegen 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Price Range: $112 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Geilo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Geilo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Hotel Geilo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Geilo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Booking.com
$107* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com$156
TripAdvisor$107
HRS.com$171
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates