We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Ottawa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Old section needs improvements, same rooms for last 10 years. Rooftop patio was dirty closed on the night of our arrival 10!Sept and for whole week lots of people went up to smoke. Because most were guests of Nammo. My wife and I cleaned tables every night. When we left on 17 Sept. Garbage had never been cleaned up.

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 264yvesp
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi, We are currently refurbishing all rooms in the old section of the hotel. The summer season on the terrace ended the 10th, however guests were able to use the facilites for smooking, but it should off course have been cleaned each day. mvh Ådne General Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small Norwegian cities offer poor hotels that have seen better times. Strand Gjovik is far better than average and has understood that the staff is a key. They were helpful, knowledgable and know what Hospitality is about. Fantastic breakfast. Nice room with high quality beds.

Helpful?
Thank Sverre L
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Sverre, Thanks for giving us such a great review. I will forward it to the entire staff. Hope to see you again soon. brgs, General Manager Ådne Skurdal More 

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel Strand is located in the very centre of Gjøvik and it considered the starting point for exploring this pretty anonymous , sleepy little Norwegian town. In the same buillding there is a cinema, a SpA for guests from outside and a place for music on the roof top. We were given a very small and spare room, with... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dapper777
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi, We are really sorry that your journey did not start well. We firmly believe that you were very unlucky, and several coincidences led to your unfortunate stay. Please email the hotel if you'd like to visit us again for free. brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Gjovik hotels

Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
318 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Nice service minded staff and a good location in the heart of Gjovik. Room OK and clean. Nice breakfast buffet. The hotel is co-located with the Big Horn restaurant and the local cinema. The hotel bar has limited drinks to offer.

Helpful?
Thank JohnFromNorway
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi John, Thank you for rating us on tripadvisor, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. We are proud to offer spa, gym, cinema and two restaurants in the same building. With regards to drinks, we do offer several alternatives in Cafe Pi, our main bar. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The Quality Hotel in Gjovik is really lovely. The rooms are a decent size and bathroom is quite large. The restaurant dinner and breakfast had lots of choices and very delicious. Only complaint is had was the our room was above the bar which was noisy until quite late but it didn't stop me getting to sleep.

Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Alicia, It's great to hear that you had a great time with us in July. We do put a lot of effort in the breakfast, and it's wonderful to hear that you noticed it. We do have a rooftop bar with music in the weekends, but it's good to hear that you got to sleep anyway. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal... More 

Gjovik, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Noise levels are generally a massive concern for hotels. Construction work beginning near a hotel can be damaging, and a venue built near a train station will have to take precautions to eliminate the disruption cause by the noise, so it is strange that Quality Hotel Strand has decided to place a nightclub on their roof. The noise caused by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank tikirain
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi, We are very sorry that you did not get to sleep at our hotel, and will take precautions before the next season with regards to the music levels. We are happy to hear beside the noise from the terrace, you were happy with our service and facilitites. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Imagine arriving in the tranquil village of Gjovik, Norway where all you expect to do is relax, and you find your self in the hotel from hell....that was my experience. The staff where abrupt and rude, the breakfast was horrendous, they attempted to charge you for every little thing possible and to top it off there was the roof top... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank titch007
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi titch007, I understand that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but the characterisation that you put forward here the first I have heard as the GM of this hotell. First, we do have a rooftop bar that all our overnight guests have free entrance. The music stops at 2 am, and different people have different threshold for... More 

Haugesund,Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We had the most expensive suite, kr 3904,oo.Aircondition was not working,the fridge was not working, there was no heating in the bathroom floor.After complaining,nothing was done.We stayed there 2 days. When checking out the Choice systen chared me full price for 2 days,I should pay NOk 2 444,oo for the second day in stead of NOK 3 904.oo. After complaining... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank arneih
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Arne, Thanks for getting back to us with your review. We are off course not happy that the air condition, and the fridge. I´m pretty sure that the bathroom floor did work, but it will never be as hot as the one you probably have in your home. Great to hear that the service was excellent, and that the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed Saturday night. Good central location. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and they handled the volume of people well. The reception area is a bit odd / cavernous and it is mu first hotel with a cinema - but would certainly be happy to stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Philip B
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Phillip B, Thanks for getting back to us with such a great review. Good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, and that the staff were serviceminded. Hope to see you again soon. brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Nice room, little on the small side for the price, but if you get a room on the side of the hotel that the rooftop bar is on don't expect to get any sleep. I'm on the 3rd floor, the bar is on the 6th floor and it's so loud it's ridiculous. Also the wifi is hard to connect to.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MissC244
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Miss C, Sorry to hear that you did not get any sleep. The music stops at 2 am, and people have different thresholds for what they define as noise. All hotelguests are allowed in for no extra costs, but we do have a 20 year age limit due to Norwegian alcohol legislation. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjovik
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Grand
Comfort Hotel Grand
#2 of 3 in Gjovik
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lillehammer Hotel
Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
4.0 of 5 stars 183 reviews
12.8 mi away
First Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
13.3 mi away
Scandic Hamar
Scandic Hamar
#2 of 6 in Hamar
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
12.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Address: Strandgata 15 | Entrance elvegt, Gjovik 2815, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Gjovik Municipality > Gjovik
Price Range: $148 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay