We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
313 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice service minded staff and a good location in the heart of Gjovik. Room OK and clean. Nice breakfast buffet. The hotel is co-located with the Big Horn restaurant and the local cinema. The hotel bar has limited drinks to offer.

Helpful?
Thank JohnFromNorway
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

The Quality Hotel in Gjovik is really lovely. The rooms are a decent size and bathroom is quite large. The restaurant dinner and breakfast had lots of choices and very delicious. Only complaint is had was the our room was above the bar which was noisy until quite late but it didn't stop me getting to sleep.

Helpful?
Thank Alicia G
Gjovik, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Noise levels are generally a massive concern for hotels. Construction work beginning near a hotel can be damaging, and a venue built near a train station will have to take precautions to eliminate the disruption cause by the noise, so it is strange that Quality Hotel Strand has decided to place a nightclub on their roof. The noise caused by... More 

Helpful?
Thank tikirain
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Imagine arriving in the tranquil village of Gjovik, Norway where all you expect to do is relax, and you find your self in the hotel from hell....that was my experience. The staff where abrupt and rude, the breakfast was horrendous, they attempted to charge you for every little thing possible and to top it off there was the roof top... More 

Helpful?
Thank titch007
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi titch007, I understand that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but the characterisation that you put forward here the first I have heard as the GM of this hotell. First, we do have a rooftop bar that all our overnight guests have free entrance. The music stops at 2 am, and different people have different threshold for... More 

Haugesund,Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We had the most expensive suite, kr 3904,oo.Aircondition was not working,the fridge was not working, there was no heating in the bathroom floor.After complaining,nothing was done.We stayed there 2 days. When checking out the Choice systen chared me full price for 2 days,I should pay NOk 2 444,oo for the second day in stead of NOK 3 904.oo. After complaining... More 

Helpful?
Thank arneih
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Arne, Thanks for getting back to us with your review. We are off course not happy that the air condition, and the fridge. I´m pretty sure that the bathroom floor did work, but it will never be as hot as the one you probably have in your home. Great to hear that the service was excellent, and that the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Stayed Saturday night. Good central location. Room was clean and nicely appointed. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and they handled the volume of people well. The reception area is a bit odd / cavernous and it is mu first hotel with a cinema - but would certainly be happy to stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Philip B
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Phillip B, Thanks for getting back to us with such a great review. Good to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, and that the staff were serviceminded. Hope to see you again soon. brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Nice room, little on the small side for the price, but if you get a room on the side of the hotel that the rooftop bar is on don't expect to get any sleep. I'm on the 3rd floor, the bar is on the 6th floor and it's so loud it's ridiculous. Also the wifi is hard to connect to.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissC244
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Miss C, Sorry to hear that you did not get any sleep. The music stops at 2 am, and people have different thresholds for what they define as noise. All hotelguests are allowed in for no extra costs, but we do have a 20 year age limit due to Norwegian alcohol legislation. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

I will remember an overly hot tiny room and a skimpy A/C of no help. Only solution: Open the dusty window to the noisy river and main street below and just wait a few hours. Other than this, it is an OK hotel, good steakhouse next door (I thought).

Helpful?
Thank ketil3
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Ketil3, Thanks for getting back to us. We do have different categories of rooms, and if you have any preference it's wise to book the category you like. Great to hear that you enjoyed the Steakhouse. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I stayed at the hotel two times in winter 2015. Both times they had events in the foyet, but the noise didn't really bother the rooms I stayed in. The rooms are nice, with big windows. Pretty small bathrooms, but clean and inviting. The breakfast in the restaurant is small, but with good food and variety. The staff are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank kaffedamen
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi kaffedamen, Thanks for your great review. We really appreaciate having you, and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have you again soon. Brgs, Ådne Skurdal General Manager More 

Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Nice place for the Biz Trips for Raufoss Technology Park, room are quiet and clean, breakfast it`s good but nothing special. Lobby bar good, Resutauran on the roof very positive. Hotel is locatec close to harbour 3 min walk na dto train station. On the top level in the hotel nice view from the windows to the lake.

Helpful?
Thank Damian00
Skurdal, General Manager at Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik, responded to this review

Hi Damian, Thank you for getting back to us with such nice feedback. The rooftop terrace sure have been busy these warm summer days, and we are happy that you enjoyed it up there. All the best, Ådne General Manager. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gjovik
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Grand
Comfort Hotel Grand
#2 of 3 in Gjovik
3.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lillehammer Hotel
Lillehammer Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lillehammer
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
12.8 mi away
First Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
6.7 mi away
Sillongen Toten Hotel
Sillongen Toten Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vestre Toten Municipality
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik

Address: Strandgata 15 | Entrance elvegt, Gjovik 2815, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Gjovik Municipality > Gjovik
Price Range: $153 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay