We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Thon Hotel Fagernes

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Fagernes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 14: English reviews
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The downstairs area is nice enough, and we were greeted warmly. Furthermore, we had much fun at the billiards table. However our superior room was far from superior. The view was gorgeous, from a dirty balcony. The town itself is probably great as a ski base, but not ideal for summer guests. We'd be unlikely to stay here again, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank JosieJosieJo
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review and thanks for staying with us. I'm happy you had a good stay with us and for seeing our amazing view, We are doing some renovation this fall. I hope to see you again, in the future! Best regards Ole Volden-Sandersen, General manager More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at a superior room with balcony. The hotel used to be probably very nice years ago , now it badly needs a facelift. The room was rather small and apparently not often used as there was dust on everything :-( The white paint on balcony has probably not been renewed in new millennium... The view on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boris2001
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, we will use it to make us better. We will during the autumn start a renovation in some parts of the hotel. I hope you will come back and see the differences. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, hope we see you again soon! Best regards Ole Volden-Sandersen, general manager More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place has a certain.air of large fine hotel by a Swiss lake, although it is Norwegian. But not top notch! It is a mixture of styles. Just one small elevator is remarkable! The room were all right. Bathroom clean and adequate. Breakfast meny was good, but they were short of cutlery.

Helpful?
Thank Slussvakten
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the review, and for seeing the fantastic and remarkable hotel we have. Our location in the middle of Valdres is almost like the Swiss alps. Thanks for staying with us, hope to see you again soon! Best regards Ole, general manager More 

Maidstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for one night only while on a Cosmos Scenic Scandinavia. A good quality hotel in good surroundings. It was nice after dinner to walk down to Strande Fjord.Free Wifi was a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank MargaretMaidstone
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for the great review, and for staying with us! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and that you had the opportunity to see our view and the promenade at Strandefjorden. Thank you for staying with us, hope to see you again! Best regards Ole Volden-Sandersen, general manager More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel couldn't have a better location with its restaurant overlooking the water. It is a very spacious hotel, with a large restaurant, a bar a lounge...We had meal at the restaurant and I have the feeling they have the best choice in town. Kind and professional staff.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the fantastic review! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to see you again! I'm proud of my staff and our fabulous location in Valdres. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. Best regards Ole, general manager More 

Bergen, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely old hotel that has been carefully modernised over time. However the lobby and some of the public areas could be letter lit. We had a large and well furnished room with nice furniture and a decent bathroom. Excellent breakfast and lovely surroundings. Wish there had been some more litteratur about the hotel and its history available in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank oscki
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your fantastic review, it's important for us to improve! I'm very happy you enjoyed your stay and your breakfast. Thinks for your feedback, I will use this for further improvement in the lobby. You had a good idea with the story, I will give that a chance. Thanks for choosing to stay with us, hope to see... More 

Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was probably a lovely hotel once. Now it is old and could do with some renovation. The lobby and restaurants are very dark. The breakfast buffet is good, plenty of choice, even healthy choices. The rooms are spacious, but not very clean. No coffee or tea making facilities, but there is a small fridge. WiFi is good, pretty fast.... More 

Helpful?
Thank valinholland
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for your review, it's very important for us! We are planning renovation in the bar, restaurant and reception this autumn. Thanks for enjoying our view and the fast WIFI. I hope to have the pleasure of having you as a guest again soon. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Best regards Ole, general manager More 

Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
405 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Our tour group stayed here. The lobby area is beautiful and well appointed. The buffet dinner ordered by the tour company was okay, but not great. I didn't like the raw fish, the steamed or boiled fish, or the totally unshelled shrimp with the heads still attached. The room was fine, but featured the narrowest bed I've ever slept on,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronald D
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review, it's important for us! We are sorry you didn't enjoy the local fish or shrimps on the buffet, and that you felt the bed where small. Thanks for enjoying the fantastic view and our beautiful hotel. We hope to see you again in the future! Best regards Ole, general manager More 

Tysnes, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

This hotel in Fagernes makes me feel at home. Very helpful staff, clean rooms, and very good breakfast. Whenever I travel this way in Norway, I stay in this hotel, because it's the best! And I will be back, and next time I'll have dinner also :) But I hope they put back the waterboiler and coffee/tea in the rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank grethe727
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for the amazing review. We are very happy for having you as our guest, hope to see you again soon! Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Best regards Ole, general manager More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Small rooms and pretty dreadful food. The buffet hardly consists of any freshly prepared food, most of it is just opened from bags and tins. We had twice bad stomach cramps from it, they also seem to recycle breakfast items for dinner. ( Terrible scrambled eggs reappearing in he evening.) The bar is nice looking, but the beer from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Z9071NQmichael
Ole V, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Fagernes, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review, and sorry you didn't have the experience you were hoping for! We are going through our routines to ensure that this don't happen again. Thanks for staying with us, hope you will try us again, so we can show you our improvements. Best Regards Ole, general manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Fagernes hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagernes
21.3 mi away
Bergo Hotel
Bergo Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beitostolen
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
15.7 mi away
Storefjell Resort Hotel
21.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Beitostolen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Oset Hoyfjellshotell
7.0 mi away
Furulund Pensjonat
11.3 mi away
Herangtunet Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Fagernes is a full service hotel with 138 rooms and a large conference section in the centre of Fagernes in the heart of Valdres. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Fagernes

Address: Jernbanevegen 26 | PO Box 23, Fagernes 2900, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel & Resort Fagernes)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Nord-Aurdal Municipality > Fagernes
Price Range: $143 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Fagernes 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Fagernes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Resort Fagernes
Quality Hotel Fagernes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay