We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Storgaten 45, Sandnes 4301 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/03/22
Expedia.com
$95
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/04/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline$94
Travelocity$95
Agoda.com$96
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (18)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (1)

About

#6 of 8 in Sandnes
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.7
Value
3.3
Hotel Sverre is centrally located in Sandnes with pedestrian as our nearest neighbour. The last year we have been through a mayor renovation chaning all the windows and fixing the exterior to get a better internal environment. Bus and train station is only 150 meters from the hotel and all the city facilities such as shops, restaurants, and the new Science Center in the immediate vicinity. HAPPY hospitality with its 69 rooms, the hotel exudes a cozy and informal atmosphere, where we do our utmost to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. We include toilet/shower, cabel TV and free WLAN in all our rooms. Our concept of traditional and pleasant premises, the central location, and our very service minded staff is a good framework for business, accommodation, as well as socializing. We have great faith that you will find the good feeling of being welcomed and be taken care of with warm hospitality.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Paid public parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Skiing
Nightclub / DJ
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian
122Reviews1Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 21
  • 41
  • 35
  • 16
  • 9
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tim C wrote a review Aug 2021
Bergen, Norway48 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Similar to other reviews, Hotel Sverre is in dire need of updating. The place is very dated and in poor condition and quite dirty. Many roof tiles are falling out of place and stained from previous leaks and the wall is often marked and scuffed. In the room were many odd stains on the skirting board and wall (chocolate? tea? coffee? who knows..) Beds are uncomfortable, and 'twins' come apart with ease during the night leaving you waking up all night. Breakfast is very average with no hot options, and a very small spread of bread etc. Served as a buffet with very little corona infection reduction considerations, which goes generally for the hotel which felt far too warm and very poorly ventilated. Checking in at the hotel is a disaster relying on codes being texted to you before hand, with no actual staff at the hotel seemingly other than for half an hour to serve the breakfast. If using a travel agent these codes likely wont be sent to you, and you'll be forced to ring a person (who is seemingly based at another hotel) to give a code to you over the phone. Why not just, give someone a job, and have them on a reception desk checking people in? Not even really that good as a "place to sleep" when away on a business trip. Desk couldnt really be sat at with the way the room was arranged as there was not enough room between the chair and the bed to comfortably sit. Internet was glacial, and frequently dropped out from my room which had a very poor signal. Bedding/room etc was not cleaned or checked during stay, apart from the mysterious removal of one towel... Tea and coffee offer was good and always available in the foyer. The saving grace of the hotel is it's location, and I guess ultimately it's price. But im not sure it's really good value for money... either way, fine for a central place to stay if thats what you need - but not a smooth experience. A shame really, as with bit of updating and more attention this could be a good hotel given the location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on SE side are directly over "The End" nightclub. Could be v loud at weekend. Go...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
41sitgesfan wrote a review Jul 2021
Oslo, Norway62 contributions58 helpful votes
The hotel may have been ok 15 years ago. Today it bears all signs of being neglected for many years. No staff at all; you need to use codes both for main door and room door. Also means that no one will supply more coffee when it is empty in the early afternoon. Breakfast was not what you expect in a hotel in Norway. Almost no choice, and more like a canteen than a hotel restaurant. The only positive was the bathroom. Good size and well working shower ( but the soap was empty…) Hopefully I will not stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Do avoid rooms over the nightclub. Noisy!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Akos B wrote a review Jul 2019
Gyongyos, Hungary6 contributions2 helpful votes
Strange case, that it is not allowed to buy a beer after 6pm, but allowed to have a night club in a hotel. Friday-Saturday you can not sleep till 3:30 because there is a night club under the hotel. I had the lunch to be here on a hot week, so in the room was even 28 C and no A/C. On another days it is a perfect hotel with delicious and varied breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from KatalinSverre, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Jul 30, 2019
Hello AkosB38, Thank you for your feedback! Many of the thing you mention are - unfortunately - out of our hands. Despite that, I still hope you enjoyed your stay in our area in this fantastic weather! Best regards Katalin
Read more
Stein R wrote a review Jun 2019
2 contributions
This is the frist, and hopefully the last time I experience a hotell that i have to make my own bed before going to sleep. The roms are spacious and clean, but I expects the beds to be made when i stat at a hotell!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from KatalinSverre, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Jun 19, 2019
Hello Stein R, We are terribly sorry for the mix up! As we are both Hotel Sverre and Sandnes Vandrerhjem, we have one floor dedicated to hostel rooms. Unfortunately, you had been placed in one of the hostel rooms by mistake. At Hotel Sverre you do not have to make your own beds - of course! It was my mistake, human failure, and I hope you accept my sincere apologies for that! Please do not hecitate to contact me directly by email at katalin@hotel-sverre.no. Best regards Katalin Østbø
Read more
Anita-Merete Nordboe wrote a review Oct 2018
Osoyro, Norway1 contribution
Stayed in Hotell Sverre 8/10-10/10. Its a good hotel with central location in Sandnes. Just next to a cosy shopping street and just a few minutes walking to Amfi shopping mall and cinema. Stayed monday to Wednesday so no noise from the club next door.. The family room had very good space, it was on the ground floor. The room was clean. The breakfast was good. And nice with the waffles by the reception in the afternoon. Unfortunately the internet and tv was gone the 9-10/10. Otherwise it was a good hotel for a low price, which also included tickets to Kongeparken. I would like to stay here again. :-)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from KatalinSverre, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Oct 27, 2018
Hello Anita- Merete, Thank you for your feedback! Great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us! Hope to see you back soon! Best regards Katalin
Read more
almazvm wrote a review Jul 2018
Loddefjord, Norway33 contributions5 helpful votes
Cheap hotel and easy to book. Breakfast included and that was nice, both food and various beverages. They write on their site that there's parking, we tried to ask the receptionist but she was no help. Room was ok for that price, no fridge or phone but there was a TV. Bathroom was fine but shower was narrow and water pressure bad. Cleaning lady was very nice:)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from KatalinSverre, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Jul 22, 2018
Hello, Thank you for your feedback! So glad that you enjoyed our breakfast :-) I am sorry for the trouble finding a parking space. As we are located in the town center sometimes it is a bit difficult to find parking. Hope to see you again sometime! Best regards Katalin
Read more
Linda P wrote a review May 2018
51 contributions17 helpful votes
This hotel has a night club that is essentially in its basement. The music started getting really loud a little after midnight. We woke up and could not go back to sleep until they shut down a little before 3:30 am both Friday and Saturday night. The room was clean and pleasant enough, breakfast was fine, but if you can’t sleep until the early the early hours of the morning, it’s all worthless.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from KatalinSverre, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Jun 6, 2018
Hello Linda, I am sorry to hear about your stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, the night club is a third party renting in our building, and we do not have any influence on them. Norwegian law allows them to stay open until 3.30. But I understand your frustration, and I am truly sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. I appreciate you liked the rest of the hotel, and hope you will contact us next time you are in the area. Best regards
Read more
Maggi P wrote a review May 2018
9 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel is excellent if you want somewhere to stay in the centre of town , very close to the train and bus stations. Also it takes around 5 min to walk to the Gansfjord where there is various bars were you can sit outside and enjoy the Swans and other birds swim with around the boats The breakfast buffet has lots and lots of different food, very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from KatalinSverre, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded May 29, 2018
Hello Maggi, Thank you so much for your review! Glad to hear you had a charming stay in our town! We are working continuously to improve our breakfast and serve something for each and every taste. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
alzaabi2018 wrote a review Jul 2017
United Arab Emirates6 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice staff and excellent location. The area so cool with nice weather at summer. There is an small market behind the hotel with some nice restaurants. I can recommend this place for families. Staff always smile and they are very supportive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
UncleScroogefromLt wrote a review Jul 2017
Vilnius, Lithuania51 contributions17 helpful votes
Really good option for backpacker. Inexpensive, located near main station, has rooms for more than 4 people. Guests can use common kitchen. Rich breakfast and guests can get some fresh and hot waffles at day time. Even though shower was new and clean, can't say the same about self room. For example we found potato chips under bed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayRogalandSandnes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Sverre
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Sverre?
Nearby attractions include Vitenfabrikken (0.1 miles), Jaeren (0.2 miles), and byBrun (0.05 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Sverre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Sverre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Sverre?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Sverre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffeeberry Sandnes, Delikatessen by Foodfighters, and Royal Thai Restaurant.
Is Hotel Sverre located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Sandnes.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Sverre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Sverre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Sverre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Sverre?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Gamle Stavanger (8.2 miles) and Skagenkaien (8.2 miles).
Is Hotel Sverre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.