Hotel Sverre

Hotel Sverre

Traveler (27)
Zimmer 511: Geräumig, älteres Mobiliar, gute Vorhänge
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#6 of 7 hotels in Sandnes
Location
3.8
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.7
Value
3.2
Hotel Sverre is centrally located in Sandnes with pedestrian as our nearest neighbour. The last year we have been through a mayor renovation chaning all the windows and fixing the exterior to get a better internal environment. Bus and train station is only 150 meters from the hotel and all the city facilities such as shops, restaurants, and the new Science Center in the immediate vicinity. HAPPY hospitality with its 69 rooms, the hotel exudes a cozy and informal atmosphere, where we do our utmost to ensure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. We include toilet/shower, cabel TV and free WLAN in all our rooms. Our concept of traditional and pleasant premises, the central location, and our very service minded staff is a good framework for business, accommodation, as well as socializing. We have great faith that you will find the good feeling of being welcomed and be taken care of with warm hospitality.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Paid public parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Skiing
Nightclub / DJ
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian

Location

Storgaten 45, Sandnes 4301 Norway
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Sola Airport
Haugesund Airport
41.5 mi
See all flights
154Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 25
  • 48
  • 43
  • 22
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nette wrote a review Jun 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was only staying in the hotel for one night, but the experience was very good. First I was concerned how I would manage it with the self check-in in the middle of the night when I arrived, but everything was made very easy. Room was nothing extra special, but it was very clean and you could see that the bathroom was renewed quite recently. Only minus was some big stain in one of the window curtains, but that is all. 5th floor room was quiet and I got a good night's sleep.
I did the check out at the reception and the customer service was very nice. They even coded my key to work a few hours longer so I could leave my luggage in a locker at the reception and come and get it in the evening before my vessel arrived to Sandnes.

Unfortunately my flight was delayed so much that I rather slept in than ate breakfast so can't say anything about that. Overall I had a nice experience and I think it was good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katalin Elisabeth Østbø, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Jul 18, 2022
Hello, Thank You so much for your review and your detailed dicription of your stay. Looks like we were able to meet your expectation with our concept of functional and clean rooms, easy self- checkin and a good price. Looking forward to welcome you again some other time! Best regards Katalin Østbø Daglig leder
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ingelin H wrote a review Oct 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice and central-near hotel, clean and good size room.
Breakfast was little bit too simple, missed scrambled eggs, bacon, more selection of fruit to name some..
But over all, happy with our weekend stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katalin Elisabeth Østbø, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Oct 17, 2022
Hello, Thank you for your feedback! Happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! As we are a budget hotel, also our breakfast is a more simple and less expensive version. Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hiva A wrote a review Aug 2016
Aalborg, Denmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice clean rooms, Friendly staff who are always willing to be helpful.
Even changed my room just so i can have a window with a better view!

Tea available for free at all times in the lobby and free waffles at 17:00 everyday was actually very nice!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Walter R, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Aug 13, 2016
Dear Hiva A, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review after your stay. I'm so glad to hear that you had a nice time during your stay here with us, and that you enjoyed our waffles everyday at 17:00. Welcome back, and thank you again for your kind words! Best regards Walter Raustein Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charlotte H wrote a review Aug 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I found it hard to sleep due to constant slamming and banging and thumping from other places in the hotel. I woke up at 3 am due to the racket and every time I almost fell asleep there would be a new bang that would keep me awake. Free breakfast is advertised but it is only free if you have paid for it. There was no soap in the shower. I could squeeze out just enough to feel somewhat clean after showering. I was not informed of free parking.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katalin Elisabeth Østbø, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Aug 17, 2022
Hello, Thank You for taking the times to write about your stay with. Sorry to hear that you did not have a good night`s sleep! Breakfast can be added to the reservation both when making the booking, and directly at the hotel, so the guests can choose for themselves if they want it or not. I am sorry if you were misinformed about that! Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim C wrote a review Aug 2021
Bergen, Norway
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Similar to other reviews, Hotel Sverre is in dire need of updating. The place is very dated and in poor condition and quite dirty. Many roof tiles are falling out of place and stained from previous leaks and the wall is often marked and scuffed. In the room were many odd stains on the skirting board and wall (chocolate? tea? coffee? who knows..)

Beds are uncomfortable, and 'twins' come apart with ease during the night leaving you waking up all night.

Breakfast is very average with no hot options, and a very small spread of bread etc. Served as a buffet with very little corona infection reduction considerations, which goes generally for the hotel which felt far too warm and very poorly ventilated.

Checking in at the hotel is a disaster relying on codes being texted to you before hand, with no actual staff at the hotel seemingly other than for half an hour to serve the breakfast. If using a travel agent these codes likely wont be sent to you, and you'll be forced to ring a person (who is seemingly based at another hotel) to give a code to you over the phone. Why not just, give someone a job, and have them on a reception desk checking people in?

Not even really that good as a "place to sleep" when away on a business trip. Desk couldnt really be sat at with the way the room was arranged as there was not enough room between the chair and the bed to comfortably sit. Internet was glacial, and frequently dropped out from my room which had a very poor signal. Bedding/room etc was not cleaned or checked during stay, apart from the mysterious removal of one towel...

Tea and coffee offer was good and always available in the foyer.

The saving grace of the hotel is it's location, and I guess ultimately it's price. But im not sure it's really good value for money... either way, fine for a central place to stay if thats what you need - but not a smooth experience. A shame really, as with bit of updating and more attention this could be a good hotel given the location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms on SE side are directly over "The End" nightclub. Could be v loud at weekend. Go...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
41sitgesfan wrote a review Jul 2021
Oslo, Norway
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel may have been ok 15 years ago. Today it bears all signs of being neglected for many years. No staff at all; you need to use codes both for main door and room door. Also means that no one will supply more coffee when it is empty in the early afternoon. Breakfast was not what you expect in a hotel in Norway. Almost no choice, and more like a canteen than a hotel restaurant. The only positive was the bathroom. Good size and well working shower ( but the soap was empty…) Hopefully I will not stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Do avoid rooms over the nightclub. Noisy!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsten H wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was very pleased with my stay in Hotell Sverre. I arrived in the evening and got some help from a beautiful lady to check in.My first meeting with that. It was a nice cozy not to big hotell. I got a Room on 6.floor and was very happy with that. The breakfast was fine and good and a good start on the day. It was easygoing and that is what i like. Nice dining room with books and interiør. I liked that it was service in the front hall. I did not use it my self but for them who likes to drink coffee and do it through the day,it is wounderful service. In the front hall i found Advertising for Gamleværket Restaurant and i got a 10% Discount. Very good,thank you. Went there and took a dessert.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as front door is quiet. Backside has problems because of nightclub in the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katalin Elisabeth Østbø, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Oct 17, 2022
Hello, Thank you so much for your kind words decribing your stay with us! We are hoping to welcome you again any time soon! Best regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica G wrote a review Jun 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed at. The hotel room smelled like mould and puke. The bed smelled like puke and we did not get the chance to change hotelroom. The serviceline was the only thing that was ok/helped. Thanks to the guy that helped us get a new bed. The breakfast was not the best.. if I knew the options were that small, I wouldn’t ordered it at all
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katalin Elisabeth Østbø, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Jul 18, 2022
Hello, Thank You for your review! I am truly sorry to hear about you experience at our hotel! Of course, this is not the standard our guests are supposed to meet in our rooms, and I apologize for that! As we are a budget hotel, our breakfast also reflects that in both variety and price. Best regards Katalin Østbø General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Raymond S wrote a review Sep 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A loud noice on the room, they didnt care. Terrible sleep, cold room and bathroom. Small terrible shower, took very long time to get hot water. And the breakfast was almost nothing. Terrible experience
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katalin Elisabeth Østbø, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Sep 23, 2022
Hello, We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good night`s sleep when staying with us. I cincerly hope you contacted the front desk and were able to switch to another room! Hotel Sverre is an old building, so some things may take time (hot water) - but everything should work!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
larserikmarcussen wrote a review Nov 2015
Oslo, Norway
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a night at Hotel Sverre earlier this week, wanting to stay downtown in Sandnes (well, Sandnes isn't really big, but my regular hotel is outside the city).

The staff were welcoming and helpful, offering coffee and home-made waffles upon arrival. The room was clean, decently sized and well-maintained. Tiny bathroom, but the shower was hot and the rowels were fluffy. Nice bed, OK TV channel selection and that'æs all I need.
The breakfast was varied, well stocked and not at all crowded on a Tuesday in November, I had to payt NOK 160 for parking, but it was still cheaper than staying outside the city as I saved taxi moeny after dinner. I'll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Walter R, Daglig leder at Hotel Sverre
Responded Nov 12, 2015
Tusen takk for positiv tilbakemelding. Det er hyggelig å høre at frokosten falt i smak og at rommet falt i smak. Du er hjertlig velkommen tilbake til Hotel Sverre.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from KatalinSverre
Sandnes, Norway
Hei. Alle er velkomne hos oss, store, små og firbente. Om dere har med dyr på rommet er det kr. 150,- for ekstra rengjøring. Men nyttårshelgen har vi dessverre ikke åpent. Vi tar juleferie fra 18. desember, og åpner først igjen 2. januar. Ta gjerne kontakt med vårt søsterhotell GamlaVærket på telefon 51 68 51 70, som har åpent hele Julen. God Jul! Med vennlig hilsen Katalin Resepsjonssjef
Kirsten H wrote a tip Oct 2022
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the same side as front door is quiet. Backside has problems because of nightclub in the weekends."
Read full review
Tim C wrote a tip Aug 2021
Bergen, Norway43 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on SE side are directly over "The End" nightclub. Could be v loud at weekend. Go for a bigger room if you need to work."
Read full review
41sitgesfan wrote a tip Jul 2021
Oslo, Norway68 contributions59 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do avoid rooms over the nightclub. Noisy!"
Read full review
Anne G wrote a tip May 2015
Houston, Texas75 contributions12 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go with a suite. The view from the 6th floor is gorgeous."
Read full review
SpazBme wrote a tip Jul 2012
Red Wing, Minnesota39 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"As far away from the elevator as possible."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sandnes area.
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayRogalandSandnes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
69
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SVERRE $83 ($̶9̶7̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Sverre
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Sverre?
Nearby attractions include Vitenfabrikken (0.1 miles), Jaeren (0.2 miles), and Sandnes Church (0.03 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Sverre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Sverre?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Sverre?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Sverre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffeeberry Sandnes, Delikatessen by Foodfighters, and Braai Bar and BBQ.
Is Hotel Sverre located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Sandnes.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Sverre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Sverre?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Sverre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Norwegian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Sverre?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Gamle Stavanger (8.3 miles) and Skagenkaien (8.2 miles).
Is Hotel Sverre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sandnes HotelsSandnes Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SandnesHotels near Hotel Sverre
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars