We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Roald Amundsens gate 115, Sandnes 4307 Norway
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$105
View deal
Tripadvisor$105
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com$115
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (39)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (9)

About

#7 of 8 in Sandnes
Location
3.3
Cleanliness
3.6
Service
3.8
Value
3.0
Thon Hotel Sandnes is located in rural, quiet and idyllic surroundings close to Sandnes centre. A charming hotel renovated in 1998. A Total of 82 modern well-equipped guestrooms. Only 12 km from Sola airport and 12 km from Stavanger you can find a quality hotel surrounded by beautiful nature, inviting to outdoor activities. If this is not in your interest, what about a trip to North Europe's largest shopping mall, Kvadrat. Free parking is offered for our guests. Modern meeting- and Conference rooms are accessible, with a maximum capacity of 150 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet. Selection of the daily papers is complimentary to our guests in the restaurant.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Housekeeping
Telephone
Iron
Dishwasher
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 6 more
128Reviews0Q+A11Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 11
  • 44
  • 42
  • 23
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Vicente C wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
If you traver with car its is rather close to Stavanger. It is very convinient to stop when traveling from Kristiansand to Bergen. Stavanger is worth to visit, perhaps one day could be enough time to visit this city.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Better to request a room with a sea view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina Eriksen, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Jul 2, 2020
Hi Vicente, Thank you for your response to Thon Hotel Sandnes. We are happy to see that you had a great time at Thon Hotel Sandnes and Sandnes city.
Read more
Roamamindagloman wrote a review May 2019
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia32 contributions9 helpful votes
I normally stay in the Center but glad I tried this hotel. Special mention to the lady on reception on 8-5, very helpful great English spoken. Next time I go back I will make a point of visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded May 12, 2019
Hi dagzy2016, Thank you for your response to Thon Hotel Sandnes. We appreciate your feedback, and are happy to see that you had a great stay with us. We will welcome you back next time.
Read more
Katarina B wrote a review Oct 2018
Sandve, Norway2 contributions
A great welcome from the reception. The kids got a little goodiebag. We all enjoyed the free waffles and coffe from 16.00 -17.00. Really nice staff and i loved the Halloween decorations and the kidfriendly atmosphere. The food was nice, I would definitely recomend this to friends and family. Thank you for a great experience!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Nov 1, 2018
Hi Katarina, Thank you for the response to Thon Hotel Sandnes. We are happy to see that you had a good stay with us. We welcome you back another time.
Read more
MB80 wrote a review Oct 2018
584 contributions107 helpful votes
Ok situated in Sandnes Nice view from hotellrom Free supper from 18-21 Nice staff Ok breakfast Some glutenfree options Clean bathroom, but missing soaps, tissues etc Quiet place Ok price Close to gasstation and grocery
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Nov 1, 2018
Hi Marita, Thank you for your response to Thon Hotel Sandnes. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you welcome back another time.
Read more
Anne Marie B wrote a review Sep 2018
1 contribution
We stayed for 1 night at a standard room, 123, downstairs. The negative facts: Our room 123 was dated like going back to the 70's and the sink was broken, but we could use it. But a broken sink doesn't give a good impression. The nightbed lamp was very cheap. The positive facts: The reseptionist was really friendly, effective and helpful. And the breakfast buffet was very nice indeed. The beds was nice and soft. But each bed was only 75 cm width, it's much better with standard size 90 cm each bed. Good parking space. Nice pizza takeaway next to the hotel, Pizza nr.8. Mmm.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Date of stay: September 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Choose a modern, cozy room.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Sep 27, 2018
Hi Anne Marie, Thank you for the feedback to Thon Hotel Sandnes, we are happy to see that you had a great stay with us. We have different type of beds, some of them are queen size and some are twin beds. Just be sure, we checked the size of the bed and it is 90 cm. We wish you a great day, and welcome back another time.
Read more
lifeng wrote a review Jul 2018
Shanghai, China52 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed there one night, be a bridge as a early start next morning to Kjerag. The service is great, after check in, around 4 pm, there is a happy hour around the receiption, family time with some snakes. we enjoyed one scorr during this world cup. and as early start, 6:00 am, the chief and kitchen is open at 5:30, of course not many hot dishes, but great to have bread and drinks, be a great start for the hiking to kjerag.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Aug 3, 2018
Hi Lifeng, Thank you for your response to Thon Hotel Sandnes. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay here with us, and hope that you had a nice trip to Kjerag. We would wish you welcome back later.
Read more
Andres K wrote a review Jul 2018
Parnu, Estonia307 contributions29 helpful votes
+1
Nice hotel in Sandnes with free parking and grocery store close to hotel. We had 1 st floor rooms with view to bay. Room had nice soft beds. Breakfast had nice selection of most basic things. Coffe was me a little bit bitter taste. Liked the cold cacao machine,. Good for 1 night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Jul 19, 2018
Hi Andres, Thank you for you response to Thon Hotel Sandnes. I'm happy to see that you had a nice stay with us and you are welcome nixt time you visit the area.
Read more
David S wrote a review Nov 2017
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom144 contributions57 helpful votes
I stayed for 17 nights and although it wasn't quite as rural and idyllic as described by some of the marketing I found this a great place to stay. It seems to be mainly occupied by working men during the week but a different more balanced clientele at weekends. It is quite scenic if you have a room with a view of the fjord as I did but it is also quite industrial looking and a train track and main road runs between the hotel and the fjord. I got a tariff that included breakfast every morning and an evening meal Monday to Thursday making it great value. The staff are fantastic, all speak English and are very hospitable and friendly. The wifi is great, enough to stream movies and there is a gym and sauna. They even let you use their laundry free of charge, which is a real bonus if staying for a while. The food is typically Norwegian and the evening meals were very good, just like home cooking but only one choice of hot meal. Breakfast offers plenty of choice including a cooked buffet and there are also free waffles and hot drinks during the day. I did not go hungry and although I wouldn't usually choose what was offered, I thoroughly enjoyed the food. There is room for improvement though and it is a bit remote and there is not much to do in the immediate area. The coffee machine was mostly not working so not able to get cappuccino etc. The gym could do with some better equipment and air conditioning but the sauna is great. The hotel is also a little tired looking but it doesn't detract from your experience. In summary, this hotel offers great value given prices in Norway and you won't be disappointed by the hospitality and the friendly staff who make the place feel inviting!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Feb 2, 2018
Dear Dave_Wolves, Thank you so much for your great review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our unique concept that includes both breakfast, afternoon sweets and evening meal. Your fantastic review has been presented to the staff and was very much appreciated. Welcome back on your next visit to Sandnes! Best Regards Aina E. General Manager
Read more
Gojeep wrote a review Aug 2017
Melbourne, Australia347 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
Being a bit out of the city makes it better priced once you factor in the included breakfast a free onsite parking. Free coffee and waffles at 4pm each day is a nice touch. Kettle, tea and coffee facilities in the room as well as a mini bar and fridge. Place is out dated with everything a bit worn out and floor floods if shower turn right up. Not good for disabled as no lifts. Nice view over little marina and walking distance to new Rema 1000.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Aug 27, 2017
Dear Gojeep, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your important feedback after staying with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our free coffee and waffles. We hope to see you again soon, and welcome back! Best regards Aina E. General Manager
Read more
Azure55 wrote a review Jun 2017
Monte-Carlo, Monaco229 contributions79 helpful votes
I like the Thon chain, but this is the worst I have stayed in by a long way. Very basic rooms, limited public facilities. Seems to be populated by guests who are either workmen in coveralls or bikers. Stay in central Stavanger where there are some decent hotels.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Aina E, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Sandnes
Responded Jul 2, 2017
Dear Azure55, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your important feedback after staying with us. I truly appreciate that and I am so sorry that you didn`t have a good experience at the hotel. I can ensure you that we use all the feedback we receive from our guest to deliver better service and product. Again, thank you so much for your comments. We hope to welcome you back at Thon Hotel Sandnes. Best Regards Aina E. General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$100 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Tulip Inn Rainbow
LOCATION
NorwayWestern NorwayRogalandSandnes
NUMBER OF ROOMS
82
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thon Hotel Sandnes
Which popular attractions are close to Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Nearby attractions include Dalsnuten (2.6 miles), Real Escape Game (1.5 miles), and Rogaland Arboretum (4.9 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coffeeberry Sandnes, Delikatessen by Foodfighters, and Royal Thai Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center and a sauna during their stay.
Does Thon Hotel Sandnes have airport transportation?
Yes, Thon Hotel Sandnes offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Thon Hotel Sandnes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thon Hotel Sandnes offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business center and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Thon Hotel Sandnes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Russian, Portuguese, Polish, and Greek.