We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buckingham Place

Save
Share
Traveler (906)
Room & Suite (274)
Pool & Beach (184)
Overview
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“his team”(74 reviews)
“the owner”(161 reviews)
“sri lanka”(211 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Buckingham Place
Special Offer: FREE NIGHTS OFFER
Offers from Buckingham Place
Special Offer: FREE NIGHTS OFFER
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveler rating
671
18
7
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
671
18
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis teamthe ownersri lankaattention to detailour honeymooncakeboutique hotelevery aspectevery mealmoment you arrivehigh expectationsgarden suitewithout being intrusivenothing is too much troublerekawa beachseared tunafive nights
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

You will be made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive and your stay will be given the personal touch throughout. The grounds and rooms are spacious, private, clean and nicely decorated. The pool area is great for photos as well as it’s relaxing...More

Thank Tommy B
Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 2 days ago

Paying attention... Thank you very much for complementing our attention to detail – it is truly pleasing whenever our thought is appreciated. A challenge we do face however, is that when something doesn’t work or we haven’t thought of it yet, whatever it is sticks...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

One of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The staff were attentive, the food was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which had a palm tree in the bathroom! Wish we could have stayed longer.More

Thank Cejc222
Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your fabulous compliments, I only wish we could have hosted you longer. However, thank you for coming in the first place, hopefully we’ve whetted your appetite to return one day and, for a longer stay?There’s so much to see and do on...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We stayed for 5 nights in room 15 overlooking the lagoon. Splendid private space, with outdoor bathroom (which can get hot) but cool aircon in bedroom area. I had my travel guitar, and could play and sing as loud as I wanted without anyone complaining!...More

1  Thank M S
Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 3 days ago

Maybe I should have expected it? A perfect review from perfect guests, thank you very much. Your fabulous appraisal of Buckingham Place is as exhaustive for fellow travelers as it is incredibly kind to us – the photos are delightful too. Along with your praise...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow! We arrived in the early afternoon for a 5 night stay after a week of exploring other parts of Sri Lanka. A wonderful, friendly welcome immediately the taxi drove in, with iced towels and fruit cocktails, followed by a guided tour of the hotel....More

Thank Guy R
Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 1 week ago

Perfect timing… Thank you for re-posting your fabulous review. I was certain I’d read and replied to it already when I first spotted it this morning, but I did then wonder whether I was experiencing yet another senior moment? Happily I wasn’t. That your review...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s difficult to know where to start...but I would like to start with complementing the team at the hotel and the standard of the service they provide - it’s truly second to none and that is what sets this hotel apart from anything else. One...More

3  Thank Anne-Marie S
Response from Buckinghamplace, Owner at Buckingham PlaceResponded 2 weeks ago

Fabulous… Thank you for a really fabulous review, and for being one of several recent guests whom has persuaded me to try offering once again, wine by the glass. Alas, you were here a little too early to benefit I’m afraid, though reading between the...More

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Travelers' Choice2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Wheelchair access
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
$216 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$216 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (906)
Room & Suite (274)
Pool & Beach (184)
Dining (104)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
RuthAnn76
April 7, 2018|
Answer
Response from Abreakaway2 |
Thank you. Sorry London pressed wrong button.
0
Votes
Abreakaway2
April 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harvey J | Reviewed this property |
Our bathroom was attached to the rest of the unit but was "open" to the outside air. It was very nice.
0
Votes
RuthAnn76
April 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Susan R | Reviewed this property |
We did not see any local massage places, but have to say we used the facilities at BP which were nowhere near the amount you suggest, two of us had a full massage for less than your figure.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Family of 4 can comfortably occupy one room"
Read review
"Honeymoon suite/ tree house"
Read review
"Rooms are all in separate buildings in the lovely gardens, so ask for one close to the main hotel building if..."
Read review
"Top floor larger suites"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing