We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4/55-63 Gaze Road Settlement, Christmas Island, Flying Fish Cove, Christmas Island 6798 Australia
11% less than usual
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
$135
$109
View Deal
TripAdvisor$135
Trip.com
Booking.com$135
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (4)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Sunset has a perfect location with ocean frontage. The rooms are serviced daily. Rooms are air-conditioned with king / queen size beds or twin share. All rooms have an en-suite, microwave, fridge, toaster & cutlery/crockery for two. Centrally located at Settlement, The Sunset is only a short stroll to shops ,The Golden Bosun Tavern & Rumah Tinggi Restaurant. WIFI is complimentary.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Outdoor pool
Tennis court
Airport transportation
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Parking
Free internet
Wifi
Internet
Car hire
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
70Reviews4Q+A29Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 36
  • 29
  • 3
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We spent a week here . It is a truly excellent establishment . Angela and her team run the best hotel on the Island . There's a delightful pool and barbecue area- there are spectacular views from the pool area Rooms are well appointed - and restaurants /bars are a short walk away.
Read more
Response from Angela J, Owner at The Sunset
Responded Dec 24, 2018
It's good to read you had an excellent holiday. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities of The Sunset and the views!
Read more
I’ve just returned from a week on Christmas Island staying at the Sunset and I loved my stay. Staff provided excellent and faultless service, friendly and helpful. In the rooms, there’s a bar fridge, microwave, kettle, crockery and cutlery and you can use the communal kitchen at VQ3 (I didn’t use the communal kitchen as I didn’t need it). The views over the ocean and the sunset are great, and the onsite pool is a great way to spend a few leisurely hours after sightseeing each day. Best place to stay on Christmas island.
Read more
Response from Angela J, Owner at The Sunset
Responded Nov 1, 2018
Thank you for your excellent comments. My son Gary managed The Sunset whilst I was off Island. I am very pleased to read that you were well looked after in my absence and you enjoyed the facilities.
Read more
Nice rooms & Angela responded to any requests with no fuss.WIFI is also available. Spent a lot of time around the pool.Close to town & lovely view over the water from the deck. Actually had a submarine appear, highlight of that day.
Read more
Response from Angela J, Owner at The Sunset
Responded Nov 1, 2018
I am pleased you had a very relaxing time at The Sunset and enjoyed the beautiful ocean view! Adding a submarine was a big surprise!
Read more
My wife and I recently stayed at the "Sunset" It has been a dream of mine to visit Christmas Island, our experience at the "Sunset" was brilliant and Gary was happy to answer all our questions and advise on interesting places to visit and the best places to eat.If you intend to visit Christmas Island, stay here if you can. Howard and Diana Bradley
Read more
Response from Angela J, Owner at The Sunset
Responded May 31, 2018
I am very pleased you enjoyed your trip to the Island and Gary helped to make your stay at The Sunset a pleasant one.
Read more
My wife & I were with a group of friends (total 3 couples) and spent a week on Xmas diving (with Wet and Dry Adventures) & we all had adjacent upstairs rooms at The Sunset. We found it very comfortable, spacious, clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient (close to the Tavern), the ocean views are great, the pool and BBQ amenities were excellent & I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Read more
Response from Angela J, General Manager at The Sunset
Responded Apr 29, 2018
Many thanks for you kind post. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaChristmas IslandFlying Fish Cove
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing