We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Float House River Kwai

Save
Share
55 Moo 5 Wang Krachae, 71150 Thailand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$116
View deal
Travelocity
$116
View deal
Agoda.com
$101
View deal
Hotels.com$116
StayForLong
Orbitz.com$116
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (1217)
Room & Suite (472)
Dining (157)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 07/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/14/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 23 in Sai Yok
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.2
Value
4.2
Travelers' Choice
The FloatHouse River Kwai is a magnificent floating resort upon a finest part of the world's historical river,River Kwai.All floating villas are made of teak wood & bamboo featured with wooden furniture and broad range of services and facilities. Our distinctive design is to harmonize with gorgeous nature surroundings making the resort "design by nature".
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Lazy river
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Foot massage
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Full body massage
Massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
Thai
1067Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 655
  • 302
  • 74
  • 18
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
KingsLCL wrote a review Apr 2022
Bangkok1203 contributions198 helpful votes
+1
If there is poetry in the air, in the water and in the mist …. it’s all here at The FloatHouse River Kwai. The resort is not anywhere accessible via main roads. We had to park our car a distance away along the river. And from a pier, an enjoyable longtail boat ride to the floating hotel. On arrival, we were greeted by proper friendly reception like how you would in good hotels. Cold welcomes drinks served. A brisk walk along the wooden walkways and we were into our floating wooden cabin. It was packed with amenities like a dressing table, a wardrobe, and a proper shower in a divided bathroom area. There were snacks, mini fridge, and a Nespresso machine. The air-conditioning was good and kept us from the heat of afternoon sun. There were 2 deck chairs right out the door facing the river. A floating platform upfront has a swing for us to chill out. A large common space adjacent adjoins the next unit beside. The carpentry was gleaming with polish, the bed was big and comfy and the linens clean. There was also space for a sofa among the tasteful rattan walls. Everything was as it should of a properly maintained resort. We were here in December. When the sun went behind the mountains, the temperature rapidly cooled to a chill. The air was heavy with the cold, and we had tom yam soup for dinner which kept us warm. The only place for a meal was in the resort’s sole restaurant, unless you want to take a jungle walk out to a village which is an adventure by itself. As the deep night sets in, there was only the sound of gentle splashing water brushing around the pontoons underneath the resort. The occasional creak accompanied the sound of nature as wooden frames inconspicuously twist. Early next morning, we woke to a mystical scape. We watched heavy trails of fog emanated from upriver and passed at the pace of a slow freight train down along the resort. The hue of the forest and predawn skies encapsulated us in heavy shades of blueish green. The draft was cold. They said this spectacular phenomenon only happens in the cool season, and we were so glad we were here. Soon, the yellow showed as the sun tried to fight through the misty landscape. Breakfast we turned up early and sat good by the river. The area ain’t that big, as the hours matured, choice seating became scarce. It was a proper buffet breakfast in a proper setup indeed. This is a far cry from the many other rampant ecolodges in Kanchanaburi which served only cheap ham, sausages, and egg. I was so glad to be sipping proper coffee instead of instant 3-in-1s. I was so glad to be able to order choices at the egg station instead of eating cold sunny side up. There were chilled juices and fruits. There were salad and a selection of hot Thai dishes. The fog and the breeze were on well into mid-morning and that made our breakfast a very enchanting experience. We soon retreated to our cabins, and my kid played the swing. I did get worried sometimes because there was no barrier between platform and water. Parents with kids, we got to keep a watchful eye. I would say this resort is more for the romantics, or family with older children who can swim. The resort does command a price, but with nothing to dismay, it was a magnificent stay that exceeded all our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Khun KingsLCL, Thank you for your recent stay at The FloatHouse River Kwai. It was our truly pleasure to hear your compliments. Your admiration will definitely encourage us to do even better. We look forward to welcome you back to The FloatHouse River Kwai in the near future. Kindest regards, Resort Manager
Read more
Andrea wrote a review Mar 2022
59 contributions2 helpful votes
Our third stay at The Floathouse.The e mails were always answered promptly prior to arrival.We had our two requested room V1 and V2.This time we decided to stay half board which in hindsight I wouldn’t have as on our last visits we always went al a carte for our evening meals. It was as beautiful and peaceful as always but this visit I feel the standards had dropped a little. Housekeeping trolleys left out next to the reception area untidily and I felt more let down by the restaurant.We stayed four nights and the restaurant manager appeared to be away.The service although with a smile was haphazard and lacking.The last visits the half board was always a buffet but this time probably due to covid and less numbers was not although breakfast was which seemed very strange.The waiters did not have enough English to explain what the dishes were so we never knew.Maybe they should print a menu everyday for half board guests so at least we knew what we would be eating.I also felt that desserts were an after thought and no choice.So will not go half board again. On our last evening a man dressed in black and white who seemed to be the restaurant manager appeared and the service became much much better.He was very efficient and his English good and it was a much better experience. We did a boat trip in a long tail boat which was very good and spent half a day at the reshotel using their pool. However the vent around the pool cut my sisters foot and reception said oh don’t worry it’s happened before and no more was said. Overall another very relaxing stay but standards have definitely dropped in restaurant when manager is not there.Soecial mention to reception staff especially Joey who was absolutely fantastic in every way and the restaurant manager. We will return but we’re a little disappointed this time mainly in restaurant and the housekeeping trolleys left untidily around.Just attention to detail needed .When you’ve been before and it was always 100 percent perfect when it falls short it’s very noticeable. Very relaxing stay and still as beautiful as ever. Also please put the life jackets back outside each room as they used to be as it’s a long walk from your room to get them now.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded Apr 3, 2022
Dear Oscarwells123, Thank you for your kind supports, as well as very valuable comments on some parts of our services. The Management has taken your advice seriously and we will certainly improve all services to better meet all clients expectation. We have already given out orders to put life jackets back outside each room and to handout menu for halfboard guests as suggested. Thank you once again for your kind feedback and we all are looking forward to welcome you back again very soon. With Best Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
weerapat s wrote a review Jan 2022
Bangkok, Thailand241 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
It was my great memorable trip ever, the raft is great, very clean, comfortable, good function design and feel very safe with strong structure. Meals were good taste with great service staff, they always observe us and providing a great service with smile. Breakfast is ok even not many choices, but it is at acceptable level.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded Feb 4, 2022
Dear Khun weerapats, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
Meuok wrote a review Oct 2021
Bang Sare, Thailand143 contributions101 helpful votes
Reading Agoda's blurb, I thought 90m² rooms, full of old teak furniture, that's for me. Big mistake. The entire room might be 90m², but that includes the maintenance area, an area where the air condensers are, and the delightful raft area outside. The bedroom itself is about 30m². And the walls aren't teak panelled as one gets the impression, but the cheap rataan-style boarding. The toilet and shower area, however, is first class. However, as misleading are the pictures, the place is a delight and the view of the river and the jungle from your bed is worth the ฿3000 or whatever. The downsides are: you're obviously a bit captive here (although the resort organises horrendously priced expeditions) and the rather average food is expensive (and plus, plus). The breakfast, too, is very standard-issue (cold bacon), and should be better and more inspirational, bearing in mind the room rate, but the staff will fall over themselves to serve you. The wake from passing boats, causing the room to see-saw up and down might annoy some (though I considered it therapeutic!) Am I glad I had a night here....Yes...100%. Would I return....don't think so...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded Nov 18, 2021
Dear Khun Meuok, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
DelphineSpinelli wrote a review Oct 2021
Bangkok, Thailand143 contributions98 helpful votes
+1
It all starts at the pier when the boat comes to pick you up, you feel already in a remote place, in the middle of nowhere. The vegetation is luxuriant and we were impressed by the quite strong current. The water is brown at this time as we are still into the rainy season. There is also a land access, however it takes some steep steps to go down to the resort. The Resotel pier is definitely the best option. After a 10 minutes ride you reach the hotel, and for me it was a full wow effect. The hotel is composed of floating bungalows tied to each other with the lobby and a restaurant in the middle. Each bungalow has its own terrace right on the river. In the back there is a walkway running all along the bungalows and to the stairs where you can reach the land. The bungalow itself is super cozy and the view on the river simply breathtaking. The place is filled with good vibes. Bed and linen are very confortable, and the rain shower delightful. one thing we didn’t like was that the bathroom have no ceiling, that includes the (separated) toilet so that lacks a bit of privacy. Also each floating unit has two rooms separated by a set of doors on each side, but those doors are not really tightly closed, so if you have noisy neighbors you’d hear them very well, same goes if they decide to stay on their terrace all night. We were afraid to have an issue with mosquitoes or other bugs, but honestly we had less than in our house in Bangkok! Other than that we saw an occasional beetle and dragonfly. Restaurant is good, Thai choices excellent, western choices however less interesting. Breakfast is decent. The whole staff, lobby, restaurant, cleaning, etc is super nice and helpful. The hotel propose several activities, we went on a one hour boat ride which was fantastic. (Boat goes up river, it’s just an amazing scenery). When you go up the stairs you can grab a bike and ride to the nearby village or to the Resotel resort (we went there for a coffee, place looks amazing too), you can also use the pool there. We saw a lot of people swimming in the river as well! Over all we had a beautiful time at the Floathouse, beautiful place, beautiful scenery, nice and warm people - As said earlier, good vibes feel good place, ideal for a short getaway to just rest!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Dear Khun DelphineSpinelli, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
jbene777 wrote a review Oct 2021
Maui, Hawaii222 contributions152 helpful votes
Attention, Attention, Attention, Tourists, Locals, and those looking for a special place to get away from Bagkok to relax. The Float House Resort on the River Kwai is truly the best on the river. The perfect get away from the Bangkok heat and for those looking to get in some relaxation, solitude, and a great experience. A true first class Resort directly on the River Kwai. All rooms and the Resort are floating on the river. All rooms have spectacular views, are decorated in fantastic Thai theme, have all the amenities of home, clean, great WIFI, and with nice linens. The bed, with the view, was very comfortable, and had the most amazing view overlooking the river. The Float House Resort on the River Kwai is the "Higher Standard" for "People, Product, and Process." I forgot to mention the food, breakfast included in the rate, was amazing!! Authentic Thai, amazing taste, and perfect!! Important when you are in such a secluded place for solitude and peace!! Thank you The Float House on the River Kwai for an amazing stay and I look forward to coming back to see you all again, since I live here in BKK!! If I have given you motivation to come stay, please give me a like and enjoy your amazing experience at a great resort!! To see any negative reviews say anything bad about the Float House is flat out ridiculous!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Any room is amazing. The float villas are in a line along the river. Can't go wrong in any of...
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded Nov 3, 2021
Dear, jbene777 Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
SidSolanki wrote a review Aug 2021
Pattaya, Thailand109 contributions17 helpful votes
Positive : 1. Good location 2.decent food 3. Room comfortable Negatives : 1. Big negative is their card machine does not seem to work with International card. I left the hotel and could withdraw money from atm - but at the hitel the card machine did nit accept 2. Coffee was watery 3. Food was average 4. Breakfast was below average - except egg station 5. We were checking out on Sunday and requested late check out . I asked if hotel was busy as normally on Sunday yiu have usually only check outs and very limited check in during covid times ….but lady at reception was very rude and flatly refused . After requesting , she gave one hour more ..which we said yiu can keep . They lost my lunch revenue and my future business of mine and my expat friends in bangkok
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Carry cash . Card has issues
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded Sep 30, 2021
Dear SidSolanki, Thank you for your kind feedback. After thorough investigation, we wish to clarify as follows:- 1. Card Machine (EDC) has been working very well until today. Unfortunately, only Master and Visa Cards are accepted at the Resort 2. Watery Coffee. During buffet breakfast, standard coffee was served. However, we do provide fresh coffee making machine in room free of charge. 3. Average Food. Our Chef was called to improve both the menu and the taste to suite all clients. 4. Below average Breakfast. Buffet breakfast comprising of varieties of European and Asian foods was served hot until 10.00 am. We always improve our menus to satisfy different nationalities of clients. 5. Checking-In and Out. According to Resort policy, checking in time is 14.00 hrs. and checking out is 12.00 hrs. However, we always compromise this regulation subject to rooms availability, as in your case you are allowed to early check in on arrival. We do hope above has clarified your kind comments. Please be assured that all of us here will spare no efforts to improve our service to the satisfaction of all our clients. Best Regards, Resort Manager
Read more
markbrom wrote a review Jul 2021
Pattaya, Thailand38 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Excellent relaxing stay Stayed for 3 nights, and wish we had stayed longer. We arrived by car, and there is limited parking at the top of a flight of stairs down to the resort. Don’t take too much luggage, travel light is the order of the day! It was an easy check in, we had booked from Agoda, and everything was ready. Loverly airy room with a large canopied bed, separate washing room, with separate toilet and separate shower room. Double doors open onto a fantastic little balcony, with beach chairs and private attached raft with a swing seat on. You can sit on the raft and put your feet in the water, loverly and cool! Some people were entering the water to drift down the hotel front, it is compulsory to wear a life jacket, of which there are plenty around the accommodation. There is a loverly dining room, that serves breakfast and all the meals, with a very well equipped bar. Food was very well prepared and reasonably priced. There are sights around the area, but we found it so relaxing we stayed on the raft and outside in our room. We did hire a long tail boat, with driver, and went up the river, which is very fast flowing in some areas, and take in the marvellous scenery. Well worth it. The hotel organised this for us, and we were picked up and set down from reception. Overall a fanatic get away, in a loverly setting and amenities. We will be going again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded Jul 9, 2021
Dear Khun markbrom, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
thaitaka wrote a review May 2021
Bangkok, Thailand1 contribution
this was only 3days visit but we could stay much longer...no hustle but so relaxed atmosphere and well hospitality...could not expect more...Thai food was also good...many interesting site to visit. there is sister hotel near by where you can enjoy swimming pool. many activity can be arranged by hotel as well. M Must visit!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded May 6, 2021
Dear Khun thaitaka, Thank you for your recent stay with us and sharing your opinions. Certainly, your precious feedback and appreciation would definitely be high encouragement for us to persistently contribute the finest hospitality for our upcoming guests. Thank you again for your remarkable review and we highly hope to see you back in the future. Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
FrequentFlier791871 wrote a review Apr 2021
Bangkok, Thailand1 contribution
Very nice place, warm and friendly staff, good food, lots of activities. However, our experience with the mountain biking activity is very bad. Broken bikes, no brakes, broken seats which make them very dangerous. Safety of guests is the key issue.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from SERENATA Hotels, General Manager at The Float House River Kwai
Responded May 4, 2021
Dear Khun FrequentFlier791871 Thank you for choosing The FLOATHOUSE RIVER KWAI for your holiday. We appreciate your valuable feedback and immediately inform our staffs in order to encourage them maintain our best service as well as awareness of danger from the activities. The activity staff is informed such that problem and immediately already repaired. Thanks again for your kindness and looks forward to welcoming you and your friend back in the near future . Best regards, Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ThailandKanchanaburi ProvinceSai Yok
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Float House River Kwai
Which popular attractions are close to The Float House River Kwai?
Nearby attractions include Rock Valley Hot Spring & Fish Spa (2.8 miles), Kaeng Lawa Cave (0.3 miles), and Mon Tribal Village (1.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Float House River Kwai?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Float House River Kwai?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Float House River Kwai?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Float House River Kwai?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Float House River Kwai?
Conveniently located restaurants include Off Road Kitchen, Khrua ASA, and Baan-Aaya.
Does The Float House River Kwai have airport transportation?
Yes, The Float House River Kwai offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Float House River Kwai have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.