We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
61/5 Moo 2 Mai Rood, Khlong Yai 23110 Thailand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
StayForLong
Prestigia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (294)
Pool & Beach (97)
Room & Suite (45)

About

#1 of 4 in Khlong Yai
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.6
Value
4.5
The Mango Beach Resort combines luxury and service of a 4 Star resort in a peaceful and splendid nature, off the beaten track, conducive to calm and relaxation. Ideally located at the crossroads of main Thailand, Koh Chang Island and Cambodia, the Mango Beach Resort is both an ideal stopover for a luxurious rest and a perfect destination for well-being retreat, enjoying paradisiac beach, gourmet Thai cooking, yoga and massages.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Wifi
Infinity pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet

Location

Full view
Contact
61/5 Moo 2 Mai Rood, Khlong Yai 23110 Thailand
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Trat Airport43 miSee all flights
Bangkok Intl Airport187 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
257Reviews3Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 183
  • 47
  • 11
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Me-nl wrote a review Jan 2020
Rotterdam, The Netherlands4 contributions
We stayed here for 7d/6n in a beach bungalow. We were surprised by some (negative) reports here on TA! MBR is a beautiful, quiet place, its 4* rating fully worth. New owner who is managing MBR himself with his friendly staff really cares about his customers, his staff, his neighbors and the environment. We look forward going back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Kim D wrote a review Jan 2020
Bangkok, Thailand33 contributions18 helpful votes
This is a basically a 1–maybe 2-star hotel pretending to be a 4 star hotel, complete with the exalted prices. To be fair, the beach is nice and the general layout of the resort is good. From that point on, though, everything else is pure amateur hour. 1. FOOD (BARELY): Breakfast was included in our package. Unfortunately so was food poisoning. One of my daughters succumbed to something from either breakfast the first morning or from dinner the night before. It was so severe she couldn’t keep anything down for the next 48 hours. Aside from the poisoning, which in itself is reason to avoid this place like like your health depended on it (which it does), the quality of food served was exceedingly poor and it was overpriced. That’s quite an accomplishment for Thailand where even street food is phenomenally delicious and cheap. For our first (and last) dinner here, one in our party order garlic pepper shrimp and was so overdosed with MSG he had got a headache—in my 35 years in Thailand I’ve never found a restaurant to use MSG in this dish, but this resort does, and to excess. My daughter ordered a minced crab meat dish that was 25% minced crab shell—she spent the whole meal trying to pick it out. As for the breakfast buffet the following morning, it was about what you’d expect from a one star hotel catering to discount tour groups. We came during the last hour of breakfast service and everything was heavily picked over—they do little to restock the buffet. Admittedly they did have bacon, but it had been cooked early and left out with nothing to keep it warm so if you come later like we did you just got cold greasy bacon. Their free breakfast was so bad that, for the following two mornings, we left the resort to eat at a restaurant down the street (see below), preferring edible (and safer) food over economic considerations. And then there were the menu prices, which were easily 100% higher than they should have been (or 200% if you factor in how bad the food is). Beach bar drinks were equally overpriced. At first we thought maybe the resort had difficulty getting decent food or cooks to this remote area. But then we discovered just down the street was a wonderful restaurant named Folkways where the food is 3-4 times better, 50-60% cheaper, with a much larger selection, and served in a nifty air conditioned glass room. We had all our subsequent meals there and will do a separate review for them (5 stars). (Turn right out of the resort, travel 6km, and arrive at Folkways Restaurant on the left). If Mango Beach Resort’s food had been half decent, and if they hadn’t tried so hard to gouge us on the food, we might have formed a more charitable attitude from the start. However the management probably knows they’re not likely to get repeat customers, so perhaps they’ve adopted a business model of “screw ‘em while we have the chance.” 2. PEACE AND QUIET—NEEDLESSLY SPOILED: Question, does a person, booking a beachfront bungalow in an upmarket resort do so to enjoy the beach, the sea—maybe listen to the sound of the wind and the waves? Or is it so they can listen to the incessant beat of cheesy disco music day and night? For whatever inane reason, the resort’s beach bar, which we were told was closed during the day, insisted on playing loud, irritating disco music all day long. (It was so loud we could even hear it while inside our room with the windows closed and the AC on. ) Our first morning we came out to sit by the sea and couldn’t enjoy it for the throbbing bass. No one was even near the bar—not even a bar keeper. Eventually I leaned over the bar and turn it off myself. When a staff showed up 2 hours later and cranked it back up again I had go and explain no one wanted it. He agreed to keep it off, albeit temporarily. But as soon as we headed back to our room, he cranked it up again. At least twice a day every day I’d ask them to turn the music down or off, especially during the day when people clearly wanted peace and quiet. Within an an hour or two though it would be loud again. The music mostly drove us indoors, where we didn’t want to be, and even still their disco choices penetrated our bungalow walls. Why? Why, in age of personal playlists on cell phones enjoyed privately with ear buds by every person who has a music preference, did Mango Beach Resort feel compelled to pollute their beautiful beach setting with this ear garbage? This, more than anything, ruined the beach experience for us. 3. ROOMS: We paid extra for the beach front bungalows, and we’re glad we did as the cheaper alternatives were a ways from the beach. The basic layout of the rooms were good with on notable exception: the toilet was separated from the rest of the bathroom facilities which would have been okay if the toilet included a sink. But instead if you wanted to wash your hands after your business (as I would hope you should), you have to schlep from one bathroom to the other. Also unpleasant was the fact that the toilet door was vented, so there is no sound (or smell) barrier between the toilet and the main room. Be prepared for some extra intimate moments with your partner. Also there was no plug outlet in the toilet which was too bad as we always travel with nightlights to find our way to the toilet in the middle of the night without having to switch on bright lights. No such luck here. Housekeeping did a good job for cleaning, but they unfortunately finished off each visit by spraying the room excessively with a heavily perfumed “air freshener.” We would then have to leave the windows and screen door open for the next hour or two to get real fresh air to air out the stench of the artificial “air freshener.” They also littered the room with eucalyptus sachets, which smelled nice in small quantities but they put 5 in our room we moved 4 of them out to the porch. Lastly, the rooms had no phones. Granted , with such abysmal food no one contemplated room service. But if we had requests (like hey, how about a mat outside our door so as not to track beach sand into the bungalow, duh?), or when the AC suddenly stopped working, each time we had to hike from one end of the property to the other to lodge a request for service. Really relaxing, that. 4. INTERNET: The internet mostly didn’t work the entirety of our 4 day visit, which was a serious problem because I brought work with me that was time critical and I couldn’t do it. It was also a major disappointment for my family as they wanted to use their own devices (iPhones, iPads, computers, etc), but couldn’t. This was an incredible inconvenience and put a real damper on the experience because we specifically choose an upmarket hotel because we wanted (and needed) a good and reliable connection. The owner made excuses, making a big deal over the fact he had recently installed new hotspots and repeaters all over the property, but since their basic internet service to the hotel itself wasn’t working most of the time, these gadgets were mostly useless. It did cross my mind that perhaps the hotel owner had unwittingly purchased an internet service package that limited the total number of connections in the hotel to 10 or 15. This would explain why some of got a connection some of the time. But even so, the connection would drop regularly. I really got the sense the management didn’t know whet they were doing or how to solve problems when we brought them to their attention. 5. SMART TVS: We didn’t come for the smart TVs but given this hotel’s set up I thought this was worth mentioning. Each room has a brand new smart television but, by their own admission, none of the staff knew how to operate them, so for most guests they were just black slabs taking up counter space. I figured out how to get ours working once they brought me the tv owners manual, but it turned out to be a fruitless endeavor. Guests should have be able to access their own YouTube and Netflix accounts, but since the internet is so poor this was of course out of the question. The TVs also allow for iPhone and iPad mirroring—to let you project shows onto the tv. I got the mirroring feature to work with my iPad, but because the repeater link was too poor (or the tv was cheap?), the movies would never load. We wanted to do a couple movie nights in the evening. We succeeded at this, but ONLY because we brought our own a) movies on external drives, b) computer, and c) our own hdmi cable. 6. PARKING: Again, not a primary topic, yet noteworthy nonetheless. I suppose the owners thought they were being helpful by constructing a shaded parking area along one side of the parking area. Unfortunately the contractor they used sunk posts into wide concrete footings that were raised 18 inches off the ground and that could not be seen by either a rearview mirror or our backup camera. This, combined with the fact that two small cars barely fit side by side between two posts, meant for a very snug fit for parked cars. Thanks to this stupid design we ended up getting a beautiful scrape on our back left bumper. A staff passing by said offhandedly “yeah, that happens about once a week.” If it happened that often, you’d think the management would post a sign alerting drivers of this risk. But I guess that level of thoughtfulness must’ve been a stretch for them. We really regretted our stay here. We paid a small fortune for 2 premium bungalow for three nights and consider it money well wasted. What looked from ads like a 4 star paradise in the middle of nowhere—and they certainly priced their rooms as if it were—quickly revealed itself to be an abysmal holiday experience thanks to the astounding ineptitude of amateurs pretending at the hospitality business. I would change the “Mango” to “Man, go elsewhere.” Give this place a miss.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose the left side of the beach to avoid the incessant loud music coming from the beach front bar.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Marishaan wrote a review Dec 2019
Zengcheng, China88 contributions68 helpful votes
+1
We stayed here with our family over a 10-day period stretching over Christmas. It is a quiet and beautiful resort. The pool is fantastic and my boys spend ours playing in it. The beach is absolutely pristine. The sand is white and the water clean, there is no rubbish as mentioned in precursors posts. There are kayaks and paddle boards to use free of charge. The sunsets are breathtaking. The food was good. We ordered a range of dishes off the menu and had a good meal every time. They are flexible with the kids as well if you want things changed in terms of your order. I am a runner and enjoyed runs on the beach and along the road, beautiful and safe. There are bicycles to use free of charge and petrol scooters at a small fee if you want to go exploring further. The resort is remote, that can be seen on a map and, to us, that’s the whole point. There isn’t shops and clubs around, what you have here is the sea, the pool and a good book! Having said this, there is very good wifi, the boys enjoyed online games and we all video called families on Christmas Day with no issue. Staff were friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. The resort is spotlessly clean. We’ve lived in Southeast Asia for almost a decade and from all the holidays we’ve been on, we will surely come back here. This place is a true gem..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Sunhong Heang wrote a review Sep 2019
Phnom Penh, Cambodia128 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
I do enjoy the view and the atmosphere around this resort, only problem is that it is too quiet. I wish there were more people, my family were the only guests there at that time. Don't get me wrong, the hotel and service are superb, it is just weird to be the only guest.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
chuleeporn w wrote a review Aug 2019
28 contributions2 helpful votes
Pro Nice room Private beach Quiet Location 5 mins from beach restaurants zone Cons Room was not cleaned when checked it, after clean it was fine Very quiet at night Far from 7 11 Need car to get around Room cleaness is an issue, my room has small lizard hatched out from eggs at night and left empty shells on the floor
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Jon M wrote a review Mar 2019
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand538 contributions220 helpful votes
Room # 206 ( Deluxe Sea-view Bungalow - Paid Baht 3,500 via Agoda ) Do take time to read other Guests reviews further back on TripAdvisor - they are Correct. Guest Service IS NOT Delivered by many of the Staff we met at this Hotel. 1) Air Con NOT Cooling in Room - What do they do... Give us just a Fan when it is 35C outside! How about calling the Air Con Repair company and spending some $$'s GET it FIXED 2) TV had No Channels working - No phone in room so we walk 250 metres to reception = Oh yes Satellite problem, maybe work later! Wt not tell us at Check In - we would feel much better if you offer proactive service. GET it FIXED 3) Jacuzzi Bath in Bathroom - Jacuzzi Function not work - No Water Jets!! Why not spend $$'s and get this fixed - someone else complained about this in March 2018 ( 1 year ago ) 4) Bath FLOODS ALL OVER the Bathroom floor as it Empties..... GET it FIXED 5) Spa Bath ( in main pool ) did not work - pump comes on for 30 seconds the goes off for 5 minutes - Reception took the Remote Control away... that was the last I heard!!! GET it FIXED 6) Breakfast was NOT a BUFFET as we expected when paying 3,500 Baht.... Exceptionally poor choice of food ( no cooked Thai food option only a soup ) The chief Thai man was rude and unhelpful ( even to my wife who is a Thai, he needed to be asked twice to bring Chilli, sugar etc to the table ) saying "NO You taste it first".... They bought 1 x Plate of Fruit to the table - not a plate each!!! Not enough for 2 x People - Just Tight as a Camels..... Breakfast VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING 7) Gym equipment ( bicycle seat ) broken.... GET it FIXED To sum up... VASTLY OVERPRICED while majorly UNDER-DELIVERING ALL SERVICES.... We felt LET DOWN and RIPPED OFF As we had were celebrating 10 years of being married we had planned to go away and come back again for a further 2 x Nights ...... WE CHANGED OUR PLANS Do yourself a favour AND BOOK ELSEWHERE.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Any Room I think will be Quiet
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valerie M, General Manager at Mango Beach Resort
Responded Mar 7, 2019
I am very sorry that your stay with us was so bad. There is a little bit confusion for some disagreement that you got : - concerning the Air con on your room, I understand that it was not cold enough for you, but it was working. We offer you to change the room , you refuse. We gave you a fan because you ask for it. - The pool Jacuzzi is not working with the remote control bur with some button on the floor, I am sorry that my staff did not explain to you. - I am also sorry that we do not set the breakfast buffet during your stay, we offer " A LA CARTE" , you can order whatever you like for breakfast. I apologize for my staff if they did not give you the seasoning fast enough. Sorry again for all the disagreement during your stay. Best regards
Read more
Tim W wrote a review Jan 2019
32 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here after Koh chang for week and wished we had stayed here longer we loved everything about the Mango its peacefully in the middle of nowhere, The beach is powder soft white and is deserted the food is good the gardens really beautifully maintained. The nearest shop is a 600 baht taxi away so make sure you have all you need with you (cigarettes in my case). The staff we're really helpful and I'd happily stay there again, ideal place to just chill out and get away from the crowds. If this resort was on Koh chang it would be on par with their best but at less than half the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: To be honest from what I saw all rooms looked great at this resort just depends if you want your...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Valerie M, Manager at Mango Beach Resort
Responded Jan 29, 2019
Thank you
Read more
Year Bune S wrote a review Oct 2018
276 contributions54 helpful votes
The hotel is quite new and really, really far away from most other places in Thailand. If you are able to get to this part of Thailand, this would be a gem as you will be able to find the peace and solitude that you would not find easy find on more populated beaches. Since it is so far away, there are few tourists. The hotel is kept very clean. We had booked 2 adjoining spacious rooms. I gave it a 3-star rating because they had not prepared our room, even though we were arriving around 4 PM, and made us wait. Furthermore, one of our rooms had a clogged toilet caused by the previous occupant. Maintenance came to fix the problem but did not succeed. They did not do anything to compensate or offer to move us to another room but told us to share our remaining bathroom as we were adjoined. This deserves a 2 Stars deduction. The food is very expensive, but as I said, if you can find a ride, there are restaurant that offer local prices.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from Valerie M, General Manager at Mango Beach Resort
Responded Oct 7, 2018
Dear Guest, It' s the second time that you write the same review and I asked you on the first time, to explain to me about to share toilet, because the way the resort is build it's impossible to share toilet. We always, I really mean always (when we have available room) offer to change the room when there is a problem in the room, or for any reason. So please, let me know the room number that you share toilet , how do you do , you have the key room, or you have to wait the other guest is in his room to be able to go toilet, or... ? Waiting for your answer. Best regards
Read more
Paul H wrote a review Sep 2018
Bangkok, Thailand14 contributions5 helpful votes
Beware! As mentioned in other reviews this resort charged my card early for the full amount of my booking without permission. I booked through booking.com and the terms of the booking were 50% deposit, free cancellation and 50% upon arrival in December. The resort charged my card in full at the start of September, but I didn't noticed until the 15th of September. I then contacted the resort to cancel the booking. The resort said I would have the refund within 10 days. It is now the 28th September and no refund has arrived.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Service
Trip type: Traveled
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Valerie M, General Manager at Mango Beach Resort
Responded Oct 1, 2018
Dear Paul, I apologize and explain to you that it was a mistake. I am very sorry about that. I explain to you that it was a mistake from a new receptionist on her training period. Everybody can make mistake is human. You will received full refund, the delay is from the bank system, when they say 10 days they meaning 10 working days and i already check with my bank everything is on the process, maybe you can check with you bank . You made your booking through booking .com so you gave you c/c , nothing about authorization I apologize one more time to you. Best regards.
Read more
Guillérmo wrote a review Aug 2018
Madrid, Spain174 contributions91 helpful votes
Clean and new. I was really happy with value I got with so cheap cost. Local market area is near and few places to get food with good value. I got help and advice what to do and how to get in new destination. 
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Traveled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKhlong Yai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mango Beach Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Mango Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Mango Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mango Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Mango Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mango Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Folk Ways Cafe’& Bistro, Marisa by Temduang Seafood Restaurant, and Aunty Eurn Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mango Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Mango Beach Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Mango Beach Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mango Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mango Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Does Mango Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Mango Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.