We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Morritt Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Morritt Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 367: English reviews
Oak Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stopped here for supper after a long day. We were hoping for a quick, simple meal. I had steak, my husband had fish and chips. It took a long time for our food to arrive. The steak was underdone, and the rest of the food was tepid. We were too tired to send it back. Then we ordered coffee,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Went with friends for lunch,went into the bar area ,it was very quiet Infact we were the only four people in the bar.Then another couple arrived.We ordered 2 starters to share between 4 .it took quite a while for them to arrive ,don't know why because they were cold meats and salad,hummus olives and tapenade .But it was very nice,so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandie M
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sandie M, Thank you first and foremost for providing feedback about your experience at The Morritt Hotel and Garage Spa. I was wondering if you could send me an email outlying the date you attended to gm@themorritt.co.uk so i can look into this please. I can promise you this is not usually the case, as you can see from... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Wonderful staff - Ann in particular who couldn't have been more helpful. Arranged cabs via local company (Alan's) and a packed lunch for our friends who had to leave at 6am instead of breakfast. Essentially, this is traditional period hotel with some extensions. Lovely small garden. We were in a deluxe 1st floor room. Rural views - we faced front... More 

Helpful?
Thank _gaong31
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello _gaong31, Thank you for a detailed and descriptive review. I am delighted that you found the facilities up to standard. We strive for perfection on all levels and the feedback relating to the cleanliness is a delight to read. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and new husband had afternoon tea for 75 guests at Mortitt Arms last Sunday. The afternoon tea was excellent. Plenty for everyone. The atmosphere was great and the staff exceptional. Couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Would recommend this venue.

Helpful?
Thank Chrissyjeff
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Chrissyjeff, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to The Morritt Hotel and Spa very soon. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying at a local farm bed & breakfast , it was suggested that a visit may be a good idea, we arrived ordered our drinks ( a good pint of beer for me) & then I asked for the Cod , with cockles & mussels in a chowder with a touch of saffron, it was outstanding, my partner... More 

Helpful?
Thank peterandjenny282
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello peterandjenny282, Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us at The Morritt Hotel and Spa. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2 night stay, stunning location, large premium room with huge bed, great bathroom and easy chairs. We ate in the bar/bistro which offered a good choice and our meals were delicious and well presented. All staff were eager to please and smiling. Great residents lounge and wonderful breakfast. Best black pudding I have ever tasted. Easy to access from A66... More 

Helpful?
Thank claytods
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello claytods, I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at The Morritt Hotel and Spa. The black pudding is delicious and i am so pleased you found all food offerings to your liking. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended an afternoon tea in celebration of a niece's wedding and apart from the tasty and plentiful food on offer (together with unlimited tea or coffee), the staff were exceptional. Very attentive, professional and friendly. Couldn't fault the food or service. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia O
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sylvia O, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited The Morritt Arms at the weekend for my god daughters 21st birthday celebrations.... We stayed in the hotel itself and it was top notch... Friendly staff... Lovely room... Delicious breakfast in a stunning dining room.... The 21st party itself was in the cottage and this was a fabulous venue... Cottage makes it sound small but it was amazing... It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire C
MorrittGM, General Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Claire C, Thank you for such an amazing review. We truly enjoyed looking after a great group of people and we look forward to you returning over the coming months. Kindest of regards, Johnathon Cairns General Manager More 

Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 2 nights at the Morritt for a much needed break. We were in Room 15 Heather, beautiful room, huge bed and very comfortable. The day of arrival was hot and we opened the 2 small windows to let the air in. Unfortunately the room overlooks the kitchen courtyard on one side. Our first night was disturbed from a... More 

Helpful?
Thank whoworthing
MorrittGM, Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello whoworthing, Thank you for your feedback relating to your recent experience at The Morritt Country House Hotel and Spa. I am really sorry that we did not meet your expectations. After chatting to you on the morning i felt we had managed to resolve the issues that you had encountered. I am really sorry that this was not to... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as a family for a wedding in a village down the road. Very relaxed staff. Snacks at lunchtime were good and filling. Ideal ballast before a night of champagne. Returned at 1am to order more wine (prosecco this time). After initial resistance the huge barman agreed to one last rond so we were thrilled by the flexibility.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jervis59
MorrittGM, Manager at The Morritt Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jervis59, I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I am delighted you found all of the team friendly and each offered the level of service to meet your needs. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greta Bridge
7.8 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
6.9 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
4.0 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape the urban hubbub, relax and unwind at The Morritt Country House Hotel & The Garage Spa. Situated in picturesque Teesdale countryside, and easily accessible from the A66, we offer northern welcomes and an unstuffy, romantic atmosphere. With award-winning food, a luxurious modern spa, and individually designed guest rooms, we're perfect for short breaks, special occasions, weddings or an escape from the every-day. As a family-run hotel and spa we place a great deal of value on service. Our customers constantly tell us that it is our employees who make The Morritt a special place to visit. Our philosophy is "yes, we can" - if we can do something for you, we will do our best to accommodate your request. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Morritt Country House Hotel

Address: The Morritt Country House Hotel, Greta Bridge DL12 9SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Greta Bridge
Price Range: $99 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Morritt Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Morritt Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morritt Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Morritt Arms Hotel
Morritt Arms Barnard Castle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay