We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Robertson Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Robertson Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a 1 night stay at the Robertson Arms in October and we can't recommend it highly enough! The rooms are superbly finished off with no detail left untouched. It was very comfortable, warm and the staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was superb and we will definitely be back at some point and will also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Robinson arms hotel as an overnight trip to Scotland. The welcome from the owner was warm and the room provided was comfortable with excellent products available. We had a meal in the hotel that was well priced and the breakfast set us up for the day for our return to England

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Resurg
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Great atmosphere. Event on forensics held there and food, and fiction and fact were brilliant. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Bar coothy and friendly. Food welcoming and tasty. Big helpings too. Stairs may be a bit difficult for elderly or disabled.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mac2010_10
Risca, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2016

Really nice restaurant / bar, with good food. The breakfast had everything you could possibly want. Couldn't really fault the staff or room, made comfortable for the 2 nights. Will be staying again in the near future (have already booked up)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Very clean rooms and bathroom, great to have tea/coffee & biscuits in your room as well as complimentary bottled water (both still and sparkling). Great food in the pub/restaurant, and a great selection at breakfast too. Very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TFlannery
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Traditional roadside inn at Carnwath but just a few minutes from A702 at Biggar Comfortable room with TV and USB chargers. Good WiFi. New bathroom. Free parking. Dining room attached to pub with traditional menu. Excellent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP N
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 4, 2016

My husband and I arrived for 1 night stay and felt like we interrupted something important to check in with the owner of the hotel. After being encouraged to book a table in the restaurant for an evening meal, before we could even look around the village, we were very disappointed with the food served. We had Scottish beef burger,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gazkaz2016
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had such an uncomfortable stay. We do take on board your comments and have turned the thermostat for the heating in our lounge up as the days and nights have now turn colder. However, I would not say down to 1 degree c yet! I can only apologize if you felt your service was cold also,...

Western Isles, Scotland
Reviewed October 4, 2016

Stayed here as it was convenient for event we were attending in Lanark.Very nice room, cosy beds & everything we needed, ate here 2 nights, food was good,plenty of choice, lovely waitresses. Lovely breakfast, inc GF bread & muffins when we mentioned that my son couldn't have ordinary toast etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HebGirl
Encinitas, California
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We stayed one night as we drove north into Scotland and had one of the most relaxing stays of our trip. The room was well appointed, the bar and restaurant was excellent, and the lounge provided a restful spot for an after dinner drink.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsouviney
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Great people, good food, nice clean warm rooms made for a brilliant weekend. The sepearate lounge area was really comfortable and great to relax after a belt busting meal, all at a reasonable cost. The pub was very busy on both nights but nothing was no trouble to the staff all without exception were proffesional and polite and some even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew K
janice770, Owner at Robertson Arms Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you all enjoyed your stay . I look forward to welcoming you all back next year. You were very lucky with the weather, can 't promise that the weather will be so favorable for your bike rides. Kind regards, Jan Henderson Owner

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnwath
6.7 mi away
Elphinstone Hotel
Elphinstone Hotel
#3 of 3 in Biggar
162 reviews
6.7 mi away
Tinto Hotel
Tinto Hotel
#2 of 3 in Biggar
205 reviews
6.5 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Cornhill Castle Hotel
Cornhill Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coulter
257 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cartland Bridge Hotel
12.6 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
Robertson Arms Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Robertson Arms Hotel

Address: 12-16 Main Street, Biggar ML11 8JZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Biggar > Carnwath
Price Range: $91 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Robertson Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Robertson Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Robertson Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“At the back away from the busy road in front. Looks out on hills.”
 of 5 bubbles Mac2010_10, Nov 1, 2016 | Read review
“all first floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 660jpn, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“Not child friendly.”
 of 5 bubbles gazkaz2016, Oct 4, 2016 | Read review
“Some of the rooms on the front suffer from road noise but they have secondary glazing to reduce the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 955andrewk, Sep 20, 2016 | Read review
“Everything fine.”
 of 5 bubbles BobY203, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay