We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Railway Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Railway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First time in the area (a wedding in Oxford, a trip to Blenheim) and this friendly B&B was exactly what we needed for 4 nights. We were in Room 12 to the side of the main building, generously sized accommodation, clean, very comfortable mattress and well supplied. Breakfast was excellent and quickly served. The real ale at the pub is... More 

Helpful?
Thank PDJemima
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your kind review and really pleased you were happy with your stay. Hope you had a good journey on wards, Kind regards More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting Countryfile Live at Blenheim and visiting Highclere Castle. Overall for the price paid, especially with an event in the area, it was a nice place to stay. Check in staff came across as a little rude at first, however it may have just been a bad day. The other staff in the restaurant/bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlecRigby
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a couple of nights at the “Railway Inn” at Culham, now on booking I new the trains would be close...But I never thought I’d be sleeping on the platform or there abouts..(see attached pic ) After the heat wave in mid July, the small room at the top of the building was to say the least on the hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete J
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Yes it is in the name. Next to a main line. Works for some that need a train for travel. Breakfast is full English cooked to order, cereals, porridge, fruit pots a choice of tea, coffee, espresso, latte, cappuccino or hot chocolate and orange juice. I think everyone was suffering in the heat this year... More 

Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room we booked was exactly like on the website. Cosy, comfortable & everything you need to make your stay welcoming. We only stayed overnight as we had travelled from St. Albans to go to Abingdon Airfield early on Sunday morning for a Driving Experience. The management & staff are all friendly & chatty. Showed us to our room which... More 

Helpful?
Thank PatriciaW495
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review and i hope your day went well. We do have an early breakfast even on a Sunday More 

London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean & comfortable and the shower was pretty good. (The towels were lovely and fluffy.) Tea & coffee was freely available in the room which was welcomed. As the pub is next to the Railway there are freight trains rumbling past. This may not suit light sleepers. The staff were friendly and keen to ensure that everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonLippy
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this lovely review of us and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are next to a main line. At the moment there are no trains until mid August as work is being done on the line. Which to me is quite weird, the silence we are not used to. There are other works that... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016

We were a party of five for a meal the staff were friendly the beer was good and the menu was inexpensive and with a wide choice if you are a meat eater! Unfortunately even though I asked when I booked if there were vegetarian options and given a positive response. The only option offered for a vegetarian was an... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for the lack of information given to you. There is Roast Veg Lasagne, Soya based Cottage Pie, Prawn, Cheese or Egg Salad and Scampi along side of the Omelette. Vegetable Balti with Rice is also a good option More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

Booked 2 nights (8-9 July 2016) for annual former Culham College of Education reunion. The B&B is value for money (£60 per night for a double room including cooked breakfast). Room was good, nice and clean, skylight window. Great coffee machine (note: please read the instructions first!!) and good choice of coffee/tea.Hosts were friendly and chatty. Met Carla the dog... More 

Helpful?
Thank StefanRogers
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Stefan, Very enjoyable weekend and enjoyed meeting everyone. Hopefully be back next year. Carla is very friendly and looks forward to meeting people. Breakfast is cooked to order and also a selection of cereal is available for those who don't want cooked breakfast. Coffee/Tea machine in room and also a kettle if you prefer. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

I stayed here for one night due to having business in the area. I found the room clean and well appointed and the staff nice and friendly. The bar had a good beer selection. Breakfast was nice and I would certainly stay again. The noise from the adjacent train line may be bothersome for light sleepers.

Helpful?
Thank gobyplane
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us. We do like to meet and greet people and make them feel comfortable away from home. We are close the track at Culha Station but most people are not bothered by train noise. More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Stayed at the Railway Inn for one night over the weekend. We were really surprised when we were taken to our room! The room was modernly decorated with a flatscreen TV, a coffee machine in the room and free wifi. Everything was exceptionally clean. Hosts are extremely friendly and accommodating. We had to go to an event and they kept... More 

Helpful?
Thank ingrydlondon
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I am really pleased your stay was good and you enjoyed our room. We try to keep up and make this a friendly place to be More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
322 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

On a recent visit to Culham with my daughter to the European School Culham, we decided to overnight at The Railway Inn. Interesting experience ... very comfortable, clean, pleasant and inexpensive. But, you are indeed staying next to the railway tracks. We'd stay there again without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank Leonard_vd_Heyden
paulineddavidson, Owner at The Railway Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us. We work very hard to try to help people have a good stay. We are at Culham Station but most people are not troubled by the trains. Also within walking distance of The European School. Two and a half miles from the town of Abingdon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culham
2.2 mi away
The Crown & Thistle
The Crown & Thistle
#2 of 5 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Abingdon Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
De Vere Venues Milton Hill House
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
Oxford Abingdon Hotel
#5 of 5 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Railway Inn

Address: Station Road, Culham OX14 3BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Culham
Price Range: $100 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your The Railway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay